Six CD boxsets from the Jewish Research Music Center of Jerusalem

"Contemporary Jewish Music" and "Anthology of Musical Traditions in Israel" collections

Le Centre de Recherche sur les Musiques Juives de Jérusalem a pour objectif l’étude de la culture musicale des communautés juives d’hier et d’aujourd’hui. Il publie régulièrement des disques et des livres d’une grande qualité.

Founded in 1964 by Professor Israël Adler, and directed today by Edwin Seroussi, the JMRC is part of the Faculty of Humanities at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Research encompasses ethnographies of extant oral traditions as well as historically-oriented research focusing on the interpretation of Jewish musical cultures in their widest possible social, cultural and historical context because a full appreciation of the Jewish musical traditions must refer to the musical cultures of the non-Jewish societies with whom the Jews were in close contact for the past two millennia.
The results of theses studies are published through many CD’s, books and sheet music.

Working closely together, the European Institute for Jewish Music recently received 6 CD box sets from the collections « Contemporary Jewish Music » and « Anthology of Musical Traditions in Israel »

Learn more on the Jewish Music Research Center
Purchase their CD’s

Presentation of the six boxsets

cd_807_couv-2.jpg

 

Ahavat Olamim, Andalousian Hebrew Song from the Maghreb to Jerusalem

3rd volume from the serie « Contemporary Jewish Music », Ahavat Olamim (Everlasting Love) represents a modern journey into the depths of the Andalusian Jewish musical tradition of Morocco and Algeria. It is the product of the initiative and imagination of composer and double bass player Omer Avital, and of musician and educator Yair Harel. This CD would not have been possible without Rabbi Haim Louk, who offered the inspiration, guided the musicians and made a unique vocal performance.

 

cd_808_couv.jpg

 

Ten Zemirot Ami, New Melodies for Piyyutim from the Aleppo Mahzor (1527)

2nd volume from the serie « Contemporary Jewish Music », this CD, performed by David Shiro, Yehezkel Zion and Rabbi David Menahem, offers new melodies on ancient piyyutim (liturgical poems) which had almost disappeared in the last generation.

 

 

cd_806_couv-2.jpg

Leibu Levin Performs in Yiddish, Selected archival recordings from Bukovinia, USSR and Israel

This CD from the serie « Anthology of Musical Traditions in Israel », has been made in hommage to Leibu Levin, Yiddish singer from Czernowitz for his 100th birth anniversary in 2014. Recordings that had been scattered in various private collections and archives have been gathered for this occasion. This CD is joined with a very well researched booklet of nearly 150 pages, with a biography, notes, lyrics, translations…

 

 


cd_809_couv.jpg
Cute boy, charming girl, Children’s Songs of the Modern Hebrew Nation (1882-1948)

This CD from the serie « Anthology of Musical Traditions in Israel » offers children’s Hebrew songs written before the establishment of the state of Israel. Most of these songs are not part of today’s children’s repertoire in Israel and cannot be found on commercial recordings. In addition, the recordings here are sung by adults who sang these songs in their childhood. This CD is joined by a 100 pages booklet.

 

cd_810_couv.jpgOr Haganuz, Gems of Ashkenazi Hazzanut and Yiddish Songs Revived

4th volume from the serie « Contemporary Jewish Music ». Prof. André Hajdu, one of the first JMRC researchers, has joined forces with Cantor Asher Hainovitz of the Yeshurun Central Synagogue in Jerusalem to put together a selection of hazzanut pieces and Yiddish songs in new arrangements for voice and piano by Hajdu. The present production was initiated by the Ron Shulamit Conservatory in Jerusalem, and marks the 50th anniversary of the JMRC.

 

cd_811_couv.jpgJudeo-Spanish Moroccan Songs for the Life Cycle

5th volume from the serie « Anthology of Musical Traditions in Israel », this CD is a collection of life-cycle songs: birth, circumcision, wedding etc., sung in Ladino.

 

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Six coffrets de CD du Centre de Recherche sur les Musiques Juives de Jérusalem

Séries "Musiques Juives Contemporaines» et «Anthologie des Traditions Musicales en Israël»

Le Centre de Recherche sur les Musiques Juives de Jérusalem a pour objectif l’étude de la culture musicale des communautés juives d’hier et d’aujourd’hui. Il publie régulièrement des disques et des livres d’une grande qualité.

Crée en 1964 par le Professeur Israël Adler, et actuellement dirigé par le professeur Edwin Seroussi, le CRMJ fait partie intégrante du département des sciences humaines de l’Université Hébraïque de Jérusalem. Son travail inclut des recherches ethnographiques sur les traditions orales des communautés juives dans un large contexte (historique, social, culturel), sans oublier les communautés non-juives qui ont vécu au côté des juifs pendant près de deux millénaires.
Les résultats de ces recherches sont publiés à travers plusieurs dizaines de CD, livres et partitions.

Travaillant en étroite collaboration avec ce centre, l’Institut Européen des Musiques Juives a reçu récemment 6 coffrets de CD issus des séries «Musiques Juives Contemporaines» et «Anthologie des Traditions Musicales en Israël».

En savoir plus sur le Centre de Recherche sur les Musiques Juives
Commander les CD

Présentation des six coffrets

cd_807_couv-2.jpg

 

Ahavat Olamim, Andalousian Hebrew Song from the Maghreb to Jérusalem

3e volume de la série «Musiques Juives Contemporaines», Ahavat Olamim (Amour Eternel) nous immerge dans les profondeurs de la tradition musicale juive andalouse du Maroc et d’Algérie. Imaginé par les musiciens Omer Avital et Yair Harel, ce CD a été réalisé avec la participation de Rabbi Haim Louk qui offre une performance vocale unique d’une grande intensité.

cd_808_couv.jpg

 

Ten Zemirot Ami, New Melodies for Piyyutim from the Aleppo Mahzor (1527)

2e volume de la collection «Musiques Juives Contemporaines», ce CD, interprété par David Shiro, Yehezkel Zion et Rabbi David Menahem, propose de nouvelles mélodies pour des anciens piyyoutim (poèmes liturgiques) qui avaient presque disparus dans la génération précédente.

cd_806_couv-2.jpg

Leibu Levin Performs in Yiddish, Selected archival recordings from Bukovinia, USSR and Israel

Ce CD tiré de la série «Anthologie des Traditions Musicales d’Israël» a été réalisé en l’honneur de Leibu Levin, chanteur yiddish de Czernowitz pour son 100e anniversaire en 2014. Des enregistrements qui étaient éparpillés dans différentes collections privées et archives ont été réunis à cette occasion. Typique de la rigueur scientifique qui caractérise les ouvrages du CRMJ, ce CD est accompagné d’un livret très bien fourni de près de 150 pages avec biographie, notes sur les chansons, paroles, traductions…

 


cd_809_couv.jpg
Cute boy, charming girl, Children’s Songs of the Modern Hebrew Nation (1882-1948)

Cet album tiré de la série «Anthologie des Traditions Musicales d’Israël» présente des chansons hébraïques enfantines écrites avant la création de l’état d’Israël. La majorité de ces chansons ne fait plus partie du répertoire chanté aujourd’hui et reste introuvables dans le commerce. Ce CD, dont les interprètes sont des adultes qui ont chanté ces chansons dans leur enfance, est accompagné d’un livret très bien fourni de plus de 100 pages.

cd_810_couv.jpgOr Haganuz, Gems of Ashkenazi Hazzanut and Yiddish Songs Revived

4e volume de la série «Musiques Juives Contemporaines», cet album est le fruit de la collaboration de Professeur André Hajdu et du chantre Asher Hainovitz, qui officie à la Synagogue Yeshurun de Jérusalem. Ensemble, ils ont sélectionné des morceaux de hazzanout ainsi que des chansons yiddish, pour lesquels ils ont créé de nouveaux arrangements pour voix et piano. Ce CD, réalisé en 2015, marque le 50e anniversaire du Centre de Recherche sur les Musiques Juives de Jérusalem.

 

cd_811_couv.jpgJudeo-Spanish Moroccan Songs for the Life Cycle

5e volume de la série Anthologie des Traditions Musicales en Israël, ce CD rassemble les chansons des grands événements de la vie juive (naissance, circoncision, mariage…), chantées en judéo-espagnol selon la tradition marocaine.

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…