Music from the prayers of Rosh Hashanah

Sheet music for choral and cantor from the Great Synagogue of La Victoire.

The 75 pages that come from the collection of the Synagogue of La Victoire, were compiled by Georges Terrier (former conductor of the Synagogue of La Victoire), Jean-Marc Thoron (current conductor) and René Lévy. It gathers 73 musical scores, 2 to 4 parts for chorus and cantor, of the main prayers of the evening service, the morning service and Musaf of Rosh Hashanah.

doc_2_roch_hachana_500px.jpgAmong these: traditional tunes, but also compositions and arrangements by Louis Lewandowski, Samuel Naumbourg, Jules Franck, Léon Algazi Maurice Benhamou, Fernand Slama and Emmanuelle Souffan (that last score dates from 2007) …

The musical archives of the Great Synagogue of La Victoire is today the largest collection of liturgical music in France. The EIJM counted over 2.300 musical scores that have been identified, digitized and catalogued between September 2011 and the 2016.

Learn more on the collection of La Victoire’s Synagogue

Discover an excerpt of this book

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Musiques des prières de l’office de Roch Hachana

Partition pour chœur et ministre officiant de la Grande Synagogue de la Victoire

Ce classeur de 75 pages, qui provient du fonds de la Synagogue de la Victoire, a été soigneusement compilé par Georges Terrrier (ancien chef de chœur de la synagogue de la Victoire), Jean-Marc Thoron (chef de chœur) et René Lévy. Il regroupe 73 partitions, pour chœur de 2 à 4 voix et ministre officiant, des principales prières de l’office du soir, du matin et de Moussaf de Roch Hachana.

doc_2_roch_hachana_500px.jpgParmi ceux-ci : des airs traditionnels, mais également des compositions et arrangements de Louis Lewandowski, Samuel Naumbourg, Jules Franck, Léon Algazi Maurice Benhamou, Fernand Slama et Emmanuelle Souffan (cette dernière partition est datée de 2007) …

Rappelons que les archives musicales de la Grande Synagogue de la Victoire représentent à ce jour le plus important fonds liturgique de France. L’IEMJ y a recensé plus de 2.300 partitions qui ont été inventoriées, numérisées et cataloguées entre septembre 2011 et le milieu de l’année 2016.

En savoir plus sur le fonds des archives musicales de la Victoire

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…