Recording History

Jews, Muslims, and Music across Twentieth-Century North Africa

By Christopher Silver

Stanford University Press, June 2022, 320 pages

A new history of twentieth-century North Africa, that gives voice to the musicians who defined an era and the vibrant recording industry that carried their popular sounds from the colonial period through decolonization.

If twentieth-century stories of Jews and Muslims in North Africa are usually told separately, Recording History demonstrates that we have not been listening to what brought these communities together: Arab music. For decades, thousands of phonograph records flowed across North African borders. The sounds embedded in their grooves were shaped in large part by Jewish musicians, who gave voice to a changing world around them. Their popular songs broadcast on radio, performed in concert, and circulated on disc carried with them the power to delight audiences, stir national sentiments, and frustrate French colonial authorities.

With this book, Christopher Silver provides the first history of the music scene and recording industry across Morocco, Algeria, and Tunisia, and offers striking insights into Jewish-Muslim relations through the rhythms that animated them. He traces the path of hit-makers and their hit records, illuminating regional and transnational connections. In asking what North Africa once sounded like, Silver recovers a world of many voices—of pioneering impresarios, daring female stars, cantors turned composers, witnesses and survivors of war, and national and nationalist icons—whose music still resonates well into our present.

About the author

Christopher Silver is the Segal Family Assistant Professor in Jewish History and Culture at McGill University. He is the founder and curator of the website Gharamophone.com, a digital archive of North African records from the first half of the twentieth century.

Learn more and purchase the book (USA)

Learn more and purchase the book (Europe)

You may also like

Jacinta Collection

Deposited at the EIJM in May 2022 by the artist, Jacinta's collection includes some forty photographies, from her youth in…

Jacinta, between Yiddish, Judeo-Spanish songs and tango

In the series " Life courses ", discover the attaching personality of Jacinta, an artist of Argentinian origin who also…

Jacinta, a life in song

Discover a selection of Yiddish, Judeo-Spanish, Argentinean and French songs by Jacinta, an artist with a golden voice

Jacintas Zingers

(Paris, France) A choir directed by Jacinta, with a mainly Yiddish song repertoire, made up of three groups of singers…

Recording History

Jews, Muslims, and Music across Twentieth-Century North Africa

Par Christopher Silver

Stanford University Press, juin 2022, 320 p.

Ce livre présente une nouvelle histoire de la musique d’Afrique du Nord du XXe siècle, de la période coloniale à la décolonisation. Il donne la parole aux musiciens qui ont forgé cette époque et pointe la montée en puissance de l’industrie du disque qui a répandu leurs chansons populaires.

Si les histoires des juifs et des musulmans d’Afrique du Nord au XXe siècle sont généralement racontées séparément, Recording History montre ce qui rassemble ces deux communautés : la musique arabe. Pendant des décennies, des milliers de disques phonographiques ont traversé les frontières d’Afrique du Nord. Les sons gravés dans leurs sillons ont été façonnés en grande partie par des musiciens juifs, qui ont donné leur voix à un monde en mutation. Leurs chansons populaires diffusées à la radio, interprétées en concert et diffusées sur disque avaient le pouvoir de ravir le public, d’attiser les sentiments nationaux et de frustrer les autorités coloniales françaises.

Avec ce livre, Christopher Silver nous offre la première histoire de la scène musicale et de l’industrie du disque au Maroc, en Algérie et en Tunisie, et offre un aperçu saisissant des relations entre juifs et musulmans, à travers les mélodies et les rythmes qui les ont animées. Il retrace le parcours de créateurs de génie et de leurs disques à succès, mettant en lumière les connexions régionales et transnationales. Christopher Silver ressuscite ainsi un monde aux multiples voix – impresarios pionniers, stars féminines audacieuses, chantres devenus compositeurs, témoins et survivants de la guerre, icônes nationales et nationalistes – dont la musique résonne encore aujourd’hui.

A propos de l’auteur

Christopher Silver est professeur adjoint de la famille Segal en histoire et culture juives à l’Université McGill de Montréal. Il est le fondateur et le conservateur du site web Gharamophone.com, une archive numérique de disques nord-africains de la première moitié du vingtième siècle.

En savoir plus et acheter le livre (Europe)

En savoir plus et acheter le livre (Amériques)

Vous aimerez aussi

Sephardic Pizmonim Project

Archives musicales numériques de la communauté séfarade d'Alep

Léon Algazi (1890-1971), un pionnier des musiques juives en France

Dans la série « Parcours de vie », Jacques Algazi (1934-2021) nous dévoile la vie de son père, Léon Algazi…

Heichal Menachem

(New York, Etats-Unis) Site Loubavitch donnant accès à plus de 500 nigounim traditionnels écoutables en ligne !

Sefarad in the piano – Toni Costa

Inspiré par la poésie populaire judéo-espagnole, le jazz, la musique ancienne et les rythmes populaires du flamenco, le pianiste Toni…