Samy Elmaghribi

A selection of Samy Elmaghribi's best songs

An author, composer and singer of music inspired by the Judeo-Moroccan and Andalusian heritage, Samy Elmaghribi wrote between 1942 and 1964 a repertoire of songs which beacme popular in all of North Africa. Influenced by Salim Halali of whom he greatly admired the voice, he sang traditional songs, in particular ancient qassidat by Sidi Qaddour Al ‘Alami, Cheikh Bouazza, Bensliman and other great tenors of the malhun poetry. Also, he wrote a popular music featuring traditional influences, based on the motifs of malhun or hawzi.

In 1960, il emigrated to Canada and became, in 1967, the first chazan (cantor) of the Hispanic and Portuguese synagogue Shearith Israel of Montreal, a position that he would keep for 16 years.

In 1984, he settled down in Israel and created the Merkaz Piyyout Veshira, a Sephardic music center where he held the position of educational director.

In 1996, il returned living in Montreal, but continued to travel the world and participated in many important musical events, such as the Festival of Gharnati Songs in Rabat and Oujda (1999) and the Arab-Andalusian Festival at the UNESCO in Paris (2000). He also worked as a cantor in the Sephardic synagogue Beit Yosef in New Jersey (USA), and taught Sephardic liturgy, at the Yeshiva University of New York, among other places.

He passed away on March 9, 2008 in Montreal.

In the featuring playlist, discover several of his most beautiful works, such as Omri Manensek Ya Mamma, a song dedicated to mothers, or encore Kaftanek Mahloul, on which generations of families danced in celebrations and « Oriental cabaret » evenings. Have a good trip and good listening!

Read Samy Elmaghribi’s biography

Watch a video on the music label Samyphone

Browse other recordings of Samy Elmaghribi on our online catalogue

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Thieves of Dreams – Zloději snů

Upon the recent passing of her mother, Lenka discovered two tattered notebooks of hand-written poetry that her grandmother, Anna Hana…

Hidden Sides of Jewish Music : Leibu Levin

RADIO PROGRAM hosted by Hélène Engel, broadcasted on Radio SHALOM Montreal in 2014. In this program, Hélène Engel presents two…

Hidden Sides of Jewish Music : Lenka Lichtenberg

RADIO PROGRAM presented by Hélène Engel, broadcasted on Radio SHALOM Montreal in 2013. In this program, Hélène Engel presents the…

Samy Elmaghribi

Une sélection des plus beaux morceaux de Samy Elmaghribi

Auteur, compositeur et interprète de musiques inspirées de l’héritage judéo-marocain et andalou, Samy Elmaghribi a composé entre 1942 et 1964 un répertoire de chansons populaires qui s’est imposé dans tout le Maghreb. Influencé par Salim Halali dont il admire la voix, il reprend des chants traditionnels, notamment les anciennes qassidat de Sidi Qaddour Al ‘Alami, du Cheikh Bouazza, de Bensliman et autres grands ténors de la poésie malhoun. D’autre part, il compose une musique populaire aux influences traditionnelles, sur les motifs du malhoun ou du hawzi.

En 1960, il émigre au Canada et devient, à partir de 1967, le premier hazan (chantre) de la synagogue hispano-portugaise Shearith Israel de Montréal, poste qu’il occupera 16 années durant.

En 1984, il s’installe en Israël et y fonde notamment le Merkaz Piyyout Veshira, un centre de musique sépharade où il enseigne au titre de directeur pédagogique.

En 1996, il retourne vivre à Montréal, mais continue de parcourir le monde et participer à de nombreux événements musicaux importants, comme le Festival de Chant Gharnati à Rabat et Oujda (1999) et le Festival Arabo-Andalou (Arab-Andalusian Festival) à l’UNESCO à Paris (2000). Il travaille également pendant un certain temps comme chantre de la synagogue séfarade Beit Yosef dans le New Jersey (USA), et enseigne la liturgie séfarade, entre autres à la Yeshiva University de New York.

Il meurt le 9 mars 2008 à Montréal.

Dans la playlist ci-dessous, découvrez quelques-uns de ses plus beaux chefs d’œuvres musicaux, tels Omri Manènsèk Ya Mamma, une chanson dédiée aux mamans, ou encore Kaftanek Mahloul, qui a fait danser des générations de familles dans des fêtes ou des soirées de « cabaret oriental ». Bon voyage et bonne écoute !

Lire la biographie de Samy Elmaghribi

Voir une vidéo sur le label Samyphone

Rechercher d’autres enregistrements de Samy Elmaghribi sur notre catalogue en ligne

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Tsuzamen – Sirba Octet

Cet album est un formidable témoignage d’espoir : celui des juifs, des Arméniens, des tziganes dont le Sirba Octet a…

Fonds Jacinta

Déposé à l’IEMJ en mai 2022 par l’artiste, le fonds d’archives de Jacinta comporte une quarantaine de photographies, de sa…

Jacinta, entre chansons yiddish, judéo-espagnole et tango

Dans la série « Parcours de vie », découvrez la personnalité attachante de Jacinta, une interprète d’origine argentine qui chante…

Jacinta, une vie en chanson

Découvrez une sélection de chansons yiddish, judéo-espagnoles, argentines et française de Jacinta, une artiste à la voix d’or