Elmaghribi, Samy (1922 – 2008)

Samy Elmaghribi, whose real name was Salomon Amzallag, was born on April 19, 1922 in Safi in Morocco, a quite symbolic day. He told to a Canadian journalist: “I was born under the sign of the singing, on th 7th day of Passover, the day when the Jewish people got out of Egypt. And, according to the Judeo-Spanish tradition, Moshe Rabenou sang when the Hebrews crossed the Red Sea. On the 8th day of my birth, my father invited Shikhat, women singers, to hum popular tunes near my crib.”

Salomon was the youngest of the three sons of Farha and Amram Amzallag. In 1926 the family settled in Rabat, and the young Samy quickly became fond of Arab-Andalusian music.

Some say that at the age of 7, he built himself a mandolin, with the linen threads that he picked up in his father’s clothing workshop. He learned to play the ud by himself and started to spend time with the musicians of the Jewish neighborhood of Rabat. He also sang in the synagogue and in family reunions.

When he was 14 years old, while his mother had just passed away, Samy and his family settled down in Sale. He first studied at the Alliance Israelite, and then improved his musical art in Casablanca’s Music Conservatory.

Finally at the age of 20, he quit his position of commercial director to dedicate himself only to singing and music.

In 1948, his first hit Loukane Elmlayin (Ah, if I was a millionaire) drove him to Paris where he did his first record, on Pathé Marconi music label.

In 1950, back in Morocco, he played with his orchestra the Samy’s boys.

Salomon Amzallag, whose fame got stronger in Morocco, settled to Casablanca and adopted his artist name Samy Elmaghribi, Samy the Maghrebian. He created his own music label, Samyphone, after having been edited for a long time by Pathé.

Between 1942 and 1964, Samy wrote a repertoire of popular songs known in all North Africa. On one hand, influenced by Salim Halali whom he admired the voice, he sang traditional songs, in particular old qassidat by Sidi Qaddour Al ‘Alami, Cheikh Bouazza, Bensliman and other great singers of the malhun poetry. On another hand, he composed a popular music with traditional influences, based on patterns from malhun or hawzi.

He did many tours, especially in Algeria, where he performed with the Symphonic Orchestra of Radio Alger.

He immigrated to Canada in 1960. At that time, the Sephardi community of Moroccan origin got bigger in Montreal and Samy Elmaghribi became in 1967 the first cantor of the Hispanic-Portuguese synagogue Shearith Israel. He officiated there during 16 years. 

In 1984, he left Montreal for Ashdod in Israel. He created the Merkaz Piyyout Veshira, a Sephardic music center where he taught as the educational director from 1988 to 1994, and conducted a choir of students which would later become the Israeli Andalusian Orchestra. On April 27, 2005, Samy Elmaghribi participated to a tribute concert, to his career as a singer and master. The event, which took place at the opera of Tel Aviv, also highlighted the 10th anniversary of the Israeli Andalusian Orchestra.

He returned to Montreal in 1996, but continued to travel the world and participated in many big musical events, such as the Festival of Gharnati Singing in Rabat and Oujda (1999) and the Arab-Andalusian Festival at the UNESCO in Paris (2000). In 2006, he was invited in the popular TV show Shada al alhan, of which the video became viral on YouTube.

In USA, he worked for a certain time as a cantor of the « Beit Yosef » Sephardi synagogue of New Jersey, and taught Sephardi liturgy, especially in the Yeshiva University of New York.

Samy Elmaghribi passed away on March 9, 2008 in Montreal.

A MUSICAL GENIUS
Samy Elmaghribi knew how to unite tradition and modernity, sacred and secular, Jews and Muslims.

His music integrated the quintessence of the Judeo-Moroccan and Andalusian musical heritage. He had a unique musical knowledge that was also found in his perfect mastery of Hebrew and classical Arabic. He was the first man to transcribe Andalusian music. He studied its repertoire to train music lovers in the Judeo-Moroccan tradition of sung poetry, the piyutim, malhun and matrouz, the gharnati  nubas, the Moroccan mou’al, the Algerian cha’âbi and the hawzi.

He mastered and combined harmoniously four genres: popular Moroccan songs, ancient and modern, classical Andalusian singing, and liturgical chanting, to which he integrated melodies from Turkey and Central Europe.

He followed the path already traced by others before him in the beginning of the 20th century, such as Edmond-Nathan Yafil, who published Diwan El Aghani Min Kalam El Andalous in 1905, or David Iflah, considered as the “Dean” of Andalusian music, and respected by his peers, Jews and Muslims.

However, contrary to his predecessors, he always applied his art by experimenting, and recorded the music in each genre forming the Judeo-Arabic-Andalusian musical repertoire. His genius lay in his ability to draw from the vast musical opus of the eleven nubas of Andalusian music each time he wanted to compose new tunes. His intimate knowledge of the 5 movements of each nuba allowed him to extract from them melodies which were easy to perform, as much in religious or secular contexts.

Thanks to his encyclopedic musical knowledge, he could easily hear the slight differences between classical Andalusian music and the gharnati genre.

Samy travelled to Algiers in the 1950’s to hear the great masters such as Dahman Ben Achoure or Reinette l’Oranaise, and to get acquainted with tonalities found only in the Algerian interpretation of the gharnati music. He would later use this non-orchestral musical form to lead services in the great synagogues of Casablanca, Paris, Jerusalem and Montreal. His performances of the Kol Nidre are known for its power and delicacy of its intonations. “Never has a Maghrebian Jew had such influence on a musical repertoire perceived mainly as the exclusive domain of the Arabs”. (Avraham Elarar, president of the Israeli Andalusian Orchestra‘s foundation).

His interpretation of popular songs, the qassidat, and his songs with a style recognizable among all, have remained forever engraved in the hearts of a community scattered around the world, and even in those of the new generation which hums his tunes, even if they do not always understand the words and the meaning.

Samy succeded to unite Jews and Muslims through the love of songs, and thus contributed to the vision of peace of future time.

Listen to the playlist dedicated to Samy Elmaghribi

Watch below an excerpt from a video featuring Samy Elmaghribi and Reinette l’Oranaise, from our collections.

 

Sources :

“Hommage à Salomon Amzallag Z’L, interprète et, auteur-compositeur, musicien et cantor” (a compilation of testimonies and articles after his death. Archive : A_1873)
Samy Al-Maghribi, “le chanteur de l’émotion” Le monde, 29 mars 2008
Portrait de Mr Samy El Maghribi, Juif du Maroc
Samy El Maghribi, l-icône de la musique judéo marocaine
Cantor Salomon Amzalag – Samy El Maghribi

You may also like

Hebrew melodies for cello and piano, 2nd volume

This 2nd CD of Hebrew Melodies, mainly dedicated to the composers of the St. Petersburg Jewish school such as Joel…

Elmaghribi, Samy (1922 – 2008)

Samy Elmaghribi de son nom de naissance Salomon Amzallag est né le 19 avril 1922 à Safi au Maroc, un jour assez symbolique, comme il le confie à un journaliste canadien: “Je suis né sous le signe du chant, le 7e jour de Pessah, le jour où le peuple juif est sorti d’Égypte. Or, d’après la tradition judéo-sépharade, Moïse a chanté quand les Hébreux ont traversé la Mer rouge. Le 8e jour de ma naissance, mon père invita des Shikhat, des femmes chanteuses, pour qu’elles fredonnent des airs populaires près de mon berceau.”

Salomon est le plus jeune des trois fils de Farha et d’Amram Amzallag. En 1926 la famille s’installe à Rabat, et le jeune Samy s’intéresse très vite à la musique arabo-andalouse.

On rapporte qu’à l’âge de 7 ans, il se fabrique lui-même une mandoline, avec les fils de lin qu’il ramassait dans l’atelier de confection de son père tailleur. Il apprend à jouer de l’oud en autodidacte et commence à fréquenter les musiciens du quartier juif de Rabat et à chanter à la synagogue et dans les fêtes de famille.

A l’âge de 14 ans, alors que sa mère vient de mourir, Samy et sa famille s’installent à Salé. Il étudie d’abord à l’Alliance Israélite, puis perfectionne son art musical au Conservatoire de Casablanca. Et c’est finalement à l’âge de 20 ans qu’il quitte son poste de directeur commercial pour se consacrer uniquement au chant et à la musique.

En 1948, son premier succès Loukane Elmlayin (Ah, si j’étais millionnaire) le propulse à Paris où il réalise son premier enregistrement chez Pathé Marconi.

En 1950, de retour au Maroc, il joue avec son orchestre les Samy’s boys.

Salomon Amzallag, dont la notoriété s’accroît au Maroc, s’installe alors à Casablanca et adopte son nom d’artiste Samy Elmaghribi, Samy le Maghrébin. Il y crée sa propre maison de disques, Samyphone, après avoir longtemps été édité par Pathé.

Entre 1942 et 1964, Samy Elmaghribi compose un répertoire de chansons qui deviennent populaires dans tout le Maghreb. Influencé par Salim Halali dont il admire la voix, il reprend d’une part des chants traditionnels, notamment les anciennes qassidat de Sidi Qaddour Al ‘Alami, du Cheikh Bouazza, de Bensliman et autres grands ténors de la poésie malhoun. D’autre part, il compose une musique populaire aux influences traditionnelles, sur les motifs du malhoun ou du hawzi.

Il multiplie les tournées, en particulier en Algérie, où il se produit avec l’orchestre symphonique de Radio Alger.

En 1960, il émigre au Canada. A ce moment, la communauté sépharade d’origine marocaine prend de l’ampleur à Montréal et Samy Elmaghribi devient en 1967 le premier hazan (chantre) de la synagogue hispano-portugaise Shearith Israel. Il y officiera 16 années durant.

En 1984, il quitte Montréal et part vivre à Ashdod en Israël. Il y fonde le Merkaz Piyyout Veshira, un centre de musique sépharade où il enseigne à titre de directeur pédagogique de 1988 à 1994 et dirige une chorale étudiante qui deviendra plus tard l’Orchestre Andalou d’Israël. Le 27 avril 2005, Samy Elmaghribi participe à un concert hommage à sa carrière de chanteur et de maître. L’événement, qui se déroule à l’Opéra de Tel-Aviv, marque aussi le 10e anniversaire de l’Orchestre Andalou d’Israël.

En 1996, il retourne vivre à Montréal, mais continue de parcourir le monde et participe à de nombreux événements musicaux importants, comme le Festival de Chant Gharnati à Rabat et Oujda (1999) et le Festival Arabo-Andalou (Arab-Andalusian Festival) à l’UNESCO à Paris (2000). En 2006, il est l’invité de la populaire émission télévisée Shada al alhan, dont l’enregistrement devient viral sur YouTube.

Aux Etats-Unis, il travaille pendant un certain temps comme chantre de la synagogue séfarade Beit Yosef dans le New Jersey, et enseigne la liturgie sépharade, entre autres à la Yeshiva University de New York.

Il meurt le 9 mars 2008 à Montréal.

UN GENIE MUSICAL
Samy Elmaghribi a su unifier la tradition et la modernité, le profane et le sacré, les Juifs et Musulmans.

Sa musique intègre la quintessence de l’héritage musical judéo-marocain et andalou. Titulaire d’une érudition musicale unique qui se retrouvait dans sa parfaite maîtrise de l’hébreu et de l’arabe classique. Il fut le premier à transcrire la musique andalouse. Il en a étudié le répertoire pour former des mélomanes dans la tradition de la poésie chantée judéo-marocaine, des piyoutim, du malhoun et du matrouz, des noubas du gharnati, du mou’al marocain, du cha’âbi algérien et du hawzi.

Il maîtrisait et conjuguait harmonieusement quatre genres: la chanson populaire marocaine ancienne et moderne, le chant classique andalou, et le chant liturgique, auxquels il intégra des mélodies de Turquie et d’Europe centrale.

Il a suivi le sentier déjà tracé par d’autres avant lui au début du 20e siècle, notamment par Edmond-Nathan Yafil, qui a publié son Diwan El Aghani Min Kalam El Andalous en 1905, et par David Iflah, considéré comme le “Doyen” de la musique andalouse, et respecté de ses pairs juifs et musulmans.

Cependant, à la différence de ceux qui l’ont précédé, il a appliqué son art systématiquement en expérimentant et en enregistrant la musique dans chacun des genres qui forment le répertoire musical judéo-arabo-andalou. Son génie résidait dans son habileté à puiser dans le vaste opus musical des onze noubas de la musique andalouse chaque fois qu’il voulait composer de nouveaux airs. Sa connaissance intime des 5 mouvements de chacune des noubas lui permettait d’en extraire des mélodies faciles à interpréter, tant dans des cadres religieux que séculiers.

Grâce à sa connaissance musicale encyclopédique, il pouvait facilement discerner les nuances entre la musique classique andalouse et le genre gharnati.

Samy a voyagé dans les années 50 à Alger pour écouter les grands maîtres tels Dahman Ben Achoure ou Reinette l’Oranaise, et s’imprégner des tonalités uniques à l’interprétation algérienne de la musique gharnati. Il s’inspirera plus tard de cette forme de musique non orchestrale pour conduire des offices dans les grandes synagogues de Casablanca, Paris, Jérusalem et Montréal. Ses interprétations du Kol Nidré sont réputées pour leur puissance et la finesse de leurs intonations. “Jamais un Juif maghrébin n’a eu autant d’influence sur un répertoire musical perçu essentiellement comme étant le domaine exclusif des Arabes. (Avraham Elarar, président de la fondation de l’Orchestre Andalou d’Israël).

Son interprétation de chansons populaires, les qassidat, et ses chansons au style reconnaissable entre toutes sont restées à tout jamais gravées dans le cœur d’une communauté dispersée de par le monde, et même dans celui de la nouvelle génération qui fredonne ses airs de musique, même si elle n’en saisit pas toujours les mots et le sens.

Samy a réussi à unir ensemble Juifs et Musulmans grâce à l’amour du chant, et a ainsi contribué à la vision de paix des temps futurs.

Sources :

 

Ecouter la playlist dédiée à Samy Elmaghribi

 

Consulter nos archives sur Sammy Elmaghribi

 

Regarder un extrait vidéo avec Samy Elmaghribi et Reinette l’Oranaise, vidéo issue de nos collections

 

Vous aimerez aussi

La playlist orientale de l’été…

Au cours de ce voyage, nous vous invitons à chanter et danser au gré des plus belles voix de ce…

La playlist israélienne de l’été…

Pour vous accompagner tout au long de l’été, voici une sélection des tubes les plus entraînants de la musique israélienne

La Musique Juive en Espagne

Article sur la situation historique de la Musique Juive en Espagne, par Jorge Rozemblum, directeur de Radio Sefarad et correspondant…