Sutzkever Project

Poems by Avrom Sutzkever, Music by Olivier Milhaud

The CD Sutzkever Project was created in 2010 when the composer Olivier Milhaud, grand-nephew of Darius Milhaud, met the Yiddish teacher and translator Batia Baum. During this meeting, Batia Baum speaks of the personality and fascinating work of the poet Avrom Sutzkever. A mind-blowing work in which the poet sees stars in the gutters of Vilno’s ghetto, or dreams of a sunset in his own blood mixed with lime. Sutzkever’s Yiddish poetry thus foils the atrocity by recreating the world with an interjection of life and beauty…

Seduced by the texts of this great poet, Olivier Milhaud felt the need to write music on it. And it’s with his meeting, in 2015, with the singer Mélanie Gardyn and in 2016 with the pianist Natacha Medvedeva that the Sutzkever Project will see light, and will receive in 2017 the 1st prize of the Amsterdam’s International Festival of Jewish Music as well as the Mira Rafalowicz award for best Yiddish performance.

cd_1140_couv4_-_redim.jpgThe CD Sutzkever Project, released in 2018, gathers 12 poems by Avrom Sutzkever that refer to very different themes and universes: the Siberian nature linked to a father’s death (Sibir), nature incarnated in two loving and fusional trees, (tsvey beymer), an abandoned nest (Di farloyrene nest), the prayer and memory of a grand-father (Tikn os), the Genesis and fall of heaven (Der boym fun lebn, Der boym fun visn),the horror, transfigured in a kind of paint-poem, of vision (Farfroyrene yidn, ikh lig in an orn), the horror again in a cynical melody (A vogn shikh), the hallucination of a sunset in lime as a poem’s verses (Di sturmisten) or the disillusion of a time (Penemer in zumpn), a mystical interrogation (Tsou vemen geher ikh ?), words that come to life – the fiddle-rose (Di fidlroyz), an appearance or a dream ? – the dancer (Di tentserin).

Olivier Milhaud’s music, inspired by Jewish liturgy, and wonderfully served by Mélanie Gardyn and Natacha Medvedeva, inscribes itself in the lineage of Bloch, Ravel, Eisler, Shostakovich…

A total success !

Avrom Sutzkever’s biography (in French)

Purchase the CD Sutzkever Project

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Sutzkever Project

Poèmes d'Avrom Sutzkever, Musique d'Olivier Milhaud

Le disque Sutzkever Project est né en 2010 de la rencontre du compositeur Olivier Milhaud, le petit-neveu de Darius Milhaud, avec l’enseignante et traductrice de yiddish Batia Baum. Au cours de cette rencontre, Batia Baum évoque la personnalité et l’œuvre fascinante du poète Avrom Sutzkever. Une œuvre hallucinée où le poète voit paraître les étoiles dans les égouts du ghetto de Vilno ou encore hallucine un coucher de soleil dans son propre sang mêlé à la chaux. La poésie yiddish de Sutzkever déjoue ainsi l’atrocité en recréant le monde par une injonction de vie et de beauté…

Séduit par les textes de ce grand poète, Olivier Milhaud ressent l’envie de les habiller musicalement. Et c’est de sa rencontre, en 2015, avec la chanteuse Mélanie Gardyn et en 2016 avec la pianiste Natacha Medvedeva que va naître Sutzkever Project, qui remporte en 2017 le 1er prix du Festival International des Musiques Juives d’Amsterdam ainsi que le Prix Mira Rafalowicz pour la meilleure interprétation yiddish.

cd_1140_couv4_-_redim.jpgLe disque Sutzkever Project, paru en 2018, nous propose 12 poèmes d’Avrom Sutzkever touchant à des thèmes et à des univers très différents : la nature sibérienne rattachée à la mort du père (Sibir), la nature incarnée en deux arbres enamourés, fusionnels (tsvey beymer), un nid abandonné (Di farloyrene nest), la prière et le souvenir du grand-père (Tikn os), la Genèse et la chute du paradis (Der boym fun lebn, Der boym fun visn), l’horreur transfigurée en une sorte de peinture-poème, de vision (Farfroyrene yidn, ikh lig in an orn), l’horreur encore en une mélodie cynique (A vogn shikh), l’hallucination d’un coucher de soleil dans la chaux comme des vers de poèmes (Di sturmisten) ou encore la désillusion d’une époque (Penemer in zumpn), une interrogation mystique (Tsou vemen geher ikh ?), des mots qui s’incarnent – la rose-violon (Di fidlroyz), une apparition ou un rêve ? – la danseuse (Di tentserin).

Chaque chant part d’un signifiant musical (comme d’un mot, d’un leitmotiv pour Sutzkever), c’est-à-dire d’un motif harmonique, mélodique et/ou rythmique autour duquel découle le reste.

La musique d’Olivier Milhaud, inspirée de la liturgie juive, et magnifiquement servie par Mélanie Gardyn et Natacha Medvedeva, s’inscrit dans la lignée de Bloch, Ravel, Eisler, Shostakovich…

Une totale réussite !

Biographie Avrom Sutzkever

Commander le CD Sutzkever Project sur la boutique de l’IEMJ

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…