Yiddish blues (2) – Talila

Naïve, 2010

On subtle arrangements by Teddy Lasry, Talila sings beautiful songs in Yiddish

In the taylor’s shop, there were smells of the old Jewish Poland, and of strong desires to become French. This is where I had school, close to the sewing machine, one ear hearing Yiddish, the other the excellence of french langage. The Polish Jewish smells seemed too old fashioned.

The challenge of this new record is to be where he is not expected. Those who have a clear idea that Yiddish songs must be performed with the violin, the « klezmer » clarinet, the Slavic accordion, may not be that happy. But why repeat for ever the same things ?

Irving Berlin understood it well, he who came from this musical culture and became the most prolific composer of American jazz standards. Yiddish songs, its at the same time humour in keys and lyrics, and held back tears : this is what Teddy Lasry, director and arrangor of this album, well understood by adding a bit of jazz rhythm. Maybe this is Yiddish music, the art of mixing genres, from slow rumba to streets laments.

Let’s get lost a little and have a walk in this country which makes the Yiddishland as vast as the world.

Text by Talila

Learn more about Talila

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Yiddish blues (2) – Talila

Naïve, 2010

Sur des arrangements subtils de Teddy Lasry, Talila nous régale de son talent.

Dans la boutique du tailleur il y avait des effluves de vieille Pologne juive et des désirs violents d´être français. C´est là que j´ai fait mes classes, près de la machine à coudre, une oreille tendue vers le yiddish, l´autre vers l´excellence de la langue française et la réussite en rédaction. Les effluves juives polonaises me semblaient “ringardes”.

La gageure de ce nouvel enregistrement c´est d´être là où on ne l´attend pas. Ceux qui ont une idée claire de ce que doit être la chanson yiddish forcément accompagnée du violon, de la clarinette dite “klezmer”, de l´accordéon slave, ne s´y retrouveront peut-être pas. Mais comment se contenter de la répétition éternelle du même ?

Irving Berlin l´avait bien compris lui qui était issu de cette culture musicale et devint le compositeur le plus prolifique de standards de jazz américains. La chanson yiddish, c´est à la fois de l´humour en notes et en paroles et du sanglot ravalé : c´est ce que Teddy Lasry, réalisateur et arrangeur de cet album, a bien saisi en y ajoutant son grain de sel rythmique, lui qui vient de l´univers du jazz. C´est peut-être cela la musique yiddish, un art du mélange des genres, de la rumba lente à la complainte des rues.

On ne s´y retrouve plus ? Tant mieux ! Perdons-nous et promenons-nous dans ces contrées qui font que le yiddishland est vaste comme le monde.

Texte de Talila

En savoir plus sur Talila

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…