EUROPEAN INSTITUTE OF JEWISH MUSIC’S GALA CONCERT – 2018 EDITION

The Spirit of Granada / Liturgical Choirs and Yiddish Songs

Watch video clips of the fourth edition of the European Institute of Jewish Music’s Gala Concert which took place on Sunday November 11th 2018, Cortot Hall (Paris), with the support of the Henriette Halphen Foundation, under the aegis of the Fondation du Judaïsme Français.

In the program : The spirit of Granada , performed by Françoise Atlan and Liturgical Choirs and Yiddish Songs performed by the Ensemble Choral Copernic conducted by Itaï Daniel accompanied by Yun-Yang Lee on the piano.

In the first part of the concert, Françoise Atlan, vocals, Fouad Didi, ud and violin, Nidhal Jaoua, qanun and Pierre Rigopoulos, percussions, took us on a poetic and musical journey in the Mediterranean region, mixing Arabic, Hebrew, Castilian and Judeo-Spanish cultures, through wedding songs, lullabies and love songs, mystical or profane. To this Andalusian repertoire was also added Judeo-Morrocan, Algerian and Tunisian songs, in particular a beautiful song from the Tunisian singer Habiba Msika.

In the second part, performing Yiddish songs and liturgical tunes from the 19th and 20th centuries, the Ensemble Choral Copernic, conducted by Itaï Daniel, and accompanied by Yun-Yang Lee on the piano, played the works of the great repertoire of Jewish music, religious or profane, maintaining thus the high musical tradition from which is nourished Copernic’s synagogue’s liturgy.

Download the program (french) of the Gala concert of the EIJM 2018

1st part : THE SPIRIT OF GRANADA
Deror Ykera – Shalom Alekhem – Bahada Habiti – Hamadvil – Avinou Malkenou
2nd part : THE ENSEMBLE CHORAL COPERNIC
Sim Shalom – Kiddoush l’Shabbat – Adon Olam – Unter Di Grininke Boimelech – Shir Eretz – Cantate Mahzor Hayim (Kedousha)

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Soul of Yiddish

Travelling between her love of classical music and the folk repertoire of Eastern Europe, where she finds her roots, Noëmi…

The organ in the Jewish tradition

On May 21, 1856, the conference of the French chief rabbis, presided by the chief rabbi of France Salomon Ulmann…

Conference – The place of the organ in the Jewish tradition – Hervé Roten

Sunday, October 24, 2021 from 2 to 3 pm - LE KARE - Boulogne-Billancourt (92100). Conference on the evolution of…

Concert de gala de l’Institut Européen des Musiques Juives – Edition 2018

L’esprit de Grenade / Chœurs Liturgiques et Chansons Yiddish

Visionnez des extraits de la quatrième édition du concert de gala de l’Institut Européen des Musiques Juives qui s’est tenu le dimanche 11 novembre 2018, Salle Cortot (Paris 17e), avec le soutien de la Fondation Henriette Halphen, sous l’égide de la Fondation du Judaïsme Français.

Au programme : L’esprit de Grenade , proposé par Françoise Atlan et Chœurs Liturgiques et Chansons Yiddish par l’Ensemble Choral Copernic dirigé par Itaï Daniel et accompagné au piano par Yun-Yang Lee.

Dans la première partie du concert, Françoise Atlan, au chant, Fouad Didi, aux oud et violon, Nidhal Jaoua, au qanoun et Pierre Rigopoulos, aux percussions tissent une broderie poétique et musicale mêlant cultures arabe, hébraïque, castillane et judéo-espagnole à travers chants de noces, berceuses, chants d’amour mystiques et profanes, résolument méditerranéens. A ce répertoire andalou viennent faire écho des chants judéo-marocains, algériens et tunisiens, avec notamment une très belle chanson de la célèbre interprète tunisienne Habiba Msika.

Dans la seconde partie, mêlant chansons yiddish et airs liturgiques des 19e et 20e siècles, l’Ensemble Choral Copernic, dirigé par Itaï Daniel, et accompagné au piano par Yun-Yang Lee, nous offre les œuvres du grand répertoire de la musique juive, liturgique ou profane, maintenant ainsi la haute tradition musicale dont se nourrit la liturgie de Copernic.

Télécharger le programme du concert de Gala IEMJ 2018

1ère partie : L’ESPRIT DE GRENADE
Deror Ykera – Shalom Alekhem – Bahada Habiti – Hamadvil – Avinou Malkenou
2ème partie : L’ENSEMBLE CHORAL COPERNIC
Sim Shalom – Kiddoush l’Shabbat – Adon Olam – Unter Di Grininke Boimelech – Shir Eretz – Cantate Mahzor Hayim (Kedousha)
0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…