Arnold, Jacques (1946)

Jacques Arnold was born on December 29, 1946, in the 10th arrondissement of Paris, into a traditionalist family attached to the Jewish culture. He attended the local primary school and then the Yavné school until he obtained his baccalauréat. As this Jewish school was located near the Séminaire Israélite de France at the time, he joined the Liturgy-Pedagogy section of the Séminaire in 1963, where he followed the training course for officiants directed by Léon Algazi, with the assistance of Alberto Hemsi, Roland Mossé, Adolphe Attia, Shalom Berlinski, etc. During these years of apprenticeship, he took on the role of cantor (Chazan) and teacher in several Jewish communities (La Varenne, Bayonne, Synagogue de la Victoire in Paris…).

From 1968 to 1971, Jacques Arnold studied and discovered Israel to strengthen his knowledge of Judaism. A tireless worker, he obtained a degree in modern Hebrew from INALCO in 1991.

In November 1971, he took on the role of religious leader at the Fondation de Rothschild retirement home on rue de Picpus in the 12th arrondissement of Paris. His task, which he carried out faithfully for 36 years, consisted of leading the services in the establishment’s synagogue, organising Jewish life and the celebration of holidays for the residents, and providing training for the staff and welcoming the faithful of the neighbourhood.

At the same time, from 1987 to 2008, he taught Jewish subjects (Hebrew, liturgy, etc.) at the Yavné junior and high school. This total involvement, particularly in the educational field, earned him the title of Honorary Rabbi in December 2009 by Chief Rabbi Gilles Bernheim.

2009 – Nomination by Chief Rabbi G. Bernheim

Since 2009, when he retired, Jacques and his wife Isabelle have made frequent trips between Jerusalem and Paris to be with their four Parisian and Israeli children, grandchildren and great grandchildren.       

With his free time, Jacques Arnold joined the team of volunteers of the European Institute of Jewish Music to devote himself, among other things, to the classification and identification of the numerous digitised sound documents relating to Jewish liturgy and musical traditions. He also collaborates with Hervé Roten on several Jewish music radio programmes on Judaïques FM and is also a member of the Jewish Choir of France.

Finally, he created the magnificent stained glass windows for the two large windows of the Synagogue of the Rothschild Foundation. Inspired by themes from Jewish tradition and elements from the Bible, he conceived and executed the preparatory drawings with the aim of creating a harmonious composition. He then made the models which enabled Sylvie Fagot, master glass-maker, to execute the work according to the rules of art. These stained glass windows, which include Hebrew inscriptions accompanying the motifs, add a colourful note and contribute to the serenity of this renovated place of prayer.

You may also like

Release of 3 new works by the composer Serge Kaufmann

The EIJM’s publishing house is happy to announce the release of 3 new music scores by Serge Kaufmann, Ima ou…

Synagogal music in Paris at the time of the first consistorial temple (1822-1874)

In his thesis, now available in digital version, Gérard Ganvert gives us an indepth study of synagogal music in Paris…

Arnold, Jacques (1946)

Jacques Arnold est né le 29 décembre 1946 dans le 10e arrondissement de Paris, au sein d’une famille traditionaliste attachée à la culture juive. Il fréquente l’école primaire de son quartier puis l’école Yavné jusqu’à l’obtention de son baccalauréat. Cette école juive étant située à l’époque à proximité du Séminaire Israélite de France, il intègre en 1963 la section Liturgie-Pédagogie du Séminaire dans laquelle il suit le cursus de formation d’officiant dirigé par Léon Algazi, avec le concours de Alberto Hemsi, Roland Mossé, Adolphe Attia, Shalom Berlinski… Durant ces années d’apprentissage il assume la fonction de chantre (hazzan) et d’enseignant dans plusieurs communautés juives (La Varenne, Bayonne, Synagogue de la Victoire à Paris…).

De 1968 à 1971, Jacques Arnold effectue un séjour d’étude et de découverte d’Israël pour raffermir ses connaissances dans le judaïsme. Travailleur infatigable, il obtient une licence d’hébreu moderne à l’INALCO (Langues O) en 1991.  

A partir de novembre 1971 il assume la fonction de responsable religieux au sein de la maison de retraite de la Fondation de Rothschild – rue de Picpus Paris 12e. Sa tâche, qu’il accomplira fidèlement pendant 36 ans, consiste à diriger les offices de la synagogue de l’établissement, à organiser la vie juive ainsi que la célébration des fêtes pour les résidents et à assurer la formation du personnel et l’accueil des fidèles du quartier.

En parallèle, il enseigne, de 1987 à 2008, les matières juives (hébreu, liturgie…) au collège et au Lycée de l’école Yavné. Cette totale implication, notamment dans le domaine éducatif, lui vaut la remise du titre de Rabbin honoraire en décembre 2009 par le Grand Rabbin Gilles Bernheim.

2009 – Nomination par le Grand Rabbin G. Bernheim

A partir de 2009, date de son départ à la retraite, Jacques et son épouse Isabelle effectuent de fréquents voyages entre Jérusalem et Paris afin d’être auprès de leurs quatre enfants, petits et arrière-petits-enfants parisiens et israéliens.         

Le fait de disposer de temps libre permet à Jacques Arnold de rejoindre l’équipe des bénévoles de l’Institut Européen des Musiques Juives pour se consacrer, entre autres, au classement et à l’identification des nombreux documents sonores numérisés ayant trait à la liturgie et aux traditions musicales juives. Il collabore également avec Hervé Roten à plusieurs émissions de radio de musiques juives sur Judaïques FM et fait également partie du Chœur juif de France.

Enfin, il réalise de magnifiques vitraux pour les deux grandes verrières de la Synagogue de la Fondation de Rothschild. En s’inspirant de thèmes issus de la tradition juive et d’éléments provenant de la Bible, il conçoit et exécute les dessins préparatoires avec le souci de créer une composition harmonieuse. Puis il réalise les maquettes qui permettent à Sylvie Fagot maître verrier, d’exécuter l’œuvre selon les règles de l’art. Ces vitraux, qui comportent des inscriptions hébraïques accompagnant des motifs, apportent une note colorée et participent à la sérénité de ce lieu de prière rénové.

 

Vous aimerez aussi

Le Seder de Roch Hachana chez les Juifs d’Afrique du Nord

Le Seder du soir de Roch Hachana consiste en la consommation d’aliments symboliques - connus sous le nom de simanim…

Thieves of Dreams – Zloději snů

Lors du décès récent de sa mère, Lenka Lichtenberg découvre deux cahiers en lambeaux contenant des poèmes écrits à la…

Les faces cachées de la musique juive : Leibu Levin

ÉMISSION de RADIO présentée par Hélène Engel, diffusée sur Radio SHALOM Montréal en 2014. Dans cette émission, Hélène Engel nous…