Ghetto songs

Listen to this selection of songs written in ghettos, or talking about life in the ghettos

The word “ghetto” appeared in the Republic of Venice in 1516, after the Council of Ten decided to reunite members of the Jewish community in Cannaregio on the site of a former foundry. In Venetian getto or ghetto means “foundry”.

During the Second World War, the Nazis imprisoned Jews from Poland, Belarus, Galicia in the western part of Ukraine (Lvov ghetto) into separate neighborhoods that they closed and controlled, before their systematic transfer to extermination camps.

The Warsaw ghetto, composed of over 350,000 residents, sank into the most extreme misery. Having understood that their fate was without issue with the Nazis, the population, in solitude and abandonment of the whole world, organized an uprising to try to escape. This heroic revolt of April 1943 remained a particularly tragic page of history of that time. Thus the commemoration of the Warsaw ghetto uprising is celebrated every year on April 19.

There were ghettos in Łódź, Budapest, Cracovie, Częstochowa, Lublin, Kielce, Radom, Kolozsvár, Lakhva, Białystok, Lvov, Marcinkance, Mińsk, Moguilev, Grodno, Vitebsk, Babrouïsk, Smolensk, Brest, Pinsk, Riga, Sosnowiec, Będzin, Vilnius, Focșani…

Mordkhe Gebirtig, Hirsh Glik, Edwin Geist, Nachum Sternheim, Israel Glatstein, Gershon Sirota, Leyb Rozenthal… So many names of artists, singers, composers and poets who died in Nazi ghettos.

doc_1_ghetto.jpg

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Léon Algazi (1890-1971), a Jewish music pioneer in France

In the "Life Courses" series, Jacques Algazi (1934-2021) reveals the life of his father, Léon Algazi (1890-1971), a tireless intellectual…

Sefarad in the piano – Toni Costa

Inspired by Judeo-Spanish folk poetry, jazz, early music and the popular rhythms of flamenco, the pianist Toni Costa presents his…

Chants des ghettos

Ecoutez cette sélection de chansons écrites dans les ghettos, ou qui parlent de la vie dans les ghettos

Le terme “ghetto” apparaît dans la République de Venise en 1516, après que le Conseil des Dix a décidé de regrouper les membres de la communauté juive à Cannaregio sur le site d’une ancienne fonderie. En vénitien getto ou ghetto signifie “fonderie”.

Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les nazis enferment les juifs de Pologne, de Biélorussie, de Galicie dans la partie occidentale de l’Ukraine (ghetto de Lvov) dans des quartiers à part qu’ils clôturent et contrôlent, avant leur transfert systématique vers les camps d’extermination.

Le ghetto de Varsovie, composé de plus de 350 000 résidents, sombra dans la misère la plus extrême. Ayant compris que leur sort est sans issue face aux nazis, la population, dans la solitude et l’abandon du monde entier, organise un soulèvement pour tenter de s’échapper, les armes à la main. Sa révolte héroïque d’avril 1943 est demeurée une page d’histoire particulièrement tragique de cette époque. C’est ainsi que tous les ans est célébrée le 19 avril, la commémoration du soulèvement du ghetto de Varsovie.

Des ghettos étaient présents, entre autres, à Łódź, Budapest, Cracovie, Częstochowa, Lublin, Kielce, Radom, Kolozsvár, Lakhva, Białystok, Lvov, Marcinkance, Mińsk, Moguilev, Grodno, Vitebsk, Babrouïsk, Smolensk, Brest, Pinsk, Riga, Sosnowiec, Będzin, Vilnius, Focșani…

Mordkhe Gebirtig, Hirsh Glik, Edwin Geist, Nachum Sternheim, Israel Glatstein, Gershon Sirota, Leyb Rozenthal… autant de noms d’artistes, chanteurs, compositeurs et poètes morts dans les ghettos nazis.

doc_1_ghetto.jpg

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Sephardic Pizmonim Project

Archives musicales numériques de la communauté séfarade d'Alep

Léon Algazi (1890-1971), un pionnier des musiques juives en France

Dans la série « Parcours de vie », Jacques Algazi (1934-2021) nous dévoile la vie de son père, Léon Algazi…

Heichal Menachem

(New York, Etats-Unis) Site Loubavitch donnant accès à plus de 500 nigounim traditionnels écoutables en ligne !

Sefarad in the piano – Toni Costa

Inspiré par la poésie populaire judéo-espagnole, le jazz, la musique ancienne et les rythmes populaires du flamenco, le pianiste Toni…