Cordoue 21

On the traces of Sefarad

The spirit of Cordoba ? This Cordoba has not existed for more than nine or ten centuries. And what about it in the beginning of this 21st century ?
This is the question asked by Sandra Bessis and Rachid Brahim-Djelloul in this new recording dedicated to the music of those expelled from Spain.

If the Judeo-Spanish songs are a starting point, they stroll with Arabo-Andalusian or Judeo-Arab pieces, improvisations and Oriental instrumental melodies.
Music of the Mediterranean, this CD is a tribute to these emblematic towns where coexistence between communities, where one might take imaginary walks, from Cordoba or Granada, to Salonica and Istanbul, Tetuan and Constantine. A celebration, in our way, of the marriage between East and West, between the divine and profane, between popular and scholarly traditions, of yesterday, and of today…

Six evocative ballads – from Granada to Cordoba, passing through the Balkans, Salonica, Istanbul and even Tunis, Algiers and Paris – construct this album, with the voice of Sandra Bessis, recognized singer of the Sefardi repertoire for more than 25 years, and the voice of Rachid Brahim-Djelloul.

Sometimes together and sometimes one after the other, their voices take the routes that border the Mediterranean Sea. With the accordion player Jasko Ramic, with his two-part musical background, classical music that he learned in Moscow’s music conservatory, and traditional music with his attachment to the Gypsy tradition of Serbia, the ud player Noureddine Aliane and the percussionnist Yousef Zayed, they revisit the repertoire, far from all fantasy of reconstitution. Because we talk here of ” re-creation ” : the choice of songs, the association from one to another, that go back several centuries, or contemporary compositions, the interconnection of traditional melodies with Arabic poetry of the Medieval era, the arrangements and instrumentation, follow their eras. Languages stroll together, rhythms, emotions, a way to perpetuate this antique tradition, between sharing and moving.

With Sandra Bessis (conception and artistic directing, vocals), Rachid Brahim-Djelloul (music directing, vocals, violin, viola), Jasko Ramic (accordion, participation to arrangements), Noureddine Aliane (ud, mandola), Yousef Zayed (percussions, buzuki)
Guest musicians : Araïk Bartikian (doudouk) and Théo Girard (double bass)
Recording, mixing and mastering : Patrick Jauneaud

Learn more
Listen to the radio broadcast :Sandra Bessis, on the traces of Sefardi music

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Cordoue 21

Sur les traces de Sefarad

L’esprit de Cordoue ? Cette Cordoue-là n’est plus depuis neuf ou dix siècles. Qu’en est-il pour nous de son souffle en ce début de 21e siècle ?
Telle est la question que se posent Sandra Bessis et Rachid Brahim-Djelloul dans ce nouvel enregistrement consacré à la musique des exilés d’Espagne.

Si les chants judéo-espagnols en sont le point de départ, ils côtoient des pièces arabo-andalouses ou judéo-arabes, des improvisations et thèmes instrumentaux orientaux. Musiques de la Méditerranée, hommage à ces villes-emblèmes de la coexistence entre communautés cousines, promenades imaginaires, depuis Cordoue ou Grenade, vers Salonique et Istanbul, Tétouan ou Constantine. Célébration à notre manière des noces de l’Orient et de l’Occident, du divin et du profane, des traditions populaire et savante, de jadis, hier et maintenant…

Six ballades évocatrices – de Grenade à Cordoue, en passant par Les Balkan, Salonique, Istanbul et même Tunis, Alger et Paris – tissent la trame de cet album, porté par la voix de Sandra Bessis, interprète reconnue du répertoire séfarade depuis près de vingt-cinq ans, et par celle de Rachid Brahim-Djelloul, rompu à la subtilité instrumentale et vocale de la tradition arabo-andalouse.

Tantôt tour à tour, tantôt de concert, leurs voix arpentent ces chemins qui bordent la Méditerranée. Avec l’accordéoniste Jasko Ramic, fort de sa double culture musicale, classique puisque formé au conservatoire de Moscou, et traditionnelle par son ancrage dans la tradition tsigane de Serbie, le ‘oudiste Noureddine Aliane et le percussionniste Yousef Zayed, ils revisitent le répertoire, loin de tout fantasme de reconstitution. Car c’est bien de « recréation » dont il s’agit là : le choix des morceaux, l’association des uns avec les autres, âgés de plusieurs siècles ou compositions récentes, le croisement de mélodies traditionnelles avec la poésie arabe de l’époque médiévale, les arrangements et l’instrumentation, sont pour eux l’air du temps. Les langues s’y côtoient, les rythmes, les émotions, les ambiances, façon de perpétuer à leur manière le fil de cette antique tradition, entre partage et mouvement.

Avec Sandra Bessis (conception et direction artistique, voix), Rachid Brahim-Djelloul (direction musicale, voix, violon, alto), Jasko Ramic (accordéon, participation aux arrangements), Noureddine Aliane (‘oud, mandole), Yousef Zayed (percussions, bouzouk)
Musiciens invités : Araïk Bartikian (doudouk) et Théo Girard (contrebasse)
Prise de son, mixage, mastering : Patrick Jauneaud

En savoir plus
Ecouter l’émission de radio de l’IEMJ Sandra Bessis, sur les traces des musiques séfarades

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…