Epstein Brothers

logo bio Elsa Barraine

Biography compiled and translated by Patrick Bermand

The Epstein Brothers Orchestra (also known as the Epstein Brothers) was a Jewish musical quartet from the United States which played mostly klezmer music.
The four New York brothers were: Max Epstein (1912-2000), Isidore “Chi” Epstein (1913-1986), William “Willie” Epstein (1919 -1999) and Julius “Julie” Epstein (born in 1926).

Max started playing the violin during silent screenings at the age of 12. When he was 16 years old, he began playing the saxophone and then the clarinet. Very soon, he started playing in Romanian and Russian Jewish cabarets. His style was influenced by older immigrant musicians, including Dave Tarras, Naftule Brandwein, and Sam Beckerman, who helped him expand his repertoire by including the traditions of previous generations of klezmorim from Eastern Europe.
His brother, Isidore “Chi” Epstein, who played saxophone and clarinet, helped spark his brothers’ interest in music. Willie Epstein became a leading Yiddish trumpet player of his generation, thanks to his collaboration with leading Jewish dance and theater orchestras.
Julie started accompanying Max at the age of 17, and quickly earned a reputation as a prominent drummer in Jewish music.

The Epstein brothers started playing together in the late 1940s after the Second World War. At that time, their repertoire consisted mainly of Hasidic traditional music, following the massive immigration of Jewish survivors from Eastern Europe after the Holocaust. As a group, the Epstein brothers toured the cities of New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Massachusetts, and Michigan, as well as Toronto and Montreal, playing wherever there was a Jewish community, and especially for the Lubavitch communities (the largest Hasidic movement). Their music was also very popular for Greek and Italian weddings.
Throughout their lives, the Epstein brothers have lived from their music, mainly entertainment, which they played in neighborhood clubs and reception halls in New York.

To their credit, there are several recordings of Hasidic music for the Tikva and Menora labels. But because they could read music, the brothers did not just play Jewish traditional music, they also played popular dance and jazz music.

In the late 1960s, they all settled in Florida, where they recreated their klezmer band. Chi died in 1986, leaving the three brothers. In the mid-1990s, the three half-retired brothers continued to perform four to five concerts each week in southern Florida, and it was during this period that the klezmer experienced a renaissance in America and abroad. Once again, the Epstein brothers found themselves speaking for a tradition they had always supported over the years.

In 1996, Max, William and Julie played together in the documentary “A Tickle in the Heart” which tells the story of the four brothers. In 1998, they received the National Heritage Award from the National Endowment for the Arts.

Following William’s death on July 2, 1999 and Max’s death on March 18, 2000 in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, Julius Epstein is the last survivor of the orchestra. To this day, he still lives in Fort Lauderdale, with his wife Esther.

Listen to the interview of the Epstein brothers by Neil W. Levin and Barry Serota for the Milken Archive.
Epstein Brothers : Silkene Pajamas & Epstein Nign

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Epstein Brothers

logo bio Epstein Brothers

Notice compilée et traduite par Patrick Berman

L’orchestre des Frères Epstein (connu aussi sous le nom des Epstein Brothers) était un quartet musical juif des Etats Unis qui jouaient essentiellement de la musique klezmer.
Les quatre frères new-yorkais étaient : Max Epstein (1912–2000), Isidore “Chi“ Epstein (1913–1986), William “Willie“ Epstein (1919 –1999) et Julius “Julie“ Epstein (né en 1926).

Max a commencé à jouer du violon lors de la projection des films muets à l’âge de 12 ans. A 16 ans, il se met au saxophone, puis à la clarinette. Très tôt, il commence à jouer dans des cabarets juifs roumains et russes. Son style est influencé par des musiciens immigrés plus anciens, notamment Dave Tarras, Naftule Brandwein, et Sam Beckerman, qui contribuent à élargir son répertoire pour y inclure les traditions des générations précédentes de klezmorim d’Europe orientale.

Son frère, Isidore “Chi” Epstein, qui jouait du saxophone et de la clarinette, a contribué à susciter l’intérêt de ses frères pour la musique. Willie Epstein devint un trompettiste yiddish leader de sa génération, grâce à sa collaboration avec les orchestres juifs de danse et de théâtre de premier plan.
Julie a commencé à accompagner Max à l’âge de 17 ans, et a rapidement gagné une réputation de batteur de premier plan dans la musique juive.

Les frères Epstein ont commencé à jouer ensemble à la fin des années 1940, après la Seconde Guerre mondiale. A cette époque, leur répertoire était essentiellement composé de musique traditionnelle hassidique, suite à l’immigration massive des survivants juifs d’Europe de l’Est après l’Holocauste. En tant que groupe, les frères Epstein firent plusieurs tournées dans les villes du New Jersey, de Pennsylvanie, du Maryland, du Massachusetts et du Michigan, ainsi qu’à Toronto et à Montréal, jouant partout où il y avait une communauté juive, et en particulier pour les communautés Loubavitch (le plus grand mouvement hassidique). Leur musique était également très appréciée pour les mariages grecs et italiens.

Tout au long de leur vie, les frères Epstein ont vécu de leur musique, principalement de divertissement, qu’ils jouaient dans les clubs de quartier et les salles de réception de New York.

A leur actif, on compte plusieurs enregistrements de musique hassidique pour les labels Tikva et Menora. Mais parce qu’ils savaient lire la musique, les frères ne se limitaient pas à jouer de la musique traditionnelle juive, ils jouaient également de la musique populaire de danse et du jazz.

A la fin des années 1960, ils s’installent tous en Floride, où ils recréent leur groupe klezmer. Chi décède en 1986, laissant les trois frères poursuivre leur tradition musicale. Vers le milieu des années 1990, les 3 frères, à moitié retraités, continuent de donner quatre à cinq concerts par semaine dans le sud de la Floride, et c’est au cours de cette période que le klezmer connaît une renaissance en Amérique et à l’étranger. Une fois de plus, les frères Epstein se retrouve porte-parole d’une tradition qu’ils ont toujours soutenue au fil des ans.

En 1996, Max, William et Julie ont joué ensemble dans le documentaire « A Tickle in the Heart » qui raconte l’histoire des quatre frères. En 1998, ils reçoivent le Prix National Heritage décerné par le National Endowment for the Arts.

Suite au décès de William le 2 juillet 1999 et celui de Max, le 18 mars 2000 à Fort Lauderdale, en Floride, Julius Epstein est le dernier survivant de l’orchestre. A ce jour, il vit toujours à Fort Lauderdale, avec sa femme Esther.

Ecouter l’interview (en anglais) des frères Epstein par Neil W. Levin and Barry Serota pour les Milken Archive.
Epstein Brothers : Silkene Pajamas & Epstein Nign

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…