THE PAUL FENTON COLLECTION

Deposited in January 2019, the Fenton (Shahak) collection contains around 250 documents : rare books, old musical scores, song books, press cuts, audio cassettes, 33 and 78 RPM discs and CD’s.

Teacher in the department of Arabic and Hebraic studies at the Paris-Sorbonne university, researcher at the Research institute for studies of religions (Paris IV) and member of the scientific committee of the Société des études juives, Paul Fenton regularly organized concerts of liturgical Jewish music, as part of the Association for promotion of cantorial art (APAC).
Passionate collector, he gathered during his long carrier substantial documentation on Jewish music, particularly on the Ashkenazim realm.

paul_fenton_site_redim_160.jpg
Paul Fenton

His holding, which is completely digitized, catalogued and available on Rachel features several rare documents, such as sheet music of Yiddish songs published in London (R. Mazin & Co.Ltd.) and New-York (Jos. P. Katz, Hebrew Publishing Company), or a liturgical score collection for organ and choir from the end of the 19th century, and a sheet music of Mélodies tunisiennes : hispano-arabes – arabo-berbères – juive – nègre (1937) collected by the Baron Rodolphe d’Erlanger.

a_1854_a_rubinstein_300px_vertic.jpgNotable also is the presence of two big books (336 and 384 pages) from the Jewish Ministers Cantors’ Association of America, published in 1937 and 1947, on the occasion of the 40th and 50th anniversary of the association, gathering dozens of articles and biographies of cantors, in English and in Yiddish, with many pictures.

Finally, in this very rich and varied holding, we will notice several press cuts and printed drawings from the end of the 19th century, representing artists of Jewish music (Salomon Sulzer, Giacomo Meyerbeer, Arthur Rubinstein…)

Browse the Fenton collection

p_5232_couv_recueil_brun_redim_425px_vertic.jpg p_5275_001_partition_chantshe_redim_425_vertic.jpg

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Fonds Paul Fenton

Déposé en janvier 2019, le fonds Fenton (Shahak) compte près de 250 documents : livres rares, partitions anciennes, carnets de chants, coupures de presse, cassettes audio, disques 78 trs, vinyles et CD.

Professeur au Département d’Études arabes et hébraïques de l’université de Paris-Sorbonne, chercheur à l’Institut de recherches pour l’étude des religions (Paris IV) et membre du comité scientifique de la Société des études juives, Paul Fenton a régulièrement organisé des concerts de musiques liturgiques juives dans le cadre de l’Association pour la Promotion de l’Art Cantorial (APAC).
Collectionneur passionné, il a accumulé durant sa longue carrière une documentation de tout premier ordre sur les musiques juives, particulièrement dans le monde ashkénaze.

paul_fenton_site_redim_160.jpg
Paul Fenton

Son fonds entièrement numérisé, catalogué et accessible sur Rachel comporte quelques documents rares comme des partitions de chansons yiddish (vendues à l’unité) publiées à Londres (R. Mazin & Co.Ltd.) et New-York (Jos. P. Katz, Hebrew Publishing Company), ainsi que des recueils liturgiques pour orgue et chœur de la fin du 19e, ou encore une partition de Mélodies tunisiennes : hispano-arabes – arabo-berbères – juive – nègre (1937) recueillies par le Baron Rodolphe d’Erlanger.

a_1854_a_rubinstein_300px_vertic.jpgA noter encore la présence de deux gros livres (336 et 384 pages) du Jewish Ministers Cantors’ Association of America, publiés en 1937 et 1947, à l’occasion des 40e et 50e anniversaires de l’association, contenant des dizaines d’articles de fonds et des biographies de cantors, en anglais et en yiddish, illustrés de photos.

Enfin, dans ce fonds varié et extrêmement riche, on relèvera la présence de plusieurs coupures de presse et estampes de la fin du 19e, représentant notamment des artistes de musique juive (Salomon Sulzer, Giacomo Meyerbeer, Arthur Rubinstein…)

Consulter le fonds Fenton

p_5232_couv_recueil_brun_redim_425px_vertic.jpg p_5275_001_partition_chantshe_redim_425_vertic.jpg

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…