Gerro, Henri (approx. 1919-1980)

logo bio Henri Gerro

Henri Gerro (Roizman) was born on August 31, 1919 in Rovno (Volhynia Province), nowadays in Ukraine. He began performing on the Polish stage at the age of 12.

After the war, he emigrated to Paris[1]Interview by A. Carmeli in Teater Shpigl [Le miroir du théâtre], ed. Aaron Poliakoff, no.1, p. 12, April 1951., probably after medical studies in Switzerland for a year or two as well as studying dramatic arts in Kiev[2]«Henri Gerro [Henryk Roizman] » http://yiddishmusic.jewniverse.info/gerrohenri/index.html. At the end of the 1940s, he applied for political asylum in France.

Composer and singer, violinist and actor, he performed and recorded between 1947 and 1951, notably with Henryk Gold’s and Bernard Potock’s orchestras. After a two-year contract in Buenos Aires and meeting in 1951 the actress and singer Rosita Londner, who was to become his wife in 1953, he settled in Argentina.

Rosita Londner was born in Warsaw, but her parents had emigrated to Argentina while she was only several months old. In Argentina, she worked for the Mitre Theatre in Buenos Ares and performed with other prestigious Yiddish actors such as Dina Halperin, Mijl Mijalesco, Benzion Witler, Shifra Lerer, Dzigan and Shumacher, Jennie Lowitz, Meier Zelniker and others.[3]«Rosita Londner – biography » http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1428970/bio

After their marriage, Henri Gerro and Rosita Londner, nicknamed “The stars of Jewish vaudeville and music hall”, began performing in numerous countries. They played especially in London and Paris, in South Africa, Scandinavia, Israel, and throughout the American continent.[4]Ibid.

Henri Gerro died on October 17, 1980 in Buenos Aires

Browse our archives on Henri Gerro

Purchase the CD Jewish Music in Paris in the Aftermath of WWII

Introduction : Warsche by Benny Bell
01:27​ Dave Cash
03:48​ Bernard Potock
05:58​ Sarah Gorby
08:27​ Ben Baruch
12:04​ Henri Gerro
15:38​ Richard Inger
19:02​ The other artists from the music label

References
1 Interview by A. Carmeli in Teater Shpigl [Le miroir du théâtre], ed. Aaron Poliakoff, no.1, p. 12, April 1951.
2 «Henri Gerro [Henryk Roizman] » http://yiddishmusic.jewniverse.info/gerrohenri/index.html
3 «Rosita Londner – biography » http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1428970/bio
4 Ibid.

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Gerro, Henri (vers 1919-1980)

logo bio Henri Gerro

Henri Gerro (Roizman) naît le 31 Août 1919, à Rovno (province de Volhynie), aujourd’hui en Ukraine. Il commence à se produire dès l’âge de 12 ans sur les scènes de Pologne.

Après-guerre, il émigre à Paris[1]Interview par A. Carmeli dans Teater Shpigl [Le miroir du théâtre] (ed. Aaron Poliakoff), n. 1, p. 12, avril 1951., probablement après avoir étudié la médecine en Suisse pendant un ou deux ans, ainsi que les arts dramatiques à Kiev[2]«Henri Gerro [Henryk Roizman] » http://yiddishmusic.jewniverse.info/gerrohenri/index.html.

À la fin des années 1940, il demande l’asile politique en France. Compositeur et chanteur, violoniste et acteur, il joue et enregistre entre 1947 et 1951 notamment avec les orchestres d’Henryk Gold et Bernard Potock. Après un contrat de deux ans à Buenos Aires, et la rencontre avec la comédienne et chanteuse Rosita Londner en 1951, qui deviendra sa femme en 1953, il s’installe en Argentine.

Rosita Londner est née à Varsovie, mais ses parents ont émigrés en Argentine alors qu’elle n’avait que quelques mois. Dans ce pays, elle travaillait pour le théâtre Mitre à Buenos Aires et se produit avec d’autres acteurs yiddish prestigieux, comme Dina Halperin, Mijl Mijalesco, Benzion Witler, Shifra Lerer, Dzigan et Shumacher, Jennie Lowitz, Meier Zelniker et d’autres[3]«Rosita Londner – biography » http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1428970/bio.

Après leur mariage, Henri Gerro et Rosita Londner, surnommés «Les stars du vaudeville et du music-hall juif», commencent à se produire dans de nombreux pays. Ils jouent notamment à Londres, Paris, en Afrique du Sud, en Scandinavie, en Israël, et dans tout le continent américain[4]Ibid..

Henri Gerro meurt le 17 octobre 1980, à Buenos Aires.

Consulter nos archives sur Henri Gerro

Commander le CD Musiques juives dans le Paris d’après-guerre – Elesdisc 1948-1953

Introduction : Warsche de Benny Bell
01:27​ Dave Cash
03:48​ Bernard Potock
05:58​ Sarah Gorby
08:27​ Ben Baruch
12:04​ Henri Gerro
15:38​ Richard Inger
19:02​ Les autres artistes du label

References
1 Interview par A. Carmeli dans Teater Shpigl [Le miroir du théâtre] (ed. Aaron Poliakoff), n. 1, p. 12, avril 1951.
2 «Henri Gerro [Henryk Roizman] » http://yiddishmusic.jewniverse.info/gerrohenri/index.html
3 «Rosita Londner – biography » http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1428970/bio
4 Ibid.

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…