The Music of the Jews in Italy: A Short Introduction

By Francesco Spagnolo (University of California, Berkeley)

The history of Jewish music in Italy is long, fascinating, and filled with contradictions. Length is due to the very history of Italian Jewry, whose origins go back more than 2,000 years. Fascination stems from the global meeting of the music of the Jewish Diasporas in the early-modern period, an unprecedented interaction among distinct Italian, Ashkenazi, and Sephardic traditions with Italian musical culture and its innumerable cultural, regional, and linguistic differences. The contradictions concern the many identities, visible and invisible, of the Jews of Italy: the secrecy of ghettos, places of exclusion, and also of explosive musical ferments emblematically represented in the works of Salamone Rossi (ca. 1570-1630, active in Mantua at the Gonzaga court); the conflicts and the hidden consonances between Judaism and Christianity, and the distance between the liturgy of the Church and that of the synagogue, at once brief and unattainable; the integration, and the cultural symbiosis, of Jews and Italy, a shared feeling so beautifully expressed in Giuseppe Verdi’s Nabucco (1842), a biblical parable of exile, emancipation, and national unification; and, finally, the tragic character of the Fascist parable, which ended in the Holocaust, and the destruction of Italian synagogue life. But the main contradiction that characterizes Jewish music in Italy is that, despite its undisputable richness, it is a phenomenon still relatively obscure to the scholars of Judaism. Musicologists and cultural historians often know very little about the musical traditions of the Italian Jews, and struggle to grasp a cultural landscape made of Chinese box-like specificities, in which Judaism and italianità (“Italian-ness”) blend seamlessly.


Musical sources documenting the development of Jewish liturgical music in Italy prior to the 19th century are rare, precious, and extremely fragmentary. Indeed, the earliest known Jewish musical source – the manuscript notations produced in the 12th century by Johannes, or Obadiah “the Norman Proselyte,” a native of Oppido Lucano (Fragment Cambridge TS. K 5/41 and Fragment Cincinnati ENA 4096b) – stems from Italy, and so do many a musical transcription (often focusing on the oral traditions for chanting the Torah) by Christian humanists from the 16th century onwards, such as those published by Giulio Bartolocci (1613–1687) in Bibliotheca magna Rabbinica (volume 4, 1693).

These fragments were followed in the 17th and 18th centuries by full-fledged compositions for the synagogue by Jewish (Salamone Rossi, hashirim asher li-shelomoh, Venice 1622-23) and non-Jewish (Carlo Grossi, Cantata hebraica in dialogo, Modena or Venice, before 1682; and Christian Joseph Lidarti, Oratorio Ester, 1774) composers, or by Jewish and non-Jewish musical collaborators working closely together. Among the latter are the transcriptions of 11 synagogue songs from the oral traditions of Venice, published by Benedetto Marcello (1686-1739) in his collection, Estro poetico-armonico: Parafrasi sopra li salmi (Venice, 1724–1727); three extant anonymous Hebrew oratorios for the Festival of Hoshana Rabbah in Casale Monferrato (1732, 1733, 1735), and the music for the inauguration of the synagogue of Siena in 1786, which was the work of a Christian professional, Francesco Drei, and a Jewish amateur, Volunio (Zevulun) Gallichi. Many, if not all, of these compositions are connected to Kabbalistic rituals, which often attracted the interest and the curiosity of non-Jewish synagogue-goers across the early-modern period.

During the 19th and 20th centuries, the role of music in Italian Jewish evolved in many directions, bridging a host of diverse musical worlds, including liturgical, art, and popular music, and spanning from the intimate sphere of the synagogue to the realm of public performance. In this period of time, Italian Jews were confronted with a number of challenges: the transition from segregation in the ghettos to social and political Emancipation; the formation of a new national identity during the Risorgimento; urbanization and the eclipse of the many small communities that for centuries had animated the Italian Jewish experience; the anti-Semitic legislations and persecutions during the Second World War; the reconstruction of Jewish communal life after the Holocaust, the immigration of Jewish groups from North Africa and the Middle East following the creation of the State of Israel; and, by the end of the 20th century, the emergence of a “virtual Jewish culture” through increased participation of non-Jews in the creation of cultural (especially musical) products that mainstream culture views as Jewish.

In the 19th century, music composition increased dramatically, and virtually every Italian congregation commissioned and collected tens of new polyphonic compositions specifically devoted to synagogue worship.

These musical manuscripts represent a synagogue sound reminiscent of several non-Jewish musical worlds: arias and recitatives evoking Opera (and operetta); the liturgy of the Catholic Church; and the revolutionary hymns of the Risorgimento: all sung by small choirs of children and adults (at times also including women), and accompanied by the organ or, depending on the space and the resources made available by each synagogue, by the harmonium. The names of the composers, and often of the performers, appear together with the scores.

Among them were local Jewish amateurs, whose desire to write and perform music was often accompanied by monetary donations to the community; Jewish professionals (Michele Bolaffi and David Garzia in Livorno; Bonaiut Treves and Ezechiello Levi in Vercelli; Giacomo Levi in Florence and Turin;  Settimio Scazzocchio, Saul Di Capua and Amadio Disegni in Rome; Alberto Zellman in Trieste; Benedetto Franchetti in Mantua; Sabato Errera in Verona; Vittorio Orefice in Padua; Vittorio Norsa in Milan, and many, many others); and non-Jewish instrumentalists and composers, whose varying professional backgrounds ranged from experience with the Catholic Church (Eugenio Testa in Casale Monferrato), to the composition of music for official circumstances (G. Smoltz, also in Casale Monferrato), to Opera, as in the emblematic case of Carlo Pedrotti (1817-1893), a central figure in 19th-century European musical theater, whose works for the synagogue served both the community of his hometown, Verona, and the synagogues of Piedmont during his tenure as director of Turin’s Teatro Regio (1868-1882).

Musical composition for the synagogue continued well into the 20th century, when female and mixed-gendered synagogue choirs became increasingly more popular, but came to an almost complete halt after WW2, when choirs and organs were progressively abandoned, with the notable exception of Rome, where synagogue choral music and composition continue to thrive to this day.

Since the late 19th century, individual musicians and researchers began transcribing, and later recording synagogue melodies, leaving them in manuscript form (Marco Amar in Alessandria, David Ghiron in Casale Monferrato, Amadio Disegni in Rome), and in some cases publishing them in articles and books (Federico Consolo on Livorno, 1892; Elio Piattelli on Rome, Piedmont and Florence, 1967, 1986 and 1992). The field recordings made during the 1950’s by the Italian Israeli researcher, Leo Levi (1912-1982), allow to reconstruct a soundscape involving musical testimonies from 27 distinct liturgical traditions, preserved in Italian, Ashkenazi and Sephardic Jewish communities across Italy. These ethnographic forays attempted to capture the traces of progressively disappearing oral traditions: by the end of the 20th century, of the 108 synagogues active across the Peninsula (documented in a 1865-1866 survey), only a handful of Jewish communities still maintained an independent living oral tradition.

More about Italian Jewish Music

Share:

You may also like

From the Carpathians to the Balkans – A musical escapade from West to East by Kalarash & Guests

June 16, 2024, 6pm, Espace Rachi (Paris 5e), Concert FROM THE CARPATES TO THE BALKANS - A musical escapade from…

Klezmer ball workshop by the Kalarash group

June 16, 2024, 11am to 1pm at Espace Rachi (Paris 5e), Klezmer Ball workshop by the group Kalarash, proposed by…

Yerushalayim shel zahav (Jerusalem of Gold)

This playlist features 12 versions of Naomi Shemer's famous song, Jerusalem of Gold (ירושלים של זהב - Yerushalayim shel zahav),…

Shemer, Naomi (1930 – 2004)

Considered a leading Israeli singer-songwriter and poet, Naomi Shemer was born on July 13, 1930 in Kvutzat Kinneret, a kibbutz…

La musique des Juifs en Italie : Une brève introduction

Par Francesco Spagnolo (Université de Californie, Berkeley)

L’histoire de la musique juive en Italie est à la fois ancienne, complexe et pleine de paradoxes. D’un point de vue historique, les origines du judaïsme italien remontent à plus de 2 000 ans. Mais durant les derniers siècles de l’ère moderne, cette histoire s’est complexifiée avec l’implantation sur le sol italien de communautés ashkénazes et séfarades, avec pour conséquences de multiples interactions entre les traditions italiennes, ashkénazes et séfarades et la culture musicale italienne, elle-même caractérisée par de nombreuses différences culturelles, régionales et linguistiques entre les régions. Les paradoxes – quant à eux – concernent les nombreuses « identités », visibles et invisibles, des Juifs d’Italie : le secret des ghettos, lieux d’exclusion, mais aussi de créations musicales étonnantes représentées de manière emblématique dans les œuvres de Salamone Rossi (ca. 1570-1630, actif à Mantoue à la cour des Gonzague) ; les conflits et les convergences cachées entre le judaïsme et le christianisme, et la différence entre la liturgie de l’Église et celle de la synagogue, à la fois ténue et inaccessible ; l’intégration et la symbiose culturelle entre les Juifs et l’Italie, un sentiment partagé qu’exprime magnifiquement l’opéra Nabucco de Giuseppe Verdi (1842), une parabole biblique de l’exil, de l’émancipation et de l’unification nationale ; et, enfin, le caractère tragique de la parenthèse fasciste, qui a abouti à l’Holocauste et à la destruction de la vie synagogale italienne. Mais le principal paradoxe qui caractérise la musique juive en Italie est que, malgré sa richesse incontestable, elle constitue un phénomène encore relativement obscur pour les spécialistes du judaïsme. Les musicologues et les historiens de la culture connaissent souvent très peu les traditions musicales des Juifs italiens et peinent à appréhender un paysage culturel dans lequel judaïsme et “Italianité” se mélangent harmonieusement.


Les sources musicales qui témoignent du développement de la musique liturgique juive en Italie avant le XIXe siècle sont rares, précieuses et extrêmement fragmentaires. En effet, la plus ancienne source musicale juive connue – des notations manuscrites du XIIe siècle par Johannes, ou Obadiah “le prosélyte normand”, originaire d’Oppido Lucano (Fragment Cambridge TS. K 5/41 et Fragment Cincinnati ENA 4096b) – provient d’Italie, tout comme de nombreuses transcriptions musicales (souvent axées sur les traditions orales de chant de la Torah) réalisées par des humanistes chrétiens à partir du XVIe siècle, telles que celles publiées par Giulio Bartolocci (1613-1687) dans Bibliotheca magna Rabbinica (volume 4, 1693).

Ces notations fragmentaires ont été suivies aux XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles par des œuvres synagogales, écrites par des compositeurs juifs (Salamone Rossi, Hashirim asher li-shelomoh, Venise 1622-23) et non juifs (Carlo Grossi, Cantata hebraica in dialogo, Modène ou Venise, avant 1682 ; et le chrétien Joseph Lidarti, Oratorio Ester, 1774), ou par des musiciens juifs et non juifs qui travaillaient en étroite collaboration. Parmi ces derniers, on peut citer les transcriptions de 11 chants synagogaux issus de la tradition orale de Venise, publiés par Benedetto Marcello (1686-1739) dans son recueil Estro poetico-armonico : Parafrasi sopra li salmi (Venise, 1724-1727) ; trois oratorios hébraïques anonymes pour la fête de Hoshana Rabbah à Casale Monferrato (1732, 1733, 1735), et la musique pour l’inauguration de la synagogue de Sienne en 1786, œuvre d’un musicien professionnel chrétien, Francesco Drei, et d’un amateur juif, Volunio (Zevulun) Gallichi. Nombre de ces compositions, sinon toutes, sont liées à des rituels kabbalistiques, qui ont souvent suscité l’intérêt et la curiosité des non-Juifs fréquentant les synagogues au XVIIIe siècle, le siècle des Lumières.

Au cours des XIXe et XXe siècles, le rôle de la musique dans le judaïsme italien a évolué dans de nombreuses directions, reliant des mondes musicaux fort différents, tels que la musique liturgique, artistique et populaire, et s’étendant de la sphère intime de la synagogue au domaine de l’interprétation publique. Au cours de cette période, les Juifs italiens ont été confrontés à un certain nombre de défis : la transition de la ségrégation dans les ghettos à l’émancipation sociale et politique ; la formation d’une nouvelle identité nationale pendant le Risorgimento ; l’urbanisation et l’éclipse des nombreuses petites communautés qui, pendant des siècles, avaient animé la vie juive italienne ; les législations antisémites et les persécutions durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale ; la reconstruction de la vie communautaire juive après l’Holocauste, l’immigration de Juifs d’Afrique du Nord et du Moyen-Orient après la création de l’État d’Israël et, à la fin du XXe siècle, l’émergence d’une “culture juive virtuelle” grâce à la participation accrue de non-Juifs à la création de produits culturels (en particulier musicaux) que la culture dominante considère comme juifs. Au XIXe siècle, la composition musicale a connu un essor spectaculaire, et pratiquement toutes les communautés italiennes ont commandé et rassemblé des dizaines de nouvelles compositions polyphoniques spécifiquement consacrées au culte synagogal.

Ces manuscrits musicaux reflètent un univers sonore synagogal qui rappelle de nombreux mondes musicaux non juifs : des arias et des récitatifs évoquent l’opéra (et l’opérette), la liturgie de l’Église catholique et les hymnes révolutionnaires du Risorgimento, tous chantés par de petits ensembles vocaux d’enfants et d’adultes (parfois aussi de femmes), et accompagnés par l’orgue ou, selon l’espace et les ressources disponibles dans chaque synagogue, par l’harmonium. Les noms des compositeurs, et souvent des interprètes, apparaissent sur les partitions.

On trouve parmi eux des amateurs juifs locaux, dont le désir d’écrire et de jouer de la musique s’accompagnait souvent de dons en argent à la communauté ; des musiciens professionnels juifs (Michele Bolaffi et David Garzia à Livourne ; Bonaiut Treves et Ezechiello Levi à Vercelli ; Giacomo Levi à Florence et à Turin ; Settimio Scazzocchio, Saul Di Capua et Amadio Disegni à Rome ; Alberto Zellman à Trieste ; Benedetto Franchetti à Mantoue ; Sabato Errera à Vérone ; Vittorio Orefice à Padoue ; Vittorio Norsa à Milan, et bien d’autres encore) ; et des instrumentistes et compositeurs non juifs, qui écrivaient aussi bien de la musique pour l’Église catholique (Eugenio Testa à Casale Monferrato) que des compositions pour des cérémonies officielles (G. Smoltz, également à Casale Monferrato), où des œuvres d’opéra, comme en témoigne le cas emblématique de Carlo Pedrotti (1817-1893), figure centrale du théâtre musical européen du XIXe siècle, dont les œuvres synagogales ont été utilisées à la fois par la communauté de sa ville natale, Vérone, et par les synagogues du Piémont lorsqu’il était directeur du Teatro Regio de Turin (1868-1882).

La production de musique synagogale s’est poursuivie pendant une bonne partie du XXe siècle, lorsque les chœurs de synagogue féminins et mixtes sont devenus de plus en plus populaires, mais elle s’est presque complètement arrêtée après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, lorsque les chœurs et les orgues ont été progressivement abandonnés, à l’exception notable de Rome, où la musique chorale synagogale et la composition continuent de prospérer jusqu’à aujourd’hui.

Depuis la fin du XIXe siècle, des musiciens et des chercheurs ont commencé à transcrire, puis à enregistrer les mélodies des synagogues, en les gardant sous forme manuscrite (Marco Amar à Alessandria, David Ghiron à Casale Monferrato, Amadio Disegni à Rome). Certaines mélodies ont toutefois été publiées dans des articles et des livres (Federico Consolo sur Livourne, 1892 ; Elio Piattelli à Rome, au Piémont et à Florence, 1967, 1986 et 1992). Les enregistrements de terrain réalisés dans les années 1950 par le chercheur italo-israélien Leo Levi (1912-1982) ont permis de reconstituer un paysage sonore incluant des musiques de 27 traditions liturgiques distinctes, conservées dans des communautés juives italiennes, ashkénazes et sépharades à travers l’Italie. Ces recherches ethnographiques ont tenté de saisir les vestiges de traditions orales en voie de disparition progressive : à la fin du XXe siècle, sur les 108 synagogues actives dans la péninsule (recensées dans une enquête réalisée en 1865-1866), seule une poignée de communautés juives conservait encore une tradition orale vivante et distincte.

Lire d’autres articles sur les musiques juives italiennes

Partager :

Vous aimerez aussi

Darius Milhaud et ses œuvres inspirées de la tradition juive

Compositeur issu d’une vieille famille juive du Comtat Venaissin, Darius Milhaud (1892-1974) est l’auteur d’une œuvre prolifique comportant une quarantaine…

Le triptyque Darius Milhaud

Le Samedi 29 juin 2024, 18h30 - Salle du Moulin Saint-Julien, à Cavaillon (84300), une soirée-événement dans le cadre des…

Des Carpates aux Balkans – Une escapade musicale d’Ouest en Est par le duo Kalarash & ses invités

Le 16 juin 2024, à 18h, à l'Espace Rachi (Paris 5e), Concert Des Carpates aux Balkans – Une escapade musicale d’Ouest en…