Baroque Jewish Music

By Hervé Roten

Unlike various popular beliefs, Jews from Italy, Provence or even Amsterdam had a perfect knowledge concerning Art Music in the Christian world. Young Italian Jews in the 15th century went to music and dance schools. 

In the 16th century and in the beginning of the 17th century, the ducal palace of the Gonzaga family of Mantua received Jewish musicians, among them Salomone Rossi (ca 1570 – ca 1630), who published in 1622-23 a first collection of 33 choruses in Hebrew for the synagogue of Mantua.

Around 1680, Carlo Grossi composed a cantata for a Jewish brotherhood of Modène or Venice. In 1732, 1773 and 1735, three cantatas were performed in the small synagogue of Casale Monferrato.

At the end of the 17th century, a Jewish dignitary from the Comtat Venaissin, strongly hoping for a male heir, ordered from the Christian composer Louis Saladin an “Entertainment for a circumcision” for solo, four voice chorus and orchestra! In Bordeaux and Amsterdam, the Portuguese Jews enjoyed and played the music of their time.

In the 18th century in Amsterdam, the sumptuous salons of wealthy Portuguese Jewish families were the home for opera and cantata concerts, musical styles that entered in the synagogues with the works of Abraham Caceres and Cristiano Giuseppe Lidarti, who wrote in 1774 Esther’s oratorio, the longest piece of music (two hours!) in the entire history of Baroque Jewish music. 

doc_3_baroque500px.jpg

emission_de_radio_55_.jpgListen to the radio show: Baroque Jewish Music, hosted by Hervé Roten

emission_de_radio_55_.jpgListen to the radio show: the Hidden Sides of Jewish Music: Baroque Jewish Music, hosted by Hélène Engel

playlist_30_.jpgListen to the playlist: Baroque Jewish Music (part 1)

playlist_30_.jpg

Listen to the playlist: Baroque Jewish Music (part 2)

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

La musique juive baroque

par Hervé Roten

Contrairement à certaines idées reçues, les juifs italiens, provençaux ou encore amstellodamois avaient une parfaite connaissance de la musique savante du monde chrétien. Les jeunes Juifs italiens du 15e siècle fréquentaient les écoles de musique et de danse.

Aux 16e et au début du 17e siècle, la cour ducale des Gonzague de Mantoue accueillait les musiciens juifs, parmi eux Salomon Rossi (ca 1570 – ca 1630) qui édite en 1622-23 un premier recueil de 33 chœurs en hébreu pour la doc_1_baroque_45.jpgsynagogue de Mantoue.

Vers 1680, Carlo Grossi écrit une cantate pour une confrérie juive de Modène ou Venise. En 1332, 1733 et 1735, trois cantates sont données dans la petite synagogue de Casale Monferrato.

Vers la fin du 17e siècle, un notable juif du Comtat Venaissin, espérant fortement la venue d’un héritier mâle, commande au compositeur chrétien Louis Saladin un « Divertissement pour une circoncision » pour solistes, chœur à quatre voix et orchestre ! A Bordeaux et à Amsterdam, les Juifs portugais apprécient et jouent la musique de leur temps.

Au 18e siècle, à Amsterdam, les somptueux salons des familles riches juives portugaises abritent des concerts d’opéras et de cantates, genres qui pénètrent jusque dans la synagogue avec les œuvres d’Abraham Caceres et Cristiano Giuseppe Lidarti, qui écrit en 1774 l’oratorio Ester, l’œuvre la plus longue (deux heures !) de toute l’histoire de la musique juive baroque.

doc_3_baroque500px.jpg

emission_de_radio_55_.jpgÉcouter l’émission de radio : Musiques juives baroques, présentée par Hervé Roten

emission_de_radio_55_.jpgÉcouter l’émission de radio : Les faces cachées de la musique juive : Musiques Juives Baroques, présentée par Hélène Engel

playlist_30_.jpgEcouter la playlist : Musique juive baroque (partie 1)

playlist_30_.jpg

Ecouter la playlist : Musique juive baroque (partie 2)

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…