Lidarti, Cristiano Giuseppe (1730-after 1793)

logo bio Lidarti

A composer born in Vienna who spent a large part of his life in Italy, Lidarti was the author of several Hebrew works, including the famous oratorio Ester, the longest and richest composition of all the Hebrew art music in the 17th and 18th centuries.

Cristiano Giuseppe Lidarti, of Italian origin, was born in Vienna in 1730. Educated by the Jesuits, he studied philosophy and law at the University of Vienna. As a child, he took harp and harpsichord lessons but did not formally study the composition, although his uncle, Giuseppe Bonno, was Kappelmeister at the Imperial Court. In order to correct a certain dilettantism his uncle advised him to study the theoreticians of traditional classical music. At the age of 21 or 22, Lidarti left for Italy with the intention of studying with Jomelli. These projects were not realized, Lidarti lived for some time in Venice and Florence, then worked as a music teacher in Cortona for five years and finally got a position as a musician (double bass / cello) in the chapel of Cavalieri di St. Stefano in Pisa, a position that he kept for nearly forty years. In the meantime he was admitted to the prestigious Accademia Filarmonica in Bologna and Modena. Lidarti, according to his own testimony, abandoned to maturity “the sublime and fugued style” that he practiced during his youth, and adopted the “simple and melodic” gallant style, developed at the time in Italy and characteristic of the preclassical period . The exact date of Lidarti’s death is not known – his last composition dates from 1793 and his name disappears from the salary list of the Cavalieri di St. Stefano chapel after February 15, 1794.

Lidarti was one of the two leading composers of the 18th century who worked for the Portuguese Jewish community in Amsterdam (the other being the Jewish composer Abraham Caceres). His name appeared for the first time in the register of the Portuguese Jewish community of Amsterdam around 1770. The known Hebrew pieces of Lidarti include the solo cantatas Bo’i be-shalom and Kol ha-neshama, the duet Ha-mesiah illemim, the choral pieces Be-fi yesharim and Nora elohim, all preserved in manuscript form at the Ets Haim’s community library and especially the Ester oratorio which remains to this day the longest and richest Hebrew work of all the art music of the 17th and 18th centuries.

Sources

  • Israel Adler, La pratique musicale savante dans quelques communautés juives en Europe aux XVIIème et XVIIIème siècles, Mouton & Co, 1966, pp. 189-236.
  • Leaflet of the double CD Cristiano Giuseppe Lidarti, Esther, Orchestre National de Montpellier, choeur de la radio lettone, Friedemann Layer direction, Euterpe, 2003.

Learn more on Esther’s oratorio
Watch excerpts from the Oratorio of Ester
Watch an excerpt of the concert of Baroque Jewish Music, tribute to Israel Adler
Look at other documents related to Baroque Jewish Music
Listen and order the CD Baroque jewish Music

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Lidarti, Cristiano Giuseppe (1730-après 1793)

logo bio Lidarti

Compositeur né à Vienne mais ayant passé une grande partie de sa vie en Italie, Lidarti est l’auteur de plusieurs pièces hébraïques, dont le célèbre oratorio Ester, la composition la plus longue et la plus riche de toute la musique hébraïque savante des 17ème et 18ème siècles.

Cristiano Giuseppe Lidarti, d’origine italienne, est né à Vienne en 1730. Eduqué chez les Jésuites, il étudia la philosophie et le droit à l’université de Vienne. Enfant, il prit des cours de harpe et de clavecin mais n’étudia pas la composition de manière formelle, bien que son oncle, Giuseppe Bonno, soit Kappelmeister à la Cour impériale. Afin de corriger un certain dilettantisme son oncle lui conseilla d’étudier les théoriciens de la musique classique traditionnelle. A l’âge de 21 ou 22 ans, Lidarti partit pour l’Italie avec l’intention d’étudier avec Jomelli. Ces projets ne se réalisant pas, Lidarti vécut quelque temps à Venise et Florence, travailla ensuite comme professeur de musique à Cortona pendant cinq ans et finit par obtenir un poste d’instrumentiste (contrebasse/violoncelle) dans la chapelle des Cavalieri di St. Stefano à Pise, qu’il garda pendant près de quarante ans. Entre-temps il fut admis à la prestigieuse Accademia Filarmonica de Bologne et de Modène. Lidarti, selon son propre témoignage, abandonna à la maturité « le style sublime et fugué » qu’il pratiquait durant sa jeunesse, et adopta le « style galant » simple et mélodique, développé à l’époque en Italie et caractéristique de la période préclassique. La date exacte de la mort de Lidarti n’est pas connue – sa dernière composition date de 1793 et son nom disparaît de la liste des salaires de la chapelle des Cavalieri di St. Stefano après le 15 février 1794.

Lidarti est l’un des deux principaux compositeurs du 18ème siècle ayant œuvré pour la communauté juive portugaise d’Amsterdam (l’autre étant le compositeur juif Abraham Caceres). Son nom apparaît pour la première fois dans le registre de la communauté juive portugaise d’Amsterdam autour de 1770. Les pièces hébraïques connues de Lidarti comprennent les cantates solo Bo’i be-shalom et Kol ha-neshama, le duo Ha-mesiah illemim, les pièces pour chœur Be-fi yesharim et Nora elohim, toutes conservées sous forme de manuscrit à la bibliothèque Ets Haim de la communauté et surtout l’oratorio Ester qui demeure à ce jour l’oeuvre hébraïque la plus longue et la plus riche de toute la musique savante des 17ème et 18ème siècles.

Sources

  • Israel Adler, La pratique musicale savante dans quelques communautés juives en Europe aux XVIIème et XVIIIème siècles, Mouton & Co, 1966, pp. 189-236.
  • Livret du double CD Cristiano Giuseppe Lidarti, Esther, Orchestre National de Montpellier, choeur de la radio lettone, Friedemann Layer direction, Euterpe, 2003.

En savoir plus sur l’oratorio Ester
Visionner des extraits de l’Oratorio d’Ester
Visionner un extrait du concert de musiques juives baroques, en hommage à Israel Adler
Consulter d’autres contenus sur les musiques juives baroques
Ecouter et commander le CD Musiques juives baroques

Vous aimerez aussi

LES GRANDS RÉCITALS DE PIANO DE COPERNIC

DIMITRI MALIGNAN JS BACH  Prélude et Fugue n° 16 en sol mineur, BWV 885 (2ème livre du Clavier bien tempéré)…

Caïn & Abel

CAÏN & ABEL : SCÈNE BIBLIQUE EN MUSIQUE EN HÉBREU SUR LES VERSETS ORIGINAUX DE LA BIBLE ITAÏ DANIEL, COMPOSITEUR…

Fonds Jacinta

Déposé à l’IEMJ en mai 2022 par l’artiste, le fonds d’archives de Jacinta comporte une quarantaine de photographies, de sa…

Jacinta, entre chansons yiddish, judéo-espagnole et tango

Dans la série « Parcours de vie », découvrez la personnalité attachante de Jacinta, une interprète d’origine argentine qui chante…