Israël Lovy (1773-1852)

Initiator of the reforming of the French Jewish cult in the beginning of the 19th century

Listen to the works of Israël Lovy, initiator of the reforming of the French Jewish cult in the beginning of the 19th century

Coming from a lineage of cantors from Poland and Pomerania, Israël Lovy, born on August 31, 1773, near Dantzig (Germany), was one of the forerunners of the reforming of the French Jewish cult.

Hired in 1818 by the Consistoire of Paris, he became chief cantor of the new temple on rue Notre Dame de Nazareth in 1822. During ten years he organized the musical cult of this first consistorial temple by introducing many musical items from classical music (choral singing accompanied by the organ, composition of new songs in major or minor mode, etc.).

Hit by a breast disease, he died prematurely on January 7, 1832, at the age of 59.

According to his grand-son Eugène Emmanuel, Israël Lovy created for the new consistorial cult « a choral composed of fifteen to twenty young children, completed with his singing helpers. In addition to the melodies that he brought from Germany, he composed new songs for all the different ceremonies. At the same time, he collaborated with the notables of the Consistoire, to settle the ceremonial aspects of the reading of the holy books, of the Torah and of the major holidays of the year. » *

Read the complete biography of Israël Lovy


* Cf. Eugène Manuel, biographical notice on Israël Lovy, which was used as a forward to the collection of Religious Songs composed for Hebrew prayres by I. L., former cantor of the Jewish Temple of Paris, published by his family, for the administration of the Jewish Temple of Paris and to the Ménestrel, 1862, 159 p.

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Israël Lovy (1773-1852)

Réformateur de la musique consistoriale française au début du 19ème siècle

Ecoutez les œuvres d’Israël Lovy, initiateur de la réforme du culte israélite français au début du 19ème siècle

Issu d’une lignée de chantres de Pologne et de Poméranie, Israël Lovy, né le 31 août 1773 près de Dantzig (Allemagne), est l’un des précurseurs de la réforme du culte israélite français.

Engagé en 1818 par le Consistoire de Paris, puis confirmé comme ministre officiant en chef du nouveau temple de la rue Notre Dame de Nazareth en 1822, Israël Lovy a structuré durant 10 ans le culte musical du premier temple consistorial de Paris, en introduisant notamment de nombreux éléments musicaux empruntés à la musique classique (chant choral polyphonique, accompagnement de l’orgue, régulation du cérémonial, composition de nouveaux chants en majeur ou mineur, etc.).

Atteint d’une maladie de poitrine, il décéda prématurément le 7 janvier 1832, à l’âge de 59 ans.

Selon son petit-fils Eugène Emmanuel, Israël Lovy créa pour le nouveau culte consistorial « un chœur composé de quinze ou vingt jeunes enfants, auquel il adjoignit ses aides-chanteurs. Outre les mélodies qu’il avait apportées d’Allemagne, il composa des chants nouveaux pour toutes les cérémonies. En même temps, il contribua, de concert avec les notables du Consistoire à régler le cérémonial de la lecture des livres saints, de la sortie du Pentateuque, et celui des grandes fêtes de l’année. » *

Consulter la biographie complète d’Israël Lovy


* Cf. Eugène Manuel, Notice biographique sur Israël Lovy, servant de préface au recueil Chants religieux composés pour les prières hébraïques par I. L., ancien ministre-officiant du Temple Israélite de Paris, publié par sa famille, Paris, à l’administration du Temple Israélite de Paris et au Ménestrel, 1862, 159 p.

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…