Michel Heymann has entrusted his entire music archives to the EIJM

Michel Heymann is one of the last holders of the Achkenazi liturgy of the Rhine Valley. Born in 1952 in Strasbourg, he learned the liturgy from Bertrand Joseph, a former officiating minister in Strasbourg. He was then one of the last students of the Pedagogy and Liturgy section of the Séminaire Israélite de France before it closed in 1973. At the age of 21, in September 1973, he was appointed to Haguenau, a position he left for Mulhouse in 1980. He officiated for twelve years in this city and recorded cassettes and compact discs with the aim of preserving the liturgy of Alsace, before being hired by the Community of Luxembourg, where he created a choir that sometimes accompanied him during Shabbat services and feasts during the 30 years of his ministry.

Front of the Luxembourg Synagogue

Having retired in 2017, Michel Heymann wanted to give the EIJM all of his musical archives accumulated during his long career. This very important collection includes several hundred rare and precious documents, including collections of printed or handwritten scores dating from the 19th century, hundreds of recordings of music (liturgical concerts, ceremonies, services…) and dozens of video cassettes.

The Michel Heymann archives, which we brought back from Luxembourg, arrived at the IEMJ on December 8, 2022. This collection, which is currently being inventoried, will probably require a good year of work before it can be made available online.

By entrusting us with his life’s work, Michel Heymann not only showed his confidence in us, but also implicitly committed us to passing on to future generations the Alsatian liturgy which is unfortunately now in danger of disappearing.

An overview of Michel Heymann’s archives

You may also like

Léon Algazi (1890-1971), a Jewish music pioneer in France

In the "Life Courses" series, Jacques Algazi (1934-2021) reveals the life of his father, Léon Algazi (1890-1971), a tireless intellectual…

Sefarad in the piano – Toni Costa

Inspired by Judeo-Spanish folk poetry, jazz, early music and the popular rhythms of flamenco, the pianist Toni Costa presents his…

Michel Heymann confie l’ensemble de ses archives musicales à l’IEMJ

Michel Heymann est l’un des derniers détenteurs de la liturgie achkenaze de la vallée du Rhin. Né en 1952 à Strasbourg, il a appris la liturgie auprès de Bertrand Joseph, ancien ministre officiant de Strasbourg. Il a ensuite été l’un des derniers élèves de la section Pédagogie et Liturgie du Séminaire Israélite de France avant sa fermeture en 1973. A l’âge de 21 ans, en septembre 1973, il est nommé à Haguenau, poste qu’il quittera pour Mulhouse en 1980. Il officiera durant douze ans dans cette cité et enregistrera cassettes et compact-discs dans le but de préserver la liturgie d’Alsace, avant d’être engagé par la Communauté de Luxembourg, dans laquelle il créera une chorale qui l’accompagnera parfois lors des offices de Shabbat et des fêtes durant les 30 ans de son mandat.

Façade Synagogue Luxembourg

Ayant pris sa retraite en 2017, Michel Heymann a souhaité remettre à l’IEMJ l’ensemble de ses archives musicales accumulées durant sa longue carrière. Ce fonds très important compte plusieurs centaines de documents rares et précieux, parmi lesquels des recueils de partitions, imprimées ou manuscrites, datant du 19e siècle, des centaines d’enregistrements de musiques (concerts liturgiques, cérémonies, offices…) et des dizaines de cassettes vidéo.

Les archives de Michel Heymann, que nous avons rapportées du Luxembourg, sont arrivées à l’IEMJ le 8 décembre 2022. Ce fonds, en cours d’inventaire, nécessitera selon toute vraisemblance une bonne année de travail avant de pouvoir être accessible en ligne.

En nous remettant l’œuvre d’une vie, Michel Heymann nous a non seulement témoigné sa confiance, mais nous a aussi implicitement chargés de transmettre aux générations futures la liturgie alsacienne qui tend aujourd’hui malheureusement à disparaître.

Un aperçu des archives de Michel Heymann

Vous aimerez aussi

Sephardic Pizmonim Project

Archives musicales numériques de la communauté séfarade d'Alep

Léon Algazi (1890-1971), un pionnier des musiques juives en France

Dans la série « Parcours de vie », Jacques Algazi (1934-2021) nous dévoile la vie de son père, Léon Algazi…

Heichal Menachem

(New York, Etats-Unis) Site Loubavitch donnant accès à plus de 500 nigounim traditionnels écoutables en ligne !

Sefarad in the piano – Toni Costa

Inspiré par la poésie populaire judéo-espagnole, le jazz, la musique ancienne et les rythmes populaires du flamenco, le pianiste Toni…