Sebban, Zabulon (1911-1983)

logo bio Zabulon Sebban

Biography written in French by his son Alain Sebban (translated by the EIJM)

Born on December 11, 1911 in Géryville, near Oran (Algeria), Zabulon Sebban lived a full life. With his wife, Odette Rachel Cherqui, he had seven children and was negotiator and manufacturer in Algiers for more than thirty years.

While he was a teenager, he followed the Rabbinical Seminary « Ets Haïm » in Algiers, and his classmates were to be the great Rabbis Meyer Jaïs (Paris), and Simon Morali (Nancy then Nice). With his masters, (the great Rabbi Dayan Isaac Hanoune, the great Rabbis Loufrani and Isaac Morali), he acquired a deep knowledge of sacred texts as well as an appetite for study.

zabulon_sebban_rabbin_luneville_1961-redimensionne_petit.jpgA volunteer cantor from 1927 to 1961 in the Great Termple of Algiers, then in the small synagogue of the rue Sainte, he excelled in traditional liturgy. Singing, sharing and teaching at the same time, that is what he used to do in particular, while he expressed, with silence or rhythm, this word or another (or even a syllable) in a sentence, which was important for a better understanding of the prayer. His soft, warm and modulated voice let us guess the origins of these melodies: Spain, Portugal, Morocco, Algiers…

Responsible for the several Talmud-Torah of Algiers, endangered by the National Liberation Front, he was forced to leave for France to build a new life. He would become minister of religion and military chaplain of the jails in Lunéville (1961 to 1970), then in Antibes, and would obtain the title of Rabbi in Dijon (1971 to 1978).

capture-19.jpgIn the last years of his life, he finished a remarkable work which made a book « Rimonim Ba-Pardès », « Verger des grenades » (Editions du Palio), inwhich he speaks of the great subjects of culture and philosophy of Jewish life. This book was put online by the Alliance Israélite Universelle on the network of Jewish libraries Rachel.
The songs available in this biography were recorded in his home and shows what he liked to pass on.

Zabulon Sebban died in Paris on October 13, 1983. He was buried in Lunéville. His wife died in February 1996 and was buried next to him.

 

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Sebban, Zabulon (1911-1983)

logo bio Zabulon Sebban

Biographie rédigée par son fils Alain Sebban

Né le 11 décembre 1911 à Géryville, près d’Oran (Algérie), Zabulon Sebban eut une vie bien remplie. Avec son épouse, Odette Rachel Cherqui, il eut sept enfants et fut, pendant plus de trente ans, négociant et industriel à Alger.

Lors de son adolescence, il avait suivi le Séminaire rabbinique « Ets Haïm » d’Alger, avec comme condisciples les futurs grands Rabbins Meyer Jaïs (Paris), et Simon Morali (Nancy puis Nice). Par ses maîtres, (le grand Rabbin Dayan Isaac Hanoune, les grands Rabbins Loufrani et Isaac Morali), il avait acquis une profonde connaissance des textes ainsi que le goût des études.

zabulon_sebban_rabbin_luneville_1961-redimensionne_petit.jpgHazzan bénévole de 1927 à 1961 au Grand Temple d’Alger, puis à la petite synagogue de la rue Sainte, il excellait dans la liturgie traditionnelle. Chanter partager et enseigner en même temps, c’était ce qu’il faisait notamment, lorsqu’il exprimait, par le silence ou le rythme, tel ou tel mot (voire une syllabe) dans une phrase, qui s’avérait particulièrement important pour la meilleure compréhension de la prière. Sa voix douce, chaude et modulée, nous laissait entrevoir les origines des mélodies : Espagne, Portugal, Maroc, Alger…

Responsable de la coordination des Talmud-Torah d’Alger, menacé par le FLN, il dut partir en France métropolitaine pour y construire une nouvelle vie. Il deviendra successivement Ministre du Culte et Aumônier militaire des prisons à Lunéville (1961 à 1970), puis à Antibes, et obtiendra le titre de Rabbin à Dijon (1971 à 1978).

capture-19.jpgLes toutes dernières années de sa vie, il achevait un travail remarquable qui a fait l’objet d’un ouvrage « Rimonim Ba-Pardès », « Verger des grenades » (Editions du Palio), traitant des grands thèmes de la culture, de la philosophie, de la vie juive. Cet ouvrage a été mis en ligne par l’Alliance Israélite Universelle sur le réseau des bibliothèques Rachel.
Les chants consultables dans cette biographie ont été enregistrés dans son foyer et témoignent de ce qu’il aimait transmettre.

Zabulon Sebban est décédé à Paris le 13 octobre 1983. Il est inhumé à Lunéville, rejoint par son épouse en février 1996.

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…