Tounsi, El Kahlaoui (1932-2000)

Jewish Tunisian singer, musician and producer

El Kahlaoui Tounsi, whose real name was Elie Touitou, was born in Tunis on January 24, 1932. He spent his childhood in the popular neighborhoods which had a strong artistic activity, and he was attracted very young to music and singing, with a preference for the rhythm, percussions and the darbukah.

When the Egyptian movie Rabha was screened in Tunis, the song Fadlak Ya Sayeg El Matar, performed by the Egyptian singer Mohamed El Kahlaoui, met a big success. Young Elie, who loved it, learned it and sang it for various occasions. Following this, friends of his pushed him to present himself at the Tunisian Radio. Elie performed the song Fadlak Ya Sayeg El Matar in its entirety and he was warmly encouraged by Abdelaziz Laroui, the host of the TV show Le Coin des Amateurs, who suggested him to call himself « El Kahlaoui Tounsi » from now on.

El Kahlaoui Tounsi started thus a musical carreer as a singer, and performed with the famous band of that time, such as the ones led by Kakino De PazCheikh El Asram and many others. He became famous and the public loved him. His beginnings in the Eastern singing, added to the Tunisian singing, allowed him to build a large repertoire. During his tours, in foreign countries, he focused on traditional and popular Tunisian songs.

By the end of 1948, he travelled to Paris to work as a percussionist with the Peters Sisters in the Folies Bergère, and tried a first musical adventure in France. In 1949, he returned to Tunisia where he learned Eastern music mixed with a new music in fashion: jazz. To improve his science of rhythm, he travelled in North Africa, from Algeria to Libya.

Back in Paris at the end of 1951, El Kahlaoui Tounsi got hired in the cabaret El Djazaïr in the Latin Quarter. He stayed there two years as a singer and a percussionist. He took part in many recordings on the French radio with several bands from Algeria, Kabylia, Morocco, Tunisia and France. He also recorded many songs under various music labels : Pathé Marconi, Philips, Teppaz, Barclay and Dounia which he bought in 1960.

 

In 1953, he got hired at the Radio Diffusion Tunisienne as a drummer and percussionist in the Philharmonic Orchestra. Meanwhile, to improve his musical knowledge, he took part in some folkloric bands specialized in Bedouin music, « stambali et rebaibia » of which the specific instruments – zoukrah, mezoued, bendir, darboukah and chkacheks – feature a sound representative of ancient Bedouin Tunisia.

In 1954, after a concert tour in the United States, he settled with his family in Paris, where he published his first 45 rpm disc. He continued his trips to Japan, Australia, Africa, Algeria, Morocco and all the Europeans countries, teaching and spreading the Tunisian songs and art, the « Aroubi » in particular, a sort of pre-musical incantation which plunges its roots into the Andalusian tradition passed on through centuries by the Sephardi storytellers.

El Kahlaoui Tounsi wrote music for many Tunisian, Moroccan and Libanese musicians. He worked toward the birth of a young Algerian singer, who would later become a star called Warda.

Founder of a big orchestra, Kahlaoui regularly welcomed most of the stars from the Arabic world who wished to perform in France : the Libanese Wadieh El Safi, the Egyptian Ahmed Adaouia, the Syrian Sabah Fahkri and the Tunisian Ahmed Hamza.

He performed with his friend Enrico Macias on the stage of the Olympia and recorded on his music label Dounia most of the Jewish and Arabic artists, such as Raoul Journo, Line Monty, René Perez, Reinette l’Oranaise, Blond Blond … and even the famous Farid El Atrache with whom he became great friends. A successful author and composer (500 songs in his whole repertoire, 230 of which he is the author and 150 of which he is the composer and arranger), El Kahlaoui Tounsi was also a businessman. Already owner of a music label and a disc company, he bought a first theatre in 1975, the Palais Bergère, and a second one in 1976, the Bataclan. He also bought in 1977 a small recording studio…

At the same time, when a movie needed an Oriental music, he was the perfect composer, like Vladimir Cosma, Michel Legrand, Georges Delerue, other music composers for movies… Around 15 movies features his music, among which: Le Bal des maudits, L’homme et l’enfant, Le grand jeu, La folie des grandeurs, Ali Baba et les 40 voleurs…

El Kahlaoui Tounsi was one of the masters of music and song of the Jewish Tunisian community of the 20th century, like Raoul Journo, Hana Rached, and their predecessors Cheikh El Afrit, Habiba Messika, or Mouni Jebali.

El Kahlaoui Tounsi is the only Jewish Tunisian artist, with Raoul Journo, to have been rewarded for his contribution to Judeo-Tunisian music in Tunisia, but also in Israel and in France, where he received a medal of Chevalier des Arts et Lettres

Source:
Bernard Allali, « El Kahlaoui Tounsi, musicien et producteur », Je Chante magazine n°12, janvier 2016


Browse our collections on El Kahlaoui Tounsi

Listen to the playlist El Kahlaoui Tounsi

More about the Dounia label

Watch a video excerpt of El Kahlaoui Tounsi in concert at the Bataclan, from our collections

You may also like

François Meïmoun, Kaddish for mezzo & string quartet

The music score of his Kaddish for mezzo-soprano and string quartet, edited by the EIJM’s publishing house, was performed as…

Concert The New Jewish School of Saint-Petersburg

June 16, 2022 at 8pm, at the Archives nationales / Hôtel de Soubise - Paris. Concert organized by the EIJM,…

Jacques Arnold, a life serving chazanut

In the collection « Life courses », discover the endearing personality of the cantor Jacques Arnold, who tells us about…

Tounsi, El Kahlaoui (1932-2000)

Chanteur, musicien et homme d'affaires juif tunisien

Kahlaoui Tounsi, de son vrai nom Elie Touitou, est né à Tunis le 24 janvier 1932. Il passe toute son enfance dans les quartiers populaires qui connaissaient une forte activité artistique, et est attiré dès son plus jeune âge par la musique et la chanson, avec une prédilection pour le rythme, la percussion et le jeu de la darbouka.

Lorsque le film égyptien Rabha est projeté à Tunis, la chanson Fadlak Ya Sayeg El Matar, interprété par le chanteur égyptien Mohamed El Kahlaoui, connaît un franc succès. Le jeune Elie, emballé, l’apprend et la chante à différentes occasions. Suite à ça, des amis l’incitent à se présenter à la Radio Tunisienne. Élie interprète intégralement Fadlak Ya Sayeg El Matar et il est chaleureusement encouragé par Abdelaziz Laroui présentateur de l’émission Le Coin des Amateurs, qui lui suggère de porter à compter de ce jour le nom d’« El Kahlaoui Tounsi ».

El Kahlaoui Tounsi se lance donc dans la chanson et se produit avec les troupes connues de cette époque comme celle de Kakino De Paz, Cheikh El Asram et bien d’autres. Il connaît la notoriété et gagne l’adhésion du public. Ses débuts dans la chanson orientale, en plus de la chanson tunisienne, lui permettent de se constituer un large répertoire. Lors de ses tournées à l’étranger, il met en exergue la chanson tunisienne traditionnelle et populaire.

A la fin de l’année 1948, il se rend à Paris pour y travailler comme percussionniste avec les Peters Sisters aux Folies Bergère, et tente ainsi une première aventure musicale en France. En 1949, il retourne en Tunisie où il effectue un apprentissage de la musique orientale, conjuguée et transformée avec une nouvelle musique en vogue dans ce pays: le jazz. Pour parfaire sa science du rythme, il sillonne l’Afrique du Nord de l’Algérie à la Libye.

De nouveau à Paris à la fin de l’année 1951, El Kahlaoui Tounsi se fait engager au cabaret El Djazaïr, bien connu au Quartier latin. Il y restera deux ans en qualité de chanteur et percussionniste . Il participe à de nombreux enregistrements à la radio française avec plusieurs troupes algériennes, kabyles, marocaines, tunisiennes et françaises. Il enregistre également une multitude de chansons sous différents labels : Pathé Marconi, Philips, Teppaz, Barclay et Dounia qu’ il rachètera en 1960.

En 1953, il entre à la Radio Diffusion Tunisienne comme batteur-percussionniste titulaire au sein de l’Orchestre Philharmonique. Entre temps, pour parfaire ses connaissances musicales, il intègre sporadiquement des troupes folkloriques spécialisées dans les musiques bédouines, « stambali et rebaibia » dont les instruments spécifiques – zoukra, mezoued, bendir, darbouka et chkacheks – offrent un son représentatif de la Tunisie bédouine ancestrale.

En 1954, il revient en Tunisie chercher sa famille pour s ‘installer à Paris où il publie son premier 45 tours. Il poursuit ses voyages au Japon, en Australie, en Afrique noire, en Algérie, au Maroc et dans tous les pays européens, initiant et diffusant la chanson et l’art tunisien, celui de « l’Aroubi » en particulier, sorte d’incantation pré-musicale qui plonge ses racines dans la tradition andalouse transmise au fil des siècles par les conteurs sépharades.

El Kahlaoui Tounsi a composé pour nombre d’artistes tunisiens, marocains, libanais … Il œuvrera notamment à l’éclosion d’une jeune chanteuse algérienne qui deviendra plus tard une star sous le nom de Warda.

Fondateur d’un grand orchestre, Kahlaoui accueille régulièrement la plupart des stars du monde arabe qui souhaitent se produire en France : le Libanais Wadieh El Safi, l’Égyptien Ahmed Adaouia, le Syrien Sabah Fahkri ou encore le Tunisien Ahmed Hamza.

Il accompagne son ami Enrico Macias sur la scène de l’Olympia et fait signer sur son label Dounia la plupart des artistes juifs et arabes dont Raoul Journo, Line Monty, René Perez, Reinette l’Oranaise, Blond Blond … ou encore le célébrissime Farid El Atrache avec qui il noua des liens d’amitié très forts. Auteur et compositeur à succès (500 chansons dans son répertoire général, 230 dont il est l’auteur et 150 dont il est le compositeur et l’arrangeur), El Kahlaoui Tounsi est aussi un homme d’affaires. Déjà possesseur d’un label et d’une firme de disques, il achète une première salle de spectacles en 1975, le Palais Bergère, puis une deuxième en 1976, Le Bataclan. Il se rend aussi acquéreur en 1977 d’un petit studio d’enregistrement…

Parallèlement, dès qu’une bande originale de film nécessite une musique orientale, il s’impose comme le partenaire privilégié de compositeurs tels que Vladimir Cosma, Michel Legrand, Georges Delerue… S’en suivent une quinzaine de films dont: Le Bal des maudits, L’homme et l’enfant, Le grand jeu, La folie des grandeurs, Ali Baba et les 40 voleurs…

El Kahlaoui Tounsi compte parmi les maîtres de la musique et du chant de la communauté juive tunisienne du vingtième siècle comme Raoul Journo, Hana Rached, et leurs prédécesseurs Cheikh El Afrit, Habiba Messika, ou Mouni Jebali.

L’attribut alt de cette image est vide, son nom de fichier est D45-17_242_COUV-1024x1024.jpg.

 

El Kahlaoui Tounsi est le seul artiste juif tunisien avec Raoul Journo à avoir été récompensé pour son apport dans la musique judéo-tunisienne, tant en Tunisie, son pays d’origine, qu’en Israël et en France où il a reçu la Médaille de Chevalier des Arts et Lettres.

 

Regardez ci dessous un extrait de vidéo d’El Kahlaoui Tounsi en concert au Bataclan, issu de nos collections.

Source :
« El Kahlaoui Tounsi, musicien et producteur » Bernard Allali
Je Chante magazine n°12, janvier 2016

Vous aimerez aussi

Mélodies Hébraïques pour violoncelle et piano, volume 2

Ce 2e CD de Mélodies Hébraïques, principalement consacré aux compositeurs de l'école juive de Saint-Pétersbourg tels Joel Engel, Alexander Krein, Lazare…