Yahudice

Urban Ladino Music from Istanbul, Izmir, Thessalonica and Jerusalem - With Hadass Pal-Yarden

Yahudice – pronounced Yahudije and meaning “Jewish” in Turkish – was the name used by the Muslim Turcs to designate the Jewish people speaking Judeo-Spanish during the Ottoman era.

This album features the Judeo-Spanish repertoire sung in Istanbul, Izmir, Thessalonica and Jerusalem. Its originality comes from the combination of three main characteristics, the choice of songs, the musical interpretation, and the importance given to the documentation related to these songs. It forms a real jewel for lovers of traditional music, for all those who, nostalgic for this culture and that time, are closely interested in this rarely known repertoire, but still very rich with stories and memories..

The Israeli researcher and singer in Judeo-Spanish Hadass Pal-Yarden found inspiration, for this album, among Sefardi people met on the spot, through her various journeys in the former Ottoman Empire (Thessalonica, Jerusalem, Istanbul, Izmir…) and in field recordings she had access to.

The richly documented booklet of the CD gives information about each track, but also historical, linguistic and geographical insights about the Spanish Jews, or Sefardis. It also adds to our knowledge of today’s context of performing Judeo-Spanish music, which never stopped changing in the 20th century, slowly losing its initial role in the traditional rituals of the cycle of life in a community, transforming progressively into a more commercial music, with more exchanges from the home countries and even borrowings from Western music.

Performers :
Hadass PAL-YARDEN : Vocals ; Yurdal TOKCAN : Vocals, Ud ; Göksel BAKTAGIR : Rainsticks, Kanoun ; Selim GÜLER : Vocals, Kemence [Turkish violin] ; Emrullah SENGÜLLER : Cello ; Yinon MUALLEM : Daf, Bodhran, Daire, Bendir, Bells, Cymbales, Zarb, Dumbek, Udu ; Orhan OSMAN : Cura, Bouzouki ; Stelyo BERBER : Vocals ; Izzet BANA : Vocals ; Yaakov TARAGANO : Vocals ; Bâki KEMANCI : Violin

Purchase the CD

couv4_yahudice_pour_article_site_600px_larg.jpg

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Yahudice

Urban Ladino Music from Istanbul, Izmir, Thessalonica and Jerusalem - With Hadass Pal-Yarden

Yahudice – terme prononcé Yahudije et signifiant “juif” en turc – est le nom qui a été utilisé par les Turcs musulmans pour désigner la population juive parlant le judéo-espagnol à l’époque ottomane.

Cet album présente le répertoire judéo-espagnol chanté à Istanbul, Izmir, Thessalonique et Jérusalem. Son originalité réside dans la combinaison de trois principales caractéristiques, à savoir le répertoire des chansons, l’interprétation musicale et l’importance accordée à la documentation relative à ces chansons. Il constitue un véritable bijou pour les amateurs de musique traditionnelle, pour tous ceux qui, nostalgiques de cette culture et de cette période, s’intéressent de près à ce répertoire assez peu connu mais très riche en histoires et souvenirs.

La chercheuse-chanteuse israélienne en judéo-espagnol Hadass Pal-Yarden a, dans cet album, puisé son inspiration aussi bien auprès d’informateurs séfarades rencontrés sur place, au gré de ses différentes pérégrinations effectuées sur les terres de l’ancien Empire Ottoman (Thessalonique, Jérusalem, Istanbul, Izmir…) que grâce aux archives d’enregistrements de terrain auxquels elle a eu accès.

Le livret du CD richement documenté fournit, outre la source documentaire de chaque titre proposé, un éclairage historique, linguistique ainsi que géographique sur les juifs espagnols dits séfarades. Il nous renseigne également sur le contexte plus actuel d’exécution de la musique judéo-espagnole, qui n’a cessé d’évoluer depuis le 20e siècle, perdant peu à peu sa fonction initiale inscrite dans les rituels traditionnels du cycle de la vie au sein de la communauté, pour se transformer progressivement en musique plus commerciale, impliquant davantage d’échanges avec les pays d’origines et même des emprunts à la musique occidentale.

Interprètes :
Hadass PAL-YARDEN : Voix ; Yurdal TOKCAN : Voix, Oud ; Göksel BAKTAGIR : Rainsticks, Kanoun ; Selim GÜLER : Voix, Kemence [Turkish violin] ; Emrullah SENGÜLLER : Violoncelle ; Yinon MUALLEM : Daff (tambour sur cadre), Bodhran, Daire, Bendir, Cloches, Cymbales, Zarb, Dumbek, Udu ; Orhan OSMAN : Cura, Bouzouki ; Stelyo BERBER : Voix ; Izzet BANA : Voix ; Yaakov TARAGANO : Voix ; Bâki KEMANCI : Violon

Acheter le CD

couv4_yahudice_pour_article_site_600px_larg.jpg

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…