Yiddish Glory

The Lost Songs of World War II

Yiddish Glory: The Lost Songs of World War II is the name of a new CD published in 2018 in the USA, from texts of songs created during the darkest period of European Jewry history. In the middle of the Second World War, a group of researchers led by the ethnomusicologist Moisei Beregovsky (1892-1961) discovered songs written by Jewish soldiers of the Red Army, refugees, victims and survivors of Ukrainian ghettos. Among those songs, one was created by a 10 year old orphan who lost his family in the Tulchin ghetto, another by a teenager prisoner in the concentration camp of Pechora, and another by a Red Army soldier who learns, on his way back to Kiev, that his family was murdered in Babi Yar. These authors are not poets or musicians, but all are witnesses to one of the major events of the 20th century.

After the war, these researchers were arrested during the Stalinian purges, and their works were confiscated. They will die thinking those collections are lost forever

But in the 1990’s, those songs were re-discovered in unidentified boxes in the archives of the Vernadsky National Library of Ukraine.

In the beginning of the 2000’s, the Yiddish teacher and director of Jewish studies in the Toronto university Anna Shternshis goes to Kiev, and hears about the existence of these songs. Those fragile documents, which deteriorate quickly, most of them in manuscript and of great historical importance, comprise some of the most poignant Soviet Yiddish songs of the Second World War. Despair, hope, humor, bravery, resistance and revenge are feelings expressed throughout each one.

psoy_korolenko_and_anna_shternshis_photo_and_design_by_dan_rosenberg__400px.jpgThis CD is the result of a remarkable collaboration between the artist Psoy Korolenko and the Yiddish teacher Anna Shternshis, most of the songs being written on small pieces of paper, without any indication of melody. Psoy Korolenko engaged in “musical archaeology,” and analyzed the scarce supplementary notes, contextualized the lyrics and then took a leap of imagination in order to create or adapt music for the texts. Sergei Erdenko (great Roma violinist from Russia, who often performed with Yehudi Menuhin) created multi-instrument arrangements and composed original music for one song (Kazakhstan).

The discovery of this treasure hidden for years led producer Dan Rosenberg to bring together a group of singers and musicians with multiple backgrounds. The album “Yiddish Glory” is the fruit of a three-year-long process, and constitutes a precious historical testimony, revealing how Jewish men, women and children fought fascism, tried to save their families, and chose at the final moment, to communicate their dreams and hopes through music. For the first time, the public will hear the voices of the Soviet Jews who were thought to be silenced by Hitler and Stalin.

This CD comes with a 44 page booklet, with texts of the songs in English and Russian, the story behind each song, and many illustrations.

Learn more
Purchase the CD

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Yiddish Glory

The Lost Songs of World War II

Yiddish Glory : The Lost Songs of World War II est le titre d’un nouveau CD publié en 2018, aux Etats-Unis à partir de textes de chansons créées durant les périodes les plus sombres de l’histoire juive européenne. Au milieu de la seconde guerre mondiale, un groupe de chercheurs conduit par l’ethnomusicologue Moisei Beregovsky (1892-1961) découvre des chansons ayant été écrites par des soldats juifs de l’Armée Rouge, des réfugiés, des victimes et des survivants de ghettos ukrainiens. Parmi ces chansons, l’une a été créée par un orphelin de 10 ans ayant perdu sa famille dans le ghetto de Tulchin, une autre par un adolescent prisonnier dans le camp de concentration de Pechora, et encore une autre par un soldat de l’Armée Rouge qui apprend, à son retour à Kiev, que sa famille a été assassinée à Babi Yar. Ces auteurs ne sont ni poètes ni musiciens, mais sont tous les témoins d’un des événements majeurs qui aura marqué le 20e siècle.

Après la guerre, ces chercheurs seront arrêtés lors des purges staliniennes et leurs travaux confisqués. Ils mourront en pensant ces collections perdues à jamais.

C’est dans les années 1990 que ces chansons ont été redécouvertes, dans des boites non identifiées, au sein des archives de la Bibliothèque nationale Vernadsky d’Ukraine.

Au début des années 2000, l’enseignante de yiddish Anna Shternshis et directrice du centre d’Etudes Juives de l’Université de Toronto se rend à Kiev, et apprend par hasard l’existence de ces chansons. Ces documents fragiles, qui se détériorent rapidement, pour la plupart manuscrits et d’une importance historique capitale, contiennent certaines des chansons yiddish soviétiques les plus poignantes sur la seconde guerre mondiale. Détresse, espoir, humour, bravoure, résistance et vengeance sont autant de sentiments qui s’expriment à travers chacune de ces chansons.

psoy_korolenko_and_anna_shternshis_photo_and_design_by_dan_rosenberg__400px.jpgCe disque est le fruit d’une remarquable collaboration entre l’artiste Psoy Korolenko et la professeure de yiddish Anna Shternshis, car la plupart de ces chansons ont été écrites sur des bouts de papier, sans aucune indication de mélodie. Psoy Korolenko s’est donc livré à un véritable travail d’”archéologie musicale”, analysant les notes, contextualisant les paroles, et laissant libre cours à son imagination pour composer ou adapter une musique sur ces textes. Sergei Erdenko (grand violoniste Rom de Russie, ayant souvent joué avec Yehudi Menuhin) en a réalisé les arrangements et a même composé une musique originale sur l’une des chansons (Kazakhstan).

La découverte de ce trésor caché pendant des années a conduit le producteur Dan Rosenberg à réunir un ensemble de chanteurs et musiciens aux influences multiples. Ce CD, fruit de trois ans de labeur, constitue un témoignage historique inestimable, révélant comment des hommes, des femmes et des enfants juifs ont combattu le fascisme, tenté de sauver leurs familles, et choisi, dans un ultime élan, de communiquer leurs rêves et espoirs à travers la musique. On a ainsi pour la première fois l’occasion d’entendre les voix de ces juifs soviétiques, se croyant réduits au silence à tout jamais par Staline et Hitler.

Ce CD est accompagné d’un livret de 44 pages, contenant les textes des chansons en anglais et en russe, l’histoire de chaque chanson, ainsi que de nombreuses illustrations.

En savoir plus
Acheter le CD

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…