Liturgical chants by Salomon Sulzer (1804-1890)

Precursor of the new Ashkenazi synagogal service in the 19th century

The best liturgical tunes by Salomon Sulzer, precursor of the new synagogal music in Europe in the beginning of the 19th century

Considered the father of the new synagogal music in Europe at the beginning of the 19th century, Salomon Sulzer was born on March 30, 1804 in Hohenems (Austria). Trained in liturgical singing when he was very young, he was appointed main cantor of the new Viennese synagogue in 1828. He was then 22 years old. In this synagogue, in which come traditionalists and reformists, Sulzer will reorganize the liturgy, keeping the tunes and traditional chants of prayers in Hebrew, but arranging them for choir, soloist and organ. Furthermore, he asked non-Jewish composers, such as Schubert (1797-1828), Joseph Drechsler (1782-1852), Ignace von Seyfried (1767-1841), Franz Volkert (1778-1845) or Vaclav Würfel (1790-1832), to compose new synagogal tunes.

This new liturgy of the Viennese rite will be compiled by Sulzer in a big two volume collection called Shir Zion (The chanting of Sion), published between 1840 and 1865 (or 1866), and containing 150 tunes of Sabbath and Jewish holiday for cantor, choir and assembly’s answers, with an optional accompaniment with the organ.

For this, Sulzer can be considered as one of the precursors of the reform of the Ashkenazi synagogal cult, like Israël Lovy (1773-1832) in Paris, Maier Kohn (1802-1875) in Munich, Hirsch Weintraub in Koenigsberg (1838), Louis Lewandowski in Berlin (1840) or Samuel Naumbourg in Paris (1845). These different cantors compose tunes for prayers in a pure tonal style, but not rejecting the old synagogal chants that they try to harmonize.

Salomon Sulzer passed away on January 17, 1890 in Vienna. His liturgical compositions are still sung today in the synagogues of Vienna, but also in France (Paris, Strasbourg…), in Great Britain and in USA.

Read a complete biography of Salomon Sulzer

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Chants liturgiques de Salomon Sulzer (1804-1890)

Précurseur du nouvel office synagogal ashkénaze au 19ème siècle

Les plus beaux airs liturgiques de Salomon Sulzer, précurseur de la nouvelle musique synagogale en Europe au début du 19ème siècle

Considéré comme le père de la nouvelle musique synagogale en Europe au début du 19ème siècle, Salomon Sulzer est né le 30 mars 1804 à Hohenems (Autriche). Formé au chant liturgique dès sa plus tendre enfance, il est engagé en 1826, à l’âge de 22 ans, comme chantre principal de la nouvelle synagogue de Vienne. Dans ce lieu de culte où se côtoient les traditionalistes et les réformistes, Sulzer va réorganiser la liturgie, en conservant les mélodies et les chants traditionnels des prières en hébreu, tout en les arrangeant pour chœur, soliste et orgue. De plus, il n’hésite pas à faire appel à des compositeurs non juifs, tels Schubert (1797-1828), Joseph Drechsler (1782-1852), Ignace von Seyfried (1767-1841), Franz Volkert (1778-1845) ou encore Vaclav Würfel (1790-1832), pour composer de nouveaux airs synagogaux.

Cette nouvelle liturgie du rite viennois va être compilée par Sulzer dans un imposant recueil en deux volumes intitulé Shir Zion (Le chant de Sion), publié entre 1840 et 1865 (ou 1866), comportant 150 airs de shabbat et des fêtes juives pour officiant, chœur et réponses de l’assemblée, avec un accompagnement optionnel à l’orgue.

A ce titre, Sulzer peut être considéré comme l’un des précurseurs de la réforme du culte synagogal ashkénaze, au même titre qu’Israël Lovy (1773-1832) à Paris, Maier Kohn (1802-1875) à Munich, Hirsch Weintraub à Koenigsberg (1838), Louis Lewandowski à Berlin (1840) ou encore Samuel Naumbourg à Paris (1845). Ces différents hazzanim composent des mélodies de prières dans le plus pur style tonal tout en ne rejetant pas les anciens chants synagogaux qu’ils s’efforcent d’harmoniser.

Salomon Sulzer est décédé le 17 janvier 1890 à Vienne. Ses compositions liturgiques sont encore chantées aujourd’hui à la synagogue de Vienne mais aussi en France (Paris, Strasbourg…), en Grande-Bretagne et aux États-Unis.

Consulter la biographie complète de Salomon Sulzer

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…