Cheikh Raymond – Une histoire algérienne

Bertrand Dicale

First Editions, Paris, France, 2011, 293 p.

Raymond Leyris, aka Cheikh Raymond, had a French name, was Jewish and sang in Arabic. Born in Constantine in 1912, he was the undisputed master of Arab-Andalusian music. In this musical genre born in the old centuries of the Arabic splendor of Andalusia, he reached peaks of knowledge and creative power.

On June 22, 1961, Cheikh Raymond was killed by a gunshot in the neck in a market of his hometown. His assassination is the starting point of the exile of Jews from Constantine. When he arrived in France, his pupil Gaston Ghrenassia, guitar player in his orchestra, will have a successful career under the name Enrico Macias.

Through his childhood as an orphan, his life of pious Jew and Arab learned man, this book is an immersion into the lost world of Algerian Judaism. Between sweetness of life, artistic discipline, religious devotion and political violence, it tells us not only the history of a country which no longer exists, but also of what it could have become…

To complete this book, Universal released in November 2011 an anthology of songs by Cheikh Raymond.

Purchase the book

Read a biography of Cheikh Raymond

You may also like

Thieves of Dreams – Zloději snů

Upon the recent passing of her mother, Lenka discovered two tattered notebooks of hand-written poetry that her grandmother, Anna Hana…

Hidden Sides of Jewish Music : Leibu Levin

RADIO PROGRAM hosted by Hélène Engel, broadcasted on Radio SHALOM Montreal in 2014. In this program, Hélène Engel presents two…

Hidden Sides of Jewish Music : Lenka Lichtenberg

RADIO PROGRAM presented by Hélène Engel, broadcasted on Radio SHALOM Montreal in 2013. In this program, Hélène Engel presents the…

Cheikh Raymond – Une histoire algérienne

Bertrand Dicale

First Editions, Paris, France, 2011, 293 p.

Raymond Leyris, alias Cheikh Raymond, portait un nom français, était juif et chantait en arabe. Né à Constantine en 1912, il fut le maître incontesté de la musique arabo-andalouse. Dans ce genre musical remontant aux siècles lointains de la splendeur arabe de l’Andalousie, il atteignit des sommets inégalés d’érudition et de puissance créatrice.

Le 22 juin 1961, Cheikh Raymond est abattu d’une balle dans la nuque sur un marché de sa ville natale. Son assassinat déclenche le départ des Juifs de Constantine. Arrivé en France, son élève Gaston Ghrenassia, guitariste dans son orchestre, fera carrière dans la chanson sous le nom d’Enrico Macias.

À travers son enfance d’orphelin, sa vie de Juif pieux et d’érudit arabe, ce livre est une plongée dans le monde perdu du judaïsme algérien. Entre douceur de vivre, rigueur artistique, ferveur religieuse et violence politique, il nous raconte non seulement l’histoire d’un pays qui n’existe plus, mais aussi celle d’un pays qui aurait pu être…

En complément de ce livre, Universal a sorti en novembre 2011 une anthologie des morceaux de Cheikh Raymond entre 1937 et 1961.

Cheikh Raymond (Couverture et 4e de couverture)

Commander le livre

Consulter la biographie de Cheikh Raymond

Vous aimerez aussi

Sephardic Pizmonim Project

Archives musicales numériques de la communauté séfarade d'Alep

Léon Algazi (1890-1971), un pionnier des musiques juives en France

Dans la série « Parcours de vie », Jacques Algazi (1934-2021) nous dévoile la vie de son père, Léon Algazi…

Heichal Menachem

(New York, Etats-Unis) Site Loubavitch donnant accès à plus de 500 nigounim traditionnels écoutables en ligne !

Sefarad in the piano – Toni Costa

Inspiré par la poésie populaire judéo-espagnole, le jazz, la musique ancienne et les rythmes populaires du flamenco, le pianiste Toni…