Gerovitch, Eliezer (1844-1914)

logo bio Eliezer Gerovitch

Born in Kitaigorod, in the province of Kiev, in Russia, in 1844, Eliezer Mordechai ben Yitschak Gerovitch received a religious education in various Yeshivoth (institutions that provided a thorough teaching of the Talmud and the Torah). His religious erudition acquired during his childhood would largely contribute to develop his compositions of synagogal music during the last years of his life.

Since he was a child, Eliezer Gerovitch showed great gifts and a deep interest for music. But he didn’t go further until the age of 18, due to the relative poverty of his family. He then left for Berditchev, a town known for the quality of its cantorship, to study music, and harmony in particular. Blessed with a nice tenor voice, he studied singing with Moïse Spizberg, First Cantor (Hazzan) of the Synagogue of Berditchev, who would employ him as Cantor in his synagogue. He became familiar with the synagogal classical repertoire, and the works of composers such as Sulzer, Lewandowski, Naumbourg or Weintraub. Later on he would be Cantor in the synagogue of Nicolaiev, where he developed his talents as a composer of synagogal music.

Hungry to deepen his musical knowledge, he left his position and went to Saint-Petersburg, where he studied singing in the Music Conservatory. He met Rimski-Korsakov with whom he started a rich correspondence on the theme of synagogal music and its relations with the music of the Orthodox Greek Church.

synagogue_de_rostov.jpgSynagogue of Rostov

Although he was expected to occupy the vacant position of Hazzan in Saint-Petersburg, he preferred to go to Rostov-sur-le-Don, more adapted to his health issues. It is there that his talents of synagogal composition grew and flourished. He composed two collections of synagogal music in six volumes, three under the title Shire T’filoh and three under the name Shire Zimroh.

Gerovitch’s works and synagogal practices correspond to his will of restoring the spirit of the tradition in the most « accurate » way, using arrangements and harmony, often modal, the closest possible of tradition, despite of the climate of opposition by the reformists who wished to introduce in the liturgy popular composers, such as Haendel and Verdi.

Admired by his community for his character and achievements, Eliezer Gerovitch died in Rostov on October 8, 1914.

——————————————————————————————–
(From the preface of Shirei Tefillah of Gerovitch, written by Professor A. W. Binder, Teacher of liturgical music, Hebrew Union College)

Share:

You may also like

The Darius Milhaud triptych

Saturday, June 29, 2024, 6:30 p.m. - Salle du Moulin Saint-Julien, Cavaillon (84300), an evening event celebrating the 50th anniversary…

From the Carpathians to the Balkans – A musical escapade from West to East by Kalarash & Guests

June 16, 2024, 6pm, Espace Rachi (Paris 5e), Concert FROM THE CARPATES TO THE BALKANS - A musical escapade from…

Klezmer ball workshop by the Kalarash group

June 16, 2024, 11am to 1pm at Espace Rachi (Paris 5e), Klezmer Ball workshop by the group Kalarash, proposed by…

Yerushalayim shel zahav (Jerusalem of Gold)

This playlist features 12 versions of Naomi Shemer's famous song, Jerusalem of Gold (ירושלים של זהב - Yerushalayim shel zahav),…

Gerovitch, Eliezer (1844-1914)

logo bio Eliezer Gerovitch

Né à Kitaigorod, dans la province de Kiev, en Russie, en 1844, Eliezer Mordechai ben Yitschak Gerowitsch reçoit une éducation religieuse au sein de diverses Yeshivoth (établissements dispensant un enseignement approfondi du Talmud et de la Torah). Son érudition religieuse acquise durant son enfance aura beaucoup contribué à son développement en tant que compositeur de musique synagogale au cours des dernières années de sa vie.

Dès sa petite enfance, Eliezer Gerowitsch montre des aptitudes et un goût prononcé pour la musique, qu’il ne pourra développer avant l’âge de ses 18 ans, du fait du dénuement relatif de sa famille. Il se rend alors à Berditchev, ville réputée pour la qualité de sa Hazanout, pour y étudier la musique, et en particulier l’harmonie. Doué d’une belle voix de ténor, il étudie le chant auprès de Moïse Spizberg, Premier Ministre-Officiant de la Synagogue de Berditchev, qui finit par l’engager en tant que Ministre-Officiant dans sa synagogue. Il se familiarise avec le répertoire classique synagogal et les compositeurs tels Sulzer, Lewandowski, Naumbourg ou Weintraub. Plus tard il occupera le poste de chantre au sein de la synagogue de Nicolaiev, où il développera son talent de compositeur de musique synagogale.

Avide d’approfondir ses connaissances musicales, il quitte son poste pour se rendre à Saint-Pétersbourg, où il étudie le chant au conservatoire. C’est alors qu’il fait la connaissance de Rimski-Korsakov avec lequel il entretient une correspondance fournie sur le thème de la musique synagogale et ses relations avec la musique de l’Église grecque orthodoxe.

synagogue_de_rostov.jpgSynagogue de Rostov

Bien que pressenti pour occuper le poste désormais vacant de Hazan à Saint-Pétersbourg, il lui préfère celui de Rostov-sur-le-Don, plus adapté à ses contraintes de santé, au niveau du climat. C’est là que ses talents de compositions synagogales prennent leur essor. Il y composera ses deux recueils de musique synagogale en six volumes, trois sous le titre de Shire T’filoh et trois sous le titre de Shire Zimroh.

Les œuvres et la pratique synagogale de Gerovitch sont conformes à sa volonté de restituer l’esprit de la tradition de la façon la plus « fidèle », utilisant des arrangements et une harmonie, souvent modale, le plus proche possible de la tradition, et ce malgré le climat d’opposition des réformistes qui souhaitent introduire dans la liturgie des compositeurs à la mode, tels Haendel et Verdi.

Admiré par sa communauté pour son caractère et ses réalisations, Eliezer Gerowitsch décède à Rostov le 8 octobre 1914.

——————————————————————————————–
(D’après la préface de Shirei Tefillah de Gerovitch, écrite par le professeur A. W. Binder, Professeur de musique liturgique, Hebrew Union College)

Écouter la playlist Chants liturgiques de Salomon Sulzer (1804-1890)

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…