Jacques Offenbach and friends – From the Synagogue to the Opera

RELEASE OF THE 6th CD IN THE "CLASSICAL MUSIC" COLLECTION

 

Few music lovers know that Jacques Offenbach (1819-1880), named « the Mozart of Champs Elysées » by Rossini, took parts of his musical inspiration from the synagogal chants that he learned in his childhood, from his father Isaac Offenbach, musician, composer and cantor in Cologne’s synagogue, in Germany.
Since his arrival in Paris in 1833, and throughout his career, Jacques Offenbach would work with other music composers of Jewish origin who, like him, could move with incredible ease from the synagogue to the opera stage, from light music to synagogal chants, abolishing thus borders between genres, in the splendour of 19th century’s Paris.

Published on the occasion of the bicentenary of Jacques Offenbach’s birth, this CD allows us to discover unreleased Hebrew works by Isaac and Jacques Offenbach, Giacomo Meyerbeer, Jules Erlanger, Emile Jonas, and Fromental Halévy, creator of the psalm 130 Mimaamakim [De profundis] ordered by Louis XVIII in 1820 at the Consistoire de la Seine, to commemorate the death of the Duke of Berry.

A wonderful recording, which comes with a 32 pages booklet, performed by the vocal ensemble La Truite Lyrique and the Polyphonies Hébraïques de Strasbourg conducted by Hector Sabo.

This CD was produced thanks to the support of the Fondation du Judaïsme Français, the Fondation pour la Mémoire de la Shoah, the Foundations Henriette Halphen and Irène et Jacques Darmon, under the aegis of the FJF, and the Alliance Israélite Universelle.

Purchase the CD Jacques Offenbach and friends – From the synagogue to the opera – online on the EIJM’s shop

 

Watch the interview of Hervé Roten, guest in the Matinale by Lise Gutmann on Judaïques FM on October 29, 2019 for the release of the album and the IEMJ gala on “Offenbach and friends”

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Jacques Offenbach et ses proches – De la synagogue à l’opéra

SORTIE DU 6ème CD DE LA COLLECTION CLASSIQUES

 

Peu de mélomanes savent que Jacques Offenbach (1819-1880), dénommé « le Mozart des Champs Elysées » par Rossini, a puisé une partie de son inspiration musicale dans les chants synagogaux, appris dans son enfance auprès de son père Isaac Offenbach, musicien, compositeur et chantre de la synagogue de Cologne, en Allemagne.
Dès son arrivée à Paris en 1833, et tout au long de sa carrière, Jacques Offenbach va collaborer avec d’autres compositeurs d’origine juive qui, comme lui, vont passer avec une facilité déconcertante de l’estrade de la synagogue à la scène de l’opéra, des musiques légères aux chants synagogaux, abolissant ainsi les frontières entre les genres, dans le faste du Paris du XIXe siècle.

Publié à l’occasion du bicentenaire de la naissance de Jacques Offenbach, ce disque nous fait découvrir des œuvres hébraïques inédites d’Isaac et Jacques Offenbach, Giacomo Meyerbeer, Jules Erlanger, Emile Jonas, ou encore Fromental Halévy, auteur du psaume 130 Mimaamakim [De profundis] commandé par Louis XVIII en 1820 au Consistoire de la Seine, en commémoration de la mort du duc de Berry.

Un enregistrement exceptionnel, accompagné d’un somptueux livret de 32 pages, interprété par l’ensemble vocal La Truite Lyrique et Les Polyphonies Hébraïques de Strasbourg sous la direction d’Hector Sabo.

Ce CD a été réalisé avec le soutien de la Fondation du Judaïsme Français, de la Fondation pour la Mémoire de la Shoah, des Fondations Henriette Halphen et Irène et Jacques Darmon, sous l’égide de la FJF, et de l’Alliance Israélite Universelle.

Commander le CD sur la boutique en ligne de l’IEMJ

Regarder l’interview de Hervé Roten, invité dans la Matinale par Lise Gutmann sur Judaïques FM le 29 octobre 2019 pour la sortie de l’album et du gala de l’IEMJ sur “Offenbach et ses proches”
0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…