The clarinet in klezmer music

A selection of klezmer tunes where the clarinet is predominent

Naftule Brandwein, Dave Tarras, David Krakauer, Yom, Marine Goldwaser, Giora Feidman, Michael Winograd… So many names that rhime with klezmer music, but even more with one of its favorite instruments: the clarinet !

This musical instrument from the woods family was created around 1690 by Johann Christoph Denner in Nuremberg. Of all wind instruments of its family, the clarinet has the largest tessitura with three octaves plus a minor sixth, constituting 45 notes altogether. It is declined in a family of about 12 instruments that can be transposed for most of them, from the double bass clarinet to the sopranino clarinet, covering thus the full register of a symphonic orchestra.

image_clarinettiste.jpgThe clarinet seems to have entered the klezmer bands during the 19th century, following probably its expansion in military brass bands. At the turn of the 20th century, the disc companies encourage the recording of wind instruments at the expense of strings, of which the sound is less powerful, and thus less appropriate for the recording means of the time. This is how in the first decades of the 20th century, the clarinet overtakes the violin and becomes the predominant instrument of klezmer bands.

Klezmer music is strongly linked to Jewish weddings and its many rituals. The clarinet – of which it is said to be the closest instrument to the human voice – borrows the many vocal ornementations of East European cantors, such as the krekhts (whine).

Here is a selection of klezmer tunes, performed by the greatest clarinet players of yesterday and today.

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

La clarinette dans la musique klezmer

Une sélection de musiques klezmer où la clarinette est prédominante

Naftule Brandwein, Dave Tarras, David Krakauer, Yom, Marine Goldwaser, Giora Feidman, Michael Winograd… Autant de noms qui riment avec musique klezmer, mais encore plus avec l’un de ses instruments de prédilection : la clarinette !

Cet instrument de musique à vent de la famille des bois a été créé vers 1690 par Johann Christoph Denner à Nuremberg. De tous les instruments à vent de sa famille, la clarinette possède la plus grande tessiture avec trois octaves plus une sixte mineure, soit 45 notes en tout. Elle se décline en une famille d’une douzaine d’instruments, presque tous transpositeurs, depuis la clarinette contrebasse jusqu’à la clarinette sopranino, couvrant ainsi tout le registre d’un orchestre symphonique.

image_clarinettiste.jpgLa clarinette semble avoir été introduite dans les ensembles de musique klezmer au courant du 19e siècle, probablement suite à sa montée en puissance dans les fanfares militaires et les musiques de conscription. Au tournant du 20e siècle, les compagnies de disques favorisent l’enregistrement des instruments à vent aux dépens des cordes, dont le son peu puissant s’accorde moins aux moyens techniques d’enregistrement de l’époque. C’est ainsi que dans les premières décennies du 20e siècle, la clarinette supplante le violon et devient l’instrument dominant des ensembles klezmer.

La musique klezmer étant fortement corrélée au mariage juif et à ses nombreux rituels, la clarinette – dont on dit que c’est l’instrument qui se rapproche le plus de la voix humaine – emprunte fréquemment les ornementations vocaux des chantres d’Europe de l’Est, tel notamment le krekhts (gémissement).

Voici une sélection de titres de musique klezmer (et plus), avec les plus grands clarinettistes d’hier et d’aujourd’hui.

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…