Klezmer music, 2nd part

Listen to this second playlist around klezmer music

The word klezmer comes from the combination of two Hebrew words kli and zemer, that means literally “tool (or instrument) of the singing”. This word defines the instrumental music of the Central and Eastern-European Jews.

At first, it’s basically a music played for weddings and joyous religious celebrations, like the carnival-like holiday Purim, the celebration of the Torah (Simhat Torah), or the inauguration of a new synagogue.
The musicians who were required for the weddings had to lead the dances. The tempo, which adapts frequently to the dancers and musicians, was often irregular.

doc_1_klezmer_part_2_500px_50.jpgThere are various instruments used to play klezmer music: string instruments, particularly the fiddle, wind instruments such as the clarinet or flute, and also percussion as the cymbals or drums. By the end of the 19th century, this choice of instruments will largely develop.

Strongly influenced by its geographical and cultural surroundings, klezmer music is heterogeneous, built with popular music and themes from Romania, Russia, Poland, Ukraine, Lithuania, Hungary, Ottoman (Turk or Arab), and especially Gipsy music. It borrowed to the Hassidic movement the joy, the enthusiasm, and most of all, the niggunims, these melodies based on the repetition of simple onomatopoeias easy to memorize.

Listen to the playlist Klezmer Music, 1st part

Listen to the radio show : Musique klezmer d’hier et d’aujourd’hui, hosted by Hervé Roten

doc_2_klezmer_part2_500px.jpg

Share:
0:00
0:00

You may also like

From the Carpathians to the Balkans – A musical escapade from West to East by Kalarash & Guests

June 16, 2024, 6pm, Espace Rachi (Paris 5e), Concert FROM THE CARPATES TO THE BALKANS - A musical escapade from…

Klezmer ball workshop by the Kalarash group

June 16, 2024, 11am to 1pm at Espace Rachi (Paris 5e), Klezmer Ball workshop by the group Kalarash, proposed by…

Yerushalayim shel zahav (Jerusalem of Gold)

This playlist features 12 versions of Naomi Shemer's famous song, Jerusalem of Gold (ירושלים של זהב - Yerushalayim shel zahav),…

Shemer, Naomi (1930 – 2004)

Considered a leading Israeli singer-songwriter and poet, Naomi Shemer was born on July 13, 1930 in Kvutzat Kinneret, a kibbutz…

La musique klezmer 2

Écoutez cette deuxième playlist autour de la musique klezmer

Le mot klezmer vient de l’association des mots hébreux kli et zemer, qui signifient littéralement « outils (ou instruments) du chant ». Ce terme désigne la musique instrumentale des Juifs d’Europe centrale et de l’Est.

A l’origine il s’agit d’une musique instrumentale essentiellement jouée lors de l’accompagnement des mariages ou de festivités religieuses joyeuses, telles la fête carnavalesque de Pourim, la célébration de la Torah (Simhat Torah) ou encore l’inauguration d’une nouvelle synagogue.
Les musiciens requis pour les mariages avaient pour vocation d’animer les danses. Le tempo, s’adaptant à la dynamique des danseurs et des musiciens, était bien souvent irrégulier.

doc_1_klezmer_part_2_500px_50.jpgLes instruments utilisés par les musiciens klezmer sont très variés, on y trouve des instruments à cordes, en particulier le violon, des instruments à vent tels que la clarinette ou la flûte, ainsi que quelques percussions telles les cymbales ou le tambour. A noter que cet instrumentarium évoluera de manière notable à compter de la fin du 19e siècle.

Fortement marquée par son environnement géographique et culturel, la musique Klezmer est extrêmement composite, se composant de musiques populaires roumaine, russe, polonaise, ukrainienne, lituanienne, hongroise, grecque, ottomane (turque ou arabe) et surtout tzigane. Elle a emprunté au courant hassidique la joie, la ferveur et surtout les niggounim, ces airs basés sur la répétition d’onomatopées faciles à mémoriser et à répéter.

Ecouter la playlist La musique klezmer 1

Ecouter l’émission de radio : Musique klezmer d’hier et d’aujourd’hui, présentée par Hervé Roten

doc_2_klezmer_part2_500px.jpg

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…