Shir Hodu – Jewish Songs from Bombay of the ’30s

Shir Hodu – Jewish Songs from Bombay of the ’30s

Renair Records, production : Julian Futter and Michael Aylward, 2009

“Shir Hodu” means in Hebrew “Song of India”. It also means “Song of praise”. This anthology, the second one from this collection of Jewish singers from the East, features for the first time on a CD the most famous Indian singers from Bombay, in a historical performance of the 1930’s.

The songs of this compilation are almost all sung in Hebrew, from the musical tradition of the  Bene Israel Jews (a historical Jewish community of India), Jews from Iraq and Persian Jews settled in India, as well as a few Jews from Cochin – which constitute Jewish groups present in Bombay in the 1930’s.

As for each production from Renair Records, by Julian Futter and Michael Aylward, a very informative booklet comes with rare music, of which the history is traced down, with explanation on the tunes, and biographies of the performers.

The CD is distributed by Honest Jon’s

cd_673_couv4.jpg

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Thieves of Dreams – Zloději snů

Upon the recent passing of her mother, Lenka discovered two tattered notebooks of hand-written poetry that her grandmother, Anna Hana…

Hidden Sides of Jewish Music : Leibu Levin

RADIO PROGRAM hosted by Hélène Engel, broadcasted on Radio SHALOM Montreal in 2014. In this program, Hélène Engel presents two…

Hidden Sides of Jewish Music : Lenka Lichtenberg

RADIO PROGRAM presented by Hélène Engel, broadcasted on Radio SHALOM Montreal in 2013. In this program, Hélène Engel presents the…

Shir Hodu – Jewish Songs from Bombay of the ’30s

Shir Hodu - Chants juifs du Bombay des années 1930

Renair Records, production : Julian Futter et Michael Aylward, 2009

“Shir Hodu” signifie en hébreu “Chant d’Inde”. Cela veut dire aussi “Chant de louange”. Cette anthologie, la deuxième de la collection de chanteurs juifs orientaux, présente pour la première fois sur CD les plus célèbres des chanteurs indiens de Bombay, dans une performance historique des années 1930.

Les morceaux de cette compilation sont presque tous chantés en hébreu, provenant des traditions musicales des Juifs Bene Israel (communauté juive historique d’Inde), des Juifs d’Irak et des Juifs perses installés en Inde, ainsi qu’un petit nombre de Juifs de Cochin – qui constituent les groupes juifs présents à Bombay dans les années 1930.

Comme c’est le cas à chaque fois dans les production Renair Records, par Julian Futter et Michael Aylward, un livret très informatif accompagne des enregistrements rares, dont l’histoire est aussi retracée, aux côtés d’explication sur les morceaux et de biographies des interprètes.

Le disque est distribué par Honest Jon’s

cd_673_couv4.jpg

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Soul of Yiddish

Évoluant entre son amour de la musique classique et le répertoire populaire d’Europe orientale où elle a ses racines, Noëmi Waysfeld…

L’orgue dans la tradition juive

Le 21 mai 1856, la conférence des grands rabbins français, présidée par le grand rabbin de France Salomon Ulmann (1806…