Simha

A film by Jérôme Blumberg, produced by Gabriel Chabanier (Le Miroir, Cinaps TV et CNRS Images)

Born in 1930 in Düsseldorf, Simha Arom had to flee from Nazi Germany with his family after the “Crystal Night” (1938). During the summer of 1944, he succeeds, after having crossed the Pyrénées by foot, arriving in Palestine. He became soloist horn player in the Symphonic Orchestra of Jerusalem, and then left in 1963 to Central African Republic to create there a brass band.
Fascinated by the traditional music of this country, he dedicated the rest of his life to deciphering the principles that govern this heritage as well as those from many other countries. Jérôme Blumberg recorded on video the work of Simha Arom since 1990.

This sensitive and fascinating movie presents the career of a man who offers several lessons : a lesson of life, faced with the misfortunes of history, and a lesson of ethnomusicology. Simha Arom, for whom the first contact with music took place during his childhood with the cantor of the synagogue, was and remains the master of a whole generation of ethnomusicologists that work on various traditions, and among them Hervé Roten, director of the European Institute for Jewish Music and specialist of Jewish liturgy.

The European Institute for Jewish Music and the Yyval association supported this project.

 

Watch an excerpt of the film

Simha, a film by Jérôme Blumberg, produced by Gabriel Chabanier (Le Miroir, Cinaps TV and CNRS Images, 2016)

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Simha

Un film de Jérôme Blumberg, produit par Gabriel Chabanier (Le Miroir, Cinaps TV et CNRS Images)

Né en 1930 à Düsseldorf, Simha Arom a dû fuir l’Allemagne nazie avec sa famille après la ‘nuit de cristal’ (1938). Durant l’été 1944, il parvient, après avoir traversé à pied les Pyrénées, à rejoindre la Palestine. Devenu cor solo de l’Orchestre symphonique de Jérusalem, il part en 1963 en République centrafricaine pour y créer une fanfare.
Fasciné par les musiques traditionnelles de ce pays, il consacrera le reste de sa vie à décrypter les principes qui gouvernent ce patrimoine ainsi que ceux de bien d’autres régions du monde. Jérôme Blumberg filme le travail de Simha Arom depuis 1990.

Ce film sensible et fascinant présente le parcours d’un homme qui délivre plusieurs leçons : leçon de vie, face aux turpitudes de l’histoire, et leçon d’ethnomusicologie. Simha Arom, dont les premiers contacts avec la musique ont eu lieu dans l’enfance par le chantre à la synagogue, a été et reste le maître d’une génération d’ethnomusicologues travaillant sur diverses traditions, et parmi eux Hervé Roten, directeur de l’Institut Européen des Musiques Juives et spécialiste de liturgie juive.

L’Institut Européen des Musiques Juives et l’Association Yuval ont eu le plaisir de soutenir ce projet.

Voir un extrait du film

Simha, un film de Jérôme Blumberg, produit par Gabriel Chabanier (Le Miroir, Cinaps TV et CNRS Images, 2016)

Vous aimerez aussi

Tsuzamen – Sirba Octet

Cet album est un formidable témoignage d’espoir : celui des juifs, des Arméniens, des tziganes dont le Sirba Octet a…

Fonds Jacinta

Déposé à l’IEMJ en mai 2022 par l’artiste, le fonds d’archives de Jacinta comporte une quarantaine de photographies, de sa…

Jacinta, entre chansons yiddish, judéo-espagnole et tango

Dans la série « Parcours de vie », découvrez la personnalité attachante de Jacinta, une interprète d’origine argentine qui chante…

Jacinta, une vie en chanson

Découvrez une sélection de chansons yiddish, judéo-espagnoles, argentines et française de Jacinta, une artiste à la voix d’or