Chamber Works by Walter Kaufmann

Music in Exile Collection

Fourth opus from the serie Music in Exile, the CD Chamber Works by Walter Kaufmann, released by Chandos on August 28, 2020 makes us discover the unfairly forgotten work of a Jewish Czech composer who fled Nazism in 1934…

 

Walter Kaufmann takes part in the long list of European Jewish composers who were ostracised and forgotten with the rise of Nazism and the societal turmoil that followed the Second World War.

arc_ensemble_portrait_shot_by_nation_wong_tronquee_200px_vertic.jpg

The destiny of this composer, conductor and musicologist is fully described in the booklet of this cd, richly documented by Simon Wynberg, director of the Ensemble ARC (Artists of The Royal Conservatory), created in 2002 and settled in Canada.

Walter Kaufmann was born on April 1st, 1907 in Karlsbad, a spa resort, very popular in the Austro-Hungarian Empire, and which would be connected to Czechoslovakia after the first world war. Particularly talented for music, he entered after high school the Berlin’s Musikhochschule, where he learned composition with Franz Schreker and musicology with the pioneer of this subject, Curt Sachs, who taught him in particular music from India. In 1933, while working on a musicology PhD in the German University of Prague, he discovered that his thesis director supervised a group of Hitlerian youth. He thus decided to leave Prague, and after obtaining a visa for India, boarded for Bombay in February 1934. His wife would follow him a few months later. The rest of the family, who did not believe in the persistence of the Nazi movement, would be for most of them killed during the war.

In Bombay, Kaufmann was hired by the All India Radio (AIR) to be director of European music. In 1936, he composed the opening credits of this radio, of which the melody is still known today by hundreds of millions of Indians, who haven’t the slightest idea that this music was the work of a young Czechochoslovakian Jewish refugee ! In India, Kaufmann met the young violonist Mehli Mehta, whose son Zubin Mehta would become later on one of the best conductors in the world, and who worked a part of his carreer in Israel. Kaufmann also composed several film music works for the emerging film industry in Bombay, the future Bollywood.

Dreaming of making a carreer on Broadway or Hollywood, Kaufmann embarked for New York in December 1937. He came back to India, two years later, as he did not succeed in the American eldorado. At the end of the war, on August 30, 1946 precisely, he left for London. But his attraction for America was still strong, and he left again for New York on August 17, 1947. In September 1948, he was entitled conductor of the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra (Canada). He made this orchestra become a professional ensemble, performing many concerts in which he played several of his works. He was also interested in teaching, in particular to the young people.

In 1956, he was finally proposed a position in the music school of Indiana’s University, in Bloomington, USA. There he published his research on the music of India, in particular in the book Musical Notations of the Orient. Walter Kaufmann then became internationally acknowledged as a musicologist, teacher, conductor and composer. He passed away from heart failure on September 9, 1984, aged 77 years old.

His work, for the most part kept in the library of Indiana’s University in Bloomington, is composed of about a hundred pieces of music, touching all genres : symphonies, operas, concertos, vocal or instrumental pieces… The music style of his work reflects the personality and route of this exceptional man. We can find influence from Indian music and its modes (ragas), mixed to reminiscences of Debussy, Bartok, Stravinski, but also of Bohemian and klezmer music !

This CD is part of a serie called Music in Exile, which includes up to today three discs dedicated to the chamber music works of Paul Ben-Haim (release : 2013), Jerzy Fitelberg (2015) and Szymon Laks (2017).

1.cd_laks_couv_redim.jpg 2.cd_fitelberg_couv_redim.jpg 3.cd_laks_couv_redim.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

Paul Ben-Haim (1897-1984), who was born Paul Frankenburger, and who fled Nazism, emigrated to Palestine in 1933, where became one of the most famous Israeli composers. The ARC Ensemble performs in particular in this CD the Piano Quartet, op. 4, who had not been played since 1932.

Born in Warsaw, Jerzy Fitelberg (1903-1951) showed an undeniable music talent at a very young age. A graduate of Warsaw’s Music school, he continued his composition studies from 1922 in Berlin’s Musikhochschule, in particular with Franz Schreker. In 1933, he fled Nazi Germany to settle in Paris, before exiling once again in America in 1940. Settled in New York, he continued to write music. As his reputation got strongly established, he obtained the American citizenship in 1947, four years preceeding his death. His work, constituted of more than 80 pieces, has partly fallen in oblivion. This CD lets us discover five chamber music works composed between 1921 and 1943.

After having followed music studies in Warsaw’s Music school, Szimon (Simon) Laks (1901-1983) visited Vienna before settling down in Paris in 1926. He studied composition with Henri Rabaud and Paul Vidal. In May 1941, Laks was arrested and sent to Pithiviers’ camp, before being deported fourteen months later to Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was entitled head of the camp’s orchestra, which would allow him to survive. This traumatising experience, that he wrote down in 1948 in his book Music of Another World (republished later under the name Auschwitz Melodies), marked his entire life. Simon Laks is the author of about twenty compositions, including some lost ones, in various genres : film music, chamber music and even an opera (L’Hirondelle inattendue). Few of his works refer to the Holocaust, except his Elégie pour les villages juifs (1963) which regrets the disappearing of Jewish life in Poland.

Purchase the CDs Music in Exile
Watch a sample of the Walter Kaufmann concert performed by the ARC Ensemble in Toronto in 2018
Learn more on the ARC Ensemble

 

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Walter Kaufmann : Musique de chambre

Collection Music in Exile

Quatrième opus de la série Music in Exile, le CD Walter Kaufmann : Musique de chambre, paru chez Chandos le 28 août 2020, nous fait découvrir l’œuvre injustement oubliée d’un compositeur juif tchèque ayant fui le nazisme dès 1934…

 

Walter Kaufmann fait partie de la longue liste de compositeurs juifs européens marginalisés et oubliés suite à l’avènement du nazisme et des bouleversements sociétaux qui suivirent la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

arc_ensemble_portrait_shot_by_nation_wong_tronquee_200px_vertic.jpg

Le destin de ce compositeur, chef d’orchestre et musicologue est longuement décrit dans le livret de ce disque solidement documenté par Simon Wynberg, directeur de l’Ensemble ARC (Artists of The Royal Conservatory), fondé en 2002 et basé au Canada.

Walter Kaufmann est né le 1er avril 1907 à Karlsbad, une station thermale prisée de l’Empire austro-hongrois qui sera rattachée à la Tchécoslovaquie après la Première Guerre mondiale. Particulièrement doué pour la musique, il entre dès la fin de ses études secondaires à la Musikhochschule de Berlin, où il étudie la composition avec Franz Schreker et la musicologie avec le pionnier de cette discipline, Curt Sachs, qui l’initie notamment aux musiques de l’Inde. En 1933, alors qu’il poursuit une thèse de musicologie à l’Université allemande de Prague, il découvre que son directeur de thèse supervise une troupe des Jeunesses hitlériennes. Il décide alors de quitter Prague et, après avoir obtenu un visa pour l’Inde, il s’embarque pour Bombay en février 1934. Sa femme le suivra quelques mois plus tard. Le reste de sa famille, n’ayant pas cru en la persistance du mouvement nazi, sera en grande partie décimée pendant la guerre.

A Bombay, Kaufmann est recruté par la All India Radio (AIR) en tant que directeur de la musique européenne. En 1936, il compose le générique d’ouverture de cette radio, dont la mélodie est encore connue aujourd’hui de centaines de millions d’indiens, sans que ceux-ci imaginent une seule fois qu’elle est l’œuvre d’un jeune réfugié juif tchécoslovaque ! En Inde, Kaufmann côtoie le jeune violoniste Mehli Mehta, dont le fils Zubin Mehta allait devenir par la suite un des plus grands chefs d’orchestre du monde, qui exerça notamment une partie de sa carrière en Israël. Kaufmann composa aussi plusieurs musiques de film pour l’industrie cinématographique naissante de Bombay, le futur Bollywood.

Rêvant de faire carrière à Broadway ou à Hollywood, Kaufmann s’embarque pour New York en décembre 1937. Il revient en Inde, deux ans plus tard, n’ayant pu se faire une place dans l’eldorado américain. A la fin de la guerre, le 30 août 1946 précisément, il rejoint Londres. Mais l’attrait pour l’Amérique persistant, il s’embarque à nouveau pour New York le 17 août 1947. En septembre 1948, il est nommé chef du Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra (Canada). Il fait de l’orchestre un véritable ensemble professionnel, multipliant les concerts où il donne plusieurs de ses œuvres. Il s’intéresse également à l’enseignement, notamment auprès des plus jeunes.

En 1956, il se voit enfin proposer un poste à l’Ecole de musique de l’Université d’Indiana à Bloomington aux Etats-Unis. Il y publie ses recherches sur les musiques de l’Inde, notamment dans l’ouvrage Musical Notations of the Orient. Walter Kaufmann est alors internationalement reconnu en tant que musicologue, pédagogue, chef d’orchestre et compositeur.
Il meurt d’une insuffisance cardiaque le 9 septembre 1984, à l’âge de 77 ans.

Son œuvre, principalement conservée à la bibliothèque de l’Université d’Indiana, à Bloomington, se compose de plus d’une centaine de pièces de tous genres : symphonies, opéras, concertos, pièces vocales ou instrumentales… Le style musical de ses pièces reflète la personnalité et le parcours de cet homme hors du commun. On y trouve l’influence de la musique indienne et ses modes (ragas), mêlés à des réminiscences de Debussy, Bartok, Stravinski, mais aussi d’airs bohémiens et klezmer !

A noter que ce CD s’inscrit dans une série intitulée Music in Exile (Musique de l’exil), qui comporte à ce jour trois disques dédiés aux œuvres de musique de chambre de Paul Ben-Haim (publication : 2013), Jerzy Fitelberg (2015) et Szymon Laks (2017).

1.cd_laks_couv_redim.jpg 2.cd_fitelberg_couv_redim.jpg 3.cd_laks_couv_redim.jpg

 

 

 

 

Paul Ben-Haim (1897-1984), né sous le nom de Paul Frankenburger, fuyant le nazisme, a émigré en Palestine mandataire en 1933, et est devenu l’un des plus célèbres compositeurs israéliens. L’ARC Ensemble interprète notamment dans ce CD le Quatuor pour piano, op. 4, qui n’avait pas été joué depuis 1932.

Né à Varsovie, Jerzy Fitelberg (1903-1951) fait montre d’un indéniable talent musical dès son plus jeune âge. Diplômé du Conservatoire de Varsovie, il poursuit ses études de composition dès 1922 à la Musikhochschule de Berlin, notamment auprès de Franz Schreker. En 1933, il fuit l’Allemagne nazie pour s’installer à Paris, avant de s’exiler à nouveau en Amérique en 1940. Installé à New York, il continue de composer. Sa réputation solidement établie, il obtient la nationalité américaine en 1947, quatre ans avant sa mort. Son œuvre, constituée de plus de 80 pièces, est aujourd’hui partiellement tombée dans l’oubli. Ce CD nous permet de découvrir cinq pièces de musique de chambre composées entre 1921 et 1943.

Après des études musicales au Conservatoire de Varsovie, Szimon (Simon) Laks (1901-1983) visite Vienne avant de s’installer à Paris en 1926. Il y étudie la composition avec Henri Rabaud et Paul Vidal. En mai 1941, Laks est arrêté et interné au camp de Pithiviers, dans le Loiret, avant d’être déporté quatorze mois plus tard à Auschwitz-Birkenau. Il est nommé à la tête de l’orchestre du camp, ce qui lui permet de survivre. Cette expérience traumatisante, dont il fera le récit en 1948 dans son ouvrage Musiques d’un autre monde (réédité par la suite sous le nom de Mélodies d’Auschwitz), marquera toute sa vie. Simon Laks est l’auteur d’une vingtaine de compositions, dont certaines perdues, dans différents genres : musiques de film, musique de chambre et même un opéra (L’Hirondelle inattendue). Peu de ses œuvres se réfèrent à l’Holocauste, à l’exception de son Elégie pour les villages juifs (1963) qui déplorent la disparition de la vie juive en Pologne.

Commander les CDs Music in Exile
Visionnez un extrait du concert Walter Kaufmann donné par l’ARC Ensemble à Toronto en 2018
En savoir plus sur L’ARC Ensemble

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…