WEINBERG, JACOB (1879-1956)

Born in 1879 in Odessa, Jacob Weinberg was a pianist and composer who wrote more than 135 works for the piano and other instruments. Born to a totally-integrated Russian Jewish family, he started his career at seventeen as a bank employee.  He resigned rapidly however and left to study the piano and counterpoint at the Imperial Music Conservatory in Moscow.  He then began to compose his first instrumental works, which he played during concerts in Saint Petersburg, Kiev and Odessa.  In 1905, he travelled to Paris to participate in the Anton Rubinstein Piano Competition.  While he did not win the First Prize, his performance contributed to launching his career as a piano virtuoso.

 In 1910, he met the composer Joel Engel, a founding member of the Society for Jewish Folk Music, who shared his enthusiasm for Jewish folklore. “It was there that my interest for Jewish things was born,” he later declared.  “I took great interest in Jewish music, and I began to collect and study Jewish popular songs.  A new and practically unexplored perspective opened before me.”

In 1916, Weinberg returned to Odessa to teach at the Imperial Music Conservatory until 1921, date when he emigrated to Palestine where he absorbed oriental modes and melodies, which he then used in his compositions From Jewish Life and Jacob’s Dream.  In 1924, he resumed his collaboration with Joel Engel, recently arrived in Palestine from Berlin.  However, in 1926―after the success of his opera in Hebrew, Hechalutz (The Pioneers), which won the First Prize in the music contest for the 150th Independence anniversary of the United States―he emigrated to New York where he became actively involved in Jewish intellectual circles as an instructor-researcher, composer and orchestra conductor.  There he met up again with several composers from the Society for Jewish Folk Music.

From 1929 onward, Weinberg taught music at the New York College of Music, then at Hunter College.  At the beginning of the 1940s, he organized a series of annual festivals of Jewish arts (music and dance) in New York that achieved great success. He also participated in launching several Jewish music festivals in other American cities.  He died on November 2, 1956 at the age of seventy-seven form a pulmonary disease. 

In addition to individual liturgical arrangements and two biblical cantatas, Isaiah and The Life of Moses, Weinberg wrote three complete Shabbat services, particularly for the Temple Emanu-el in Manhattan, where he was one of the house composers.

Biography from the CD’s booklet Hebrew Melodies for cello and piano, 2nd vol., Collection Classiques vol. 7, Les Editions de l’IEMJ, 2021. Sources: Neil W. Levin, Milken Archive

More about Jacob Weinberg

Browse our archives on Jacob Weinberg

Search for other recordings or scores by Jacob Weinberg

Listen to Jacob Weinberg’s Canzonetta from our CD Mélodies hébraïques pour violoncelle et piano, vol. 2
Share:

You may also like

DU CÔTÉ DE CHEZ SZWARC WITH HERVÉ ROTEN

Hervé Roten, guest on Radio Shalom with Sandrine Szwarc, in her program Du Côté de chez Szwarc, passionately presents the…

Darius Milhaud and his works inspired by Jewish tradition

Born into an old Jewish family from the Comtat Venaissin, Darius Milhaud (1892-1974) is the author of a prolific output…

The Darius Milhaud triptych

Saturday, June 29, 2024, 6:30 p.m. - Salle du Moulin Saint-Julien, Cavaillon (84300), an evening event celebrating the 50th anniversary…

WEINBERG, JACOB (1879-1956)

Né en 1879 à Odessa, Jacob Weinberg est un pianiste et compositeur qui a écrit plus de 135 œuvres pour piano et autres instruments. Issu d’une famille juive russe parfaitement intégrée, il débute sa carrière à dix-sept ans en tant qu’employé de banque. Mais rapidement il démissionne et part étudier le piano et le contrepoint au conservatoire impérial de Moscou. Il commence alors à composer ses premières œuvres instrumentales qu’il joue lors de concerts à Saint-Pétersbourg, Kiev et Odessa. En 1905, il se rend à Paris pour participer au concours de piano Anton Rubinstein. Il ne remporte pas le premier prix, mais sa prestation contribue à lancer sa carrière de pianiste virtuose.

En 1910, il rencontre le compositeur Joel Engel, un des membres fondateurs de la Société pour la musique populaire juive, qui lui fait partager son enthousiasme pour le folklore juif. « C’est de là qu’est né mon intérêt pour les choses juives », a-t-il déclaré plus tard. « Je me suis beaucoup intéressé à la musique juive et j’ai commencé à recueillir et à étudier les chansons populaires juives. Une nouvelle perspective, grande et pratiquement inexplorée, s’ouvrait devant moi. »

En 1916, Weinberg retourne à Odessa pour enseigner au conservatoire impérial. Il y reste jusqu’en 1921, date à laquelle il émigre en Palestine où il s’imprègne des modes et des mélodies orientales qu’il utilise alors dans ses compositions From Jewish Life et Jacob’s Dream. En 1924, il reprend sa collaboration avec Joel Engel, fraîchement arrivé de Berlin en Palestine. Mais en 1926, à la suite du succès de son opéra en hébreu Hechalutz (The Pioneers), qui remporte le premier prix du concours du 150e anniversaire de l’indépendance des États-Unis, il émigre à New York où il s’implique activement dans les cercles de l’intelligentsia juive en tant qu’enseignant-chercheur, compositeur et chef d’orchestre. Il y retrouve plusieurs compositeurs (Lazare Saminski, Joseph Achron…) de la Société pour la musique populaire juive.

A partir de 1929, Weinberg enseigne la musique au New York College of Music, puis au Hunter College. Au début des années 1940, il organise une série de festivals annuels d’arts juifs (musique et danse) à New York, qui remportent un vif succès. Il participe également au lancement de plusieurs festivals de musiques juives dans d’autres villes américaines. Il décède d’une maladie pulmonaire à New York le 2 novembre 1956 à l’âge de 77 ans.

Outre des arrangements liturgiques individuels et deux cantates bibliques, Isaiah et The Life of Moses, Weinberg a écrit trois Services complets de Shabbat, notamment pour le Temple Emanu-el de Manhattan dont il était l’un des compositeurs attitrés.

Biographie extraite du livret du CD Mélodies hébraïques- vol. 2, Collection Classiques vol. 7, Les Editions de l’IEMJ, 2021. Sources : Neil W. Levin, Milken Archive

En savoir plus sur Jacob Weinberg

Consulter nos archives sur Jacob Weinberg

Rechercher d’autres enregistrements ou partitions de Jacob Weinberg

Ecoutez Canzonetta de Jacob Weinberg extrait de notre CD Mélodies hébraïques pour violoncelle et piano, vol. 2

Vous aimerez aussi

Les faces cachées de la musique juive : Leibu Levin

ÉMISSION de RADIO présentée par Hélène Engel, diffusée sur Radio SHALOM Montréal en 2014. Dans cette émission, Hélène Engel nous…

Les faces cachées de la musique juive : Lenka Lichtenberg

ÉMISSION de RADIO présentée par Hélène Engel, diffusée sur Radio SHALOM Montréal en 2013. Dans cette émission, Hélène Engel nous…

La playlist orientale de l’été…

Au cours de ce voyage, nous vous invitons à chanter et danser au gré des plus belles voix de ce…

La playlist israélienne de l’été…

Pour vous accompagner tout au long de l’été, voici une sélection des tubes les plus entraînants de la musique israélienne