The Abbina-Diena Collection

Jewish music from Italy

Eager to make better known the Italian Judaism and its musical traditions, Gianni Diena, from Turin, entrusted to the European Institute of Jewish Music several documents: CD’s, sheet music and books, which enrich the already existing Italian Jewish music archives, in particular those that relate to the Baroque period (Salomone Rossi and Lidarti).

These documents, partly in Italian, but also in English and Hebrew, show the richness of the Italian musical traditions, intimately linked to the history of the Jewish communities that lived in the Transalpine Peninsula.

l_718_couv.jpgThe origin of the Italian Jews is varied. According to Enzo Scotto, “Some Jews descend from Jews who lived in Italy during the Roman Empire, while others are Ashkenazi Jews who, especially in the 14th century, left Germany for Italy. During that century, the French Jews [especially from the Provence region] left France, and in the late 15th century and during the 16th century, the Sephardic emigration from Spain took place, as well as the return to Judaism of the Marranos of Spanish origin. (…) Other Jews in the second half of the 16th century coming from Muslim countries were attracted by the new free port of Livorno, which was for two centuries the city where Jews lived better than anywhere else.” (“The Jews of Italy” – Israel Magazine, February 14, 2016)

l_720_couv.jpgl_719_couv.jpgThe Abbina-Diena collection is composed of various publications on Jewish musical practices, liturgical or profane, in Italy, especially in the 19th century. Some books relate to regional peculiarities, such as Musiche della tradizione ebraica in Piemonte – The recording of Leo Levi (1954) / Franco Segre – 2015, others on specific themes, such as Jewish mysticism (Musica e canto nella mistica ebraica / Enrico Fubini – 2012).

cd_896_couv-2.jpgIn addition, this collection also contains CD’s, illustrating the history and musical traditions of the Jewish people in Italy, such as the CD Chatan Ve KaIlah – Il matrimonio ebraico a Roma Coro Ha-Kol , relating to the celebration of the Jewish wedding in Italy.

Finally, this collection includes contemporary musical works, including a handwritten score of chamber music for soprano, actors and five instruments, written by Gilberto Bosco, “Il gioco delle sorti “, on Esther and the celebration of Purim (accompanied with a CD).

These archives are now available for consultation on our catalogue (browse the Abbina-Diena Collection) or by making an appointment with the European Institute of Jewish Music (contact@iemj.org)

Share:

You may also like

THE PASSOVER SEDER FOR MOROCCAN JEWS

In this article, we present the main songs and prayers of the Passover Seder evening, in the Moroccan rite

MAURICE EL MÉDIONI COLLECTION

In 2010, Maurice El Médioni donated several audio documents, concert videos, programmes, press articles and other archives retracing his career…

El Médioni, Maurice (1928-2024)

Pianist, composer, arranger and performer Maurice El Médioni, born in 1928 in Oran (Algeria), was one of the leading figures…

Fonds Abbina-Diena

Musiques juives d'Italie

Soucieux de faire connaître le judaïsme italien et ses traditions musicales, assez méconnus, Gianni Diena, d’origine turinoise, a confié à l’Institut Européen des Musiques Juives un certain nombre de documents : CD, partitions et livres, venus enrichir un fonds d’archives musicales juives italiennes déjà présent, datant notamment de la période baroque (Rossi, Lidarti…).

Ces documents, en partie en langue italienne, mais également en anglais et en hébreu, témoignent de la richesse des traditions musicales italiennes, intimement liées à l’histoire des communautés juives qui vécurent dans la péninsule transalpine.

l_718_couv.jpgL’origine des Juifs italiens est variée. Selon Enzo Scotto, “Certains Juifs descendent des Juifs qui vécurent en Italie à l’époque de l’Empire romain. D’autres sont des Juifs ashkénazes qui, surtout au XIVe siècle, quittèrent l’Allemagne pour l’Italie. Au cours de ce siècle, les Juifs français [notamment provençaux] abandonnèrent la France, et à la fin du XVe siècle et au cours du XVIe eut lieu l’émigration sépharade de l’Espagne et le retour au Judaïsme des marranes d’origine espagnole. (…) D’autres Juifs, dans la seconde moitié du XVIe siècle provenant de pays musulmans, furent attirés par le nouveau port franc de Livourne, qui pendant deux siècles, fut la ville où les Juifs vécurent mieux que partout ailleurs.” (Les Juifs d’Italie -Israël Magazine, 14 février 2016)

l_720_couv.jpg l_719_couv.jpgLe fonds Abbina-Diena est composé de diverses publications portant sur les pratiques musicales juives, synagogales ou profanes, en Italie, tout particulièrement au 19ème siècle. Certains ouvrages portent sur des particularismes régionaux, tels que Musiche della tradizione ebraica in Piemonte – Le registrazioni di Leo Levi (1954) / Franco Segre – 2015, d’autres sur des thèmes particuliers, comme la mystique juive (Musica e canto nella mistica ebraica / Enrico Fubini – 2012).

cd_896_couv-2.jpgPar ailleurs, ce fonds est également constitué de CDs, illustrant l’histoire et les traditions musicales du peuple juif en Italie, tel le CD Chatan Ve KaIlah – Il matrimonio ebraico a Roma / Coro Ha-Kol, relatif à la cérémonie du mariage juif en Italie.

Enfin, ce fonds comporte des œuvres musicales contemporaines, notamment une partition manuscrite de musique de chambre pour soprano, acteurs et cinq instruments, écrite par Gilberto Bosco, “Il gioco delle sorti“, sur Esther et la fête de Pourim (accompagné d’un CD).

Ces archives sont désormais consultables sur le catalogue de nos collections (accéder au fonds Abbina-Diena) ou sur rendez-vous auprès de l’Institut Européen des musiques Juives (contact@iemj.org)

Vous aimerez aussi

Soul of Yiddish

Évoluant entre son amour de la musique classique et le répertoire populaire d’Europe orientale où elle a ses racines, Noëmi Waysfeld…

L’orgue dans la tradition juive

Le 21 mai 1856, la conférence des grands rabbins français, présidée par le grand rabbin de France Salomon Ulmann (1806…