LE CANDÉLABRE À SEPT BRANCHES (THE SEVEN-BRANCH CANDELABRA) (1951) BY DARIUS MILHAUD

A music score on tracing paper, dedicated to Madame Alice Halphen

By Hervé Roten


darius_milhaud_3-redim_150px_vertic.jpgComposed in Paris between December 20 and 28, 1951, Le Candélabre à Sept Branches (opus 315) is a cycle of seven short works for piano by Darius Milhaud (1892-1974), evoking the main celebrations of the Jewish calendar (First day of the yearDay of penanceFeast of TabernaclesThe resistence of MaccabeesQueen Esther’s feastPassoverFestival of Weeks). This 10 minute long piece of music was performed for the first time on April 10, 1952 by the pianist Frank Pelleg (1910-1968) during Ein Gev festival (Israel). This work, dedicated to Madeleine Milhaud, was published in 1952 by Israeli Music Publisher (Tel-Aviv).

p_334_couv_eclaircie__370px_vertic.jpgThe title of this muscial score is a reference to the seven-branch menorah (candelabra) from Salomon’s Temple. Darius Milhaud belonged to an old Jewish family from the Comtat Venaissin. He never denied his roots. And some parts of his work reveals his attachment to Judaism[1]See Gil Pressnitzer’s article in Esprits Nomades.

Le Candélabre à Sept Branches uses no liturgical of folklorik Jewish themes. The musical language remains the same usually used by the composer. But as the musicologist François-René Tranchefort notices, « the accents of this music are at the same time dark and coloured, warm, intimate and profound.»[[2]François-René Tranchefort, Guide de la musique de piano et clavecin, éd. Fayard 1987 p.529.

The manuscript on printed tracing paper present at the European Institute of Jewish Music comes from the Halphen collection. This unique piece of work features a mysterious inscription by Darius Milhaud « to Madame Halphen in memory of Orion constellation ».

The EIJM possesses other musical scores by Darius Milhaud with Jewish inspiration, such as the 6 Hebraic Popular Songs published by Hegel in 1925, or the operas Esther de Carpentras (1938) and David (1954).

Sources: IRCAM, Musicologie.org, Esprits nomades (Gil Pressnitzer)

Browse the catalogue of works by Darius Milhaud kept at the EIJM
See the musical score : Le Candélabre à Sept Branches – Darius Milhaud
Listen to Le candélabre à sept branches performed by Frank Pelleg

References
1 See Gil Pressnitzer’s article in Esprits Nomades
2 François-René Tranchefort, Guide de la musique de piano et clavecin, éd. Fayard 1987 p.529.

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Le Candélabre à Sept Branches (1951) de Darius Milhaud

Une partition sur papier calque, dédicacée à Madame Alice Halphen

Par Hervé Roten


darius_milhaud_3-redim_150px_vertic.jpgComposé à Paris entre le 20 et 28 décembre 1951, Le Candélabre à Sept Branches (opus 315) est un cycle de sept pièces brèves pour piano de Darius Milhaud (1892-1974), évoquant les principales fêtes du calendrier juif (Premier jour de l’An, Jour de Pénitence, Fête des Cabanes, La résistance des Macchabées, Fête de la Reine Esther, Fête de la Paque, Fête de la Pentecôte). Ce morceau, d’une durée de 10 minutes environ, a été donné pour la première fois le 10 avril 1952 par le pianiste Frank Pelleg (1910-1968) au festival d’Ein Gev (Israël). L’œuvre, dédiée à Madeleine Milhaud, a été éditée en 1952 par Israeli Music Publisher (Tel-Aviv).

p_334_couv_eclaircie__370px_vertic.jpgLe titre de cette partition fait référence à la ménorah (le chandelier) à sept branches du Temple de Salomon. Darius Milhaud est issu d’une vieille famille juive du Comtat Venaissin. Il n’a jamais renié ses racines. Et une partie de son œuvre reflète son attachement au judaïsme[1]A ce propos, voir l’article de Gil Pressnitzer dans Esprits Nomades.

Le Candélabre à Sept Branches n’utilise aucun thème liturgique ou folklorique juif. Le langage musical reste celui habituellement utilisé par le compositeur. Mais comme le constate le musicologue François-René Tranchefort, « les accents de cette musique sont à la fois sombres et colorés, chauds, intimes et profonds.»[2]François-René Tranchefort, Guide de la musique de piano et clavecin, éd. Fayard 1987 p.529.

Le manuscrit sur papier calque imprimé en possession de l’Institut Européen des Musiques Juives provient du fonds Halphen. Cette pièce unique comporte une mystérieuse dédicace de Darius Milhaud « à Madame Halphen en souvenir de la constellation d’Orion ».

L’IEMJ possède d’autres partitions d’inspiration juive de Darius Milhaud, tels notamment les 6 Chants populaires hébraïques publié chez Hegel en 1925, ou encore les opéras Esther de Carpentras (1938) et David (1954).

Sources : IRCAM, Musicologie.org, Esprits nomades (Gil Pressnitzer)

Consulter le catalogue des partitions de Darius Milhaud conservées à l’IEMJ
Consulter la partition : Le Candélabre à Sept Branches – Darius Milhaud
Écouter Le candélabre à sept branches interprété par Frank Pelleg

References
1 A ce propos, voir l’article de Gil Pressnitzer dans Esprits Nomades
2 François-René Tranchefort, Guide de la musique de piano et clavecin, éd. Fayard 1987 p.529.

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…