Shabbat songs

Allumage bougies de Shabbat

The Shabbat, the day of rest, is a very important event of Jewish life. And the songs that rhythm this particular day hold a major place, at the synagogue as well as at home

According to the Hebrew Bible, God created the heavens and the earth in six days and rested on the seventh day. This day was blessed, proclaimed holy, and instituted as a day of rest (Exodus 20:8-11). In the Jewish tradition, the Shabbat, seventh day of the week, starts on Friday at sunset and ends on Saturday evening when three stars appear, approximately 40 minutes after dusk.

The root of the word « Shabbat » (in Hebrew שבת) comes from Hebrew shev (שב), or lashevet (לשבת), which means « to sit down ». Shabbat is thus a day to rest, out of time and material contingencies, one day in which the activities are reduced to the strict minimum, in order to come back to the essential: the family and the shared moments such as meals, prayers, and study of the Torah.

The songs hold an important place in the Shabbat rituals, such as the lighting of the candles, the Friday night Kiddush (blessing on the wine), the Birkat hamazone (prayers at the end of a meal), the Havdala (last Kiddush which closes Shabbat). The songs are also omnipresent during the five services and four Shabbat meals.

repas_de_shabbat.jpgThe welcoming of the Shabbat (Kabbalat Shabbat) starts on Friday before dusk with songs such as Ana Bekoa’h (a prayer attributed, according to the Talmud, to Rabbi Nechounia ben Hakanah), Lekha dodi (attributed to the kabbalistic rabbi Salomon Halevi Alkabetz) or the Song of Songs (Shir hashirim).The Piyutim Shalom Alekhem and Eshet Hayil (Book of Proverbs 31:10–31) are sung at home before the Friday night Kiddush.In introduction to the evening prayer, the psalms 92 and 93 are sung. The poem Ya ribon, written by Israel Najara (1555-1628), is sung during the Friday evening meal.

MP3 - 2 MoChalom alechem – Benjamin Hervé Houzy (Extrait)

MP3 - 2 MoEchet Hayil – Philippe Darmon (Extrait)

MP3 - 2 MoYa ribon – Yehoram Gaon (Extrait)

priere_a_la_syna_redim.jpgThe Saturday morning service (Sha’harit) is particularly long, as it includes, in addition to the usual prayers, more piyutim (El Adon, La-El barouch), the reading of the Torah and of the Haftarah, followed by the additional service of Musaf. The Min’ha service is sung in the evening before the third meal. Then comes Motsei shabbat, the evening prayer which closes the Shabbat rest.

MP3 - 2 MoEl Adon – Gilles Dorai (Extrait)

juifs_yemenites.jpgDuring the meals which are marked by the abundance of food, it is a custom to sing religious poems called Zemirot (or Tish nigunim by the Chasidim), such as Deror Yikra, Ki eshmera shabbat (text by Abraham Ibn Ezra, one of the most prolific and brilliant authors and poets of the Spanish golden age of the 12th century) or Yedid nefesh traditionally sung in the evening, during the third meal (Seouda Shelishit). The end of Shabbat comes also with songs such as Hamavdil ben kodesh lekhol, Elyaou hanavi or Laner velivsamim performed in particular by Yemenite Jews.

MP3 - 2 MoDeror Yikra – Chansons de Shabbat (Extrait)

MP3 - 2 MoKi eshmera shabbat – Ouriel Elbilia (Extrait)

MP3 - 2 MoYedid nefesh – Duo Reim (Extrait)

MP3 - 2 MoDeror Yikra – Chansons de Shabbat (Extrait)

Let’s notice finally that the tunes, and even sometimes the lyrics of the religious poetry, change according to the origin of the worshippers. Thus the piyut Lekha dodi, which marks the beginning of Shabbat, is sung in all Jewish communities over hundreds of different melodies! Music then becomes a real marker of identity, an element of cohesion or sometimes of dispute when the cantor or the rabbi changes the traditional melody of the community without informing the worshippers.

MP3 - 2 MoLekha Dodi (pot-pourri airs sefarades) – Itsik Eshel

Listen to :
Shabbat songs in the Western Ashkenazic rite
Shabbat songs in the Moroccan rite
Shabbat songs in the Algerian rite
Shabbat songs in the Italian rites
Shabbat songs in the Tunisian rite
Shabbat songs in the East European rite
Shabbat songs in the Comtadine and Portuguese rites
The Chasidic Shabbat songs
Shabbat songs in the Ethiopian rite

Browse the catalog of our collections and listen to samples of Shabbat songs.

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Les chants de shabbat

Allumage bougies de Shabbat

Le shabbat, jour de repos, est une institution de la vie juive. Et les chants qui rythment ce jour particulier, y tiennent une large place, tant à la synagogue qu’à la maison.

Selon la Bible hébraïque, Dieu créa le ciel et la terre en six jours et se reposa le septième. Ce jour fut béni, proclamé saint et institué comme jour de repos (Exode 20:8-11). Dans la tradition juive, le shabbat, septième jour de la semaine, débute le vendredi au coucher du soleil et se termine le samedi soir avec l’apparition de trois étoiles, soit approximativement quarante minutes après le coucher du soleil.

La racine du mot « shabbat » (en hébreu : שבת) dérive de l’hébreu shev (שב), ou lashevet (לשבת), qui signifie « s’asseoir ». Le shabbat est donc un jour de repos, hors du temps et des contingences matérielles, un jour durant lequel les activités sont réduites au strict minimum pour revenir à l’essentiel : la famille et les moments partagés comme les repas, la prière et l’étude de la Torah.

Les chants occupent une place importante dans le déroulement des rituels sabbatiques tel que l’allumage des bougies, le Kiddoush (bénédiction du vin) du vendredi soir, le Birkat hamazone (action de grâce à la fin du repas), la Havdala (dernier Kiddoush clôturant le shabbat). Le chant est également omniprésent durant les cinq offices et les quatre repas de shabbat.

repas_de_shabbat.jpgL’accueil du shabbat (Kabbalat shabbat) débute le vendredi avant la tombée de la nuit avec des hymnes tels Ana Bekoa’h (prière attribuée par le Talmud à Rabbi Nechounia ben Hakanah), Lekha dodi (attribué au Rabbin kabbaliste Salomon Halevi Alkabetz) ou encore le Cantique des cantiques (Shir hashirim). Les piyyoutim Shalom Alekhem et Eshet Hayil (Proverbes 31:10–31) se chantent à la maison avant le Kiddoush du vendredi soir. En introduction à la prière du soir, on chante les psaumes 92 et 93. Le poème Ya ribon, écrit par Israel Najara (1555-1628), est quant à lui chanté pendant le repas du vendredi soir.

MP3 - 2 MoChalom alechem – Benjamin Hervé Houzy (Extrait)

MP3 - 2 MoEchet Hayil – Philippe Darmon (Extrait)

MP3 - 2 MoYa ribon – Yehoram Gaon (Extrait)

priere_a_la_syna_redim.jpgL’office du samedi matin (Sha’harit) est particulièrement long puisqu’il comporte, outre les prières habituelles, l’ajout de piyyoutim (El Adon, La-El barouch), la lecture de la Torah et de la Haftarah, suivis de l’office supplémentaire de Moussaf. L’office de Min’ha est chanté en fin d’après-midi avant la prise du troisième repas. Puis s’ensuit Motsei shabbat, la prière du soir qui clôture le repos sabbatique.

MP3 - 2 MoEl Adon – Gilles Dorai (Extrait)

juifs_yemenites.jpgDurant les repas de shabbat marqués par l’abondance de nourriture, il est d’usage d’entonner des poésies religieuses appelées Zemirot (ou Tish nigunim chez les hassidim), telles Deror Yikra, Ki eshmera shabbat (texte de Abraham Ibn Ezra, un des plus prolifiques et brillants auteurs et poètes de l’âge d’or espagnol du 12ème siècle) ou encore Yedid nefesh traditionnellement chanté en fin d’après-midi lors du troisième repas (Seouda Shelishit). La sortie du shabbat s’accompagne également de chants tels Hamavdil ben kodesh lekhol, Elyaou hanavi ou encore Laner velivsamim interprété notamment par les juifs yéménites.

MP3 - 2 MoDeror Yikra – Chansons de Shabbat (Extrait)

MP3 - 2 MoKi eshmera shabbat – Ouriel Elbilia (Extrait)

MP3 - 2 MoYedid nefesh – Duo Reim (Extrait)

MP3 - 2 MoDeror Yikra – Chansons de Shabbat (Extrait)

Notons enfin que les airs, et parfois même les textes des poésies religieuses, varient selon l’origine des fidèles. Ainsi le piyyout Lekha dodi, qui marque l’entrée du shabbat, est chanté dans toutes les communautés juives sur des centaines d’airs différents ! La musique s’affirme alors comme un véritable marqueur identitaire, élément de cohésion ou parfois de discorde lorsque le chantre, le rabbin ou le préposé à la prière s’avise de changer l’air traditionnel de la communauté sans en référer aux fidèles.

MP3 - 2 MoLekha Dodi (pot-pourri airs sefarades) – Itsik Eshel

Ecouter :
Les chants de shabbat dans le rite ashkénaze de l’Ouest
Les chants de shabbat dans le rite marocain
Les chants de shabbat dans le rite algérien
Les chants de shabbat dans les rites italiens
Les chants de shabbat dans le rite tunisien
Les chants de shabbat dans le rite ashkénaze de l’Est
Les chants de shabbat dans les rites comtadin et portugais
Les chants de shabbat hassidiques
Les chants de shabbat dans le rite éthiopien

Consulter le catalogue de nos collections et écouter des extraits de chants de shabbat

Documents joints

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…