EUROPEAN INSTITUTE OF JEWISH MUSIC’S GALA CONCERT – 2015 EDITION

Classical music / Traditional Judeo-Spanish songs / Yiddish songs and klezmer music

Watch video clips of the first edition of the European Institute of Jewish Music’s Gala Concert, “Jewish music in all its states”, which was given November 8, 2015 in Adyar Theater in Paris, in front of an enthusiastic audience of 350 people, with the support of the Henriette Halphen Foundation, under the aegis of the Fondation du Judaïsme Français.

In the first part of the concert we heard Martine Bailly, (cello), Philippe Cuper (clarinet), Yun-Yang Lee (piano), Florin Szigeti (violin) and Ralph Szigeti (alto) perform works from the classical repertoire, such asthe Feuillet d’album for piano, Andante religioso for cello and piano and the 1st movement of the Sonate for piano and violin by Fernand Halphen, the 2nd Suite Sefardie for piano and alto by Alberto Hemsi (french creation), the Petite suite klezmer for clarinet and piano by Serge Kaufmann and the beautiful Nocturne Ville d’Avrayen for piano, violin, alto and cello by George Enescu (world creation in its original version).

The second part was dedicated to the popular folkloric Jewish music. The singer Keren Esther and guitarist Narciso Saúl gave us the opportunity to discover a repertoire of judeo-spanish songs, and more precisely, judeo-moroccan.Then Yerushe, formed by Eléonore Biezunski (voice and violin), Stephen Harrison (double bass), Michel Schick (clarinet) et Piotr Odrekhivskyy (accordion), let us hear with deep feelings of a repertoire of unheard Yiddish songs, saved from oblivion by great collectors such as Ruth Rubin (1906-2000), Moïshe Beregovski (1892-1961) and Zusman Kisselgof (1878-1939).

Order the sheet music or CD’s of the different works performed in the concert

Program of the IEMJ 2015 Gala Concert (in french)

1st part :
00:29​ Deuxième suite Sefardie, pour piano et alto – Alberto Hemsi
02:28​ Sonate pour piano et violon, 1er mouvement – Fernand Halphen
06:25​ Petite Suite Klezmer – Serge Kaufmann
15:28​ Nocture Ville d’Avray – Georges Enesco
2nd part:
00:09 A la Bajada del tren (traditionnel – Maroc)
01:45 Yo m’enamori (traditionnel – Balkan)
04:18 Esther mi bien(traditionnel – Maroc)
06:54 Morenika – (traditionnel – Turquie)
10:25 Yo me levantaria un lunes /Day de cenar (traditionnel – Maroc)
3rd part:
00:15​ A Volich
01:52​ Skotchne
05:13​ Yoyne Hanoyvi
08:12​ Redl n°7
09:13​ Fin mayn mamelyu
12:18​ Meydelekh un vaybelekh
0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Concert de gala de l’Institut Européen des Musiques Juives – Edition 2015

Musique classique / Chants traditionnels judéo-espagnols / Chansons yiddish et musique klezmer

Visionner des extraits de la première édition du concert de gala de l’Institut Européen des Musiques Juives, “la musique juive dans tous ses états”, qui s’est tenue le dimanche 8 novembre 2015, à 17h30, au Théâtre Adyar (Paris 7e), devant un public enthousiaste de près de 350 spectateurs. Cette manifestation a bénéficié du soutien de la Fondation Henriette Halphen, sous l’égide de la Fondation du Judaïsme Français.


Le concert comprenait une première partie qui a permis d’entendre Martine Bailly, (violoncelle), Philippe Cuper (clarinette), Yun-Yang Lee (piano), Florin Szigeti (violon) et Ralph Szigeti (alto) interpréter des œuvres du répertoire classique, tels le Feuillet d’album pour piano, l’Andante religioso pour violoncelle et piano et le 1er mouvement de la Sonate pour piano et violon de Fernand Halphen, la 2ème Suite Sefardie pour piano et alto de Alberto Hemsi (création française), la Petite suite klezmer pour clarinette et piano de Serge Kaufmann (création mondiale) et le magnifique Nocturne Ville d’Avrayen pour piano,violon, alto et violoncelle de Georges Enesco (création mondiale dans sa version originelle).

La seconde partie était dédiée aux musiques populaires juives. La chanteuse Keren Esther et le guitariste Narciso Saúl nous ont fait découvrir un répertoire de chants judéo-espagnols, plus particulièrement judéo-marocains. Puis l’ensemble Yerushe, composé de Eléonore Biezunski (chant et violon), Stephen Harrison (contrebasse), Michel Schick (clarinette) et Piotr Odrekhivskyy (accordéon), nous a fait entendre avec un bel entrain un répertoire de chanson yiddish méconnues, sauvées de l’oubli par des grands collecteurs tels Ruth Rubin (1906-2000), Moïshe Beregovski (1892-1961) et Zusman Kisselgof (1878-1939).

Commander les partitions ou les CD des oeuvres jouées durant le concert
Programme du concert de gala de l’IEMJ 2015

1ère partie :
00:29​ Deuxième suite Sefardie, pour piano et alto – Alberto Hemsi
02:28​ Sonate pour piano et violon, 1er mouvement – Fernand Halphen
06:25​ Petite Suite Klezmer – Serge Kaufmann
15:28​ Nocture Ville d’Avray – Georges Enesco
2ème partie :
00:09 A la Bajada del tren (traditionnel – Maroc)
01:45 Yo m’enamori (traditionnel – Balkan)
04:18 Esther mi bien(traditionnel – Maroc)
06:54 Morenika – (traditionnel – Turquie)
10:25 Yo me levantaria un lunes /Day de cenar (traditionnel – Maroc)
3ème partie :
00:15​ A Volich
01:52​ Skotchne
05:13​ Yoyne Hanoyvi
08:12​ Redl n°7
09:13​ Fin mayn mamelyu
12:18​ Meydelekh un vaybelekh
0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…