Yerushalayim shel zahav (Jerusalem of gold)

A song by Naomi Shemer

Jerusalem of gold (in Hebrew : ירושלים של זהב – Yerushalayim shel zahav) is the name of a popular Israeli song written by Naomi Shemer in 1967 and sung by Shuli Natan.

It was then sung, by many artists, in particular Rika Zaraï and Ofra Haza who sang it during the ceremony of the 50th anniversary of the State of Israel in 1998.

jerusalem-mur-lamentations-mosquee-al-aqsa_1_729_1094_300px_vertic.jpgThe chorus « Jerusalem of gold, copper and light » in reference to the golden color into which the buildings of the city, built in Jerusalem stone, change during dawn and sunset, quotes a verse of the Jewish Spanish poet from the Middle Ages, Juda Halevi (in the “Songs of Zion”) : « Of all your songs, I am the violin. ». The song glorifies also the fresh air of the mountains, the scent of pine, the tinkling of bells in the evening dusk, all claiming with passion: your name burns on our lips, like the heat of a kiss. Like often in Naomi Shemer’s songs, we find here several biblical references: in the first verse, the phrase « the town lies deserted » is taken from the Lamentations 1,1 and in the third verse, from the Psalm 137,5 If I forget you Jerusalem

The song was written on the eve of the Six-Day War and the conquest of East Jerusalem by Tsahal, which was occupied by Jordan since the war of 1948. It was thus the song that motivated the Israeli soldiers during the conflict. After the war, Naomi Shemer added another verse to his poem, to celebrate the unification of Jerusalem under Israeli domination.

34e666735a_116922_mur-lamentations_300px_larg.jpgThis song appears like a unique cultural phenomenon, at the intersection of politics, national identity and popular culture. Since its creation, it has become a symbol and an unofficial national anthem, frequently performed during official ceremonies. At first, the lyrics deplored a Jerusalem with « deserted markets », in which « no one visits the Temple Mount ; no one
goes to the Dead Sea by the Jericho route ».

Shortly before her death, Naomi Shemer admitted that she found her inspiration in an old Basque lullaby Pello Joxepe that she heard during a concert of the Spanish singer Paco Ibáñez in Israel in 1962. I do not consider it as plagiarism, declared Ibáñez after that announce, adding : I am happy that it helped in a certain way.

Sources : Wikipedia

Watch 12 historical performances of the song Yeroushalayim shel zahav, in the article « 12 versions of the song Jerusalem of gold », Kef Israël, May 17, 2012.

partition_originale_de_la_chanson_petit_format.jpg
Original score of the song

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Yeroushalayim shel zahav (Jérusalem d’or)

Une chanson de Naomi Shemer

Jérusalem d’or (en hébreu : ירושלים של זהב – Yeroushalayim shel zahav) est le titre d’une chanson populaire israélienne écrite par Naomi Shemer en 1967 et chantée par Shuli Natan.

Elle fut ensuite reprise par de nombreux artistes, notamment par Rika Zaraï et Ofra Haza qui la chanta pour la cérémonie du 50e anniversaire de l’État d’Israël en 1998.

jerusalem-mur-lamentations-mosquee-al-aqsa_1_729_1094_300px_vertic.jpgLe refrain « Jérusalem d’or, de cuivre et de lumière » en référence à la couleur dorée que prennent les bâtiments de la ville en Pierre de Jérusalem au lever et au coucher du soleil, cite un vers du poète juif espagnol du Moyen Âge, Juda Halevi (dans les “Chants de Sion”) : « De toutes tes chansons, je suis le violon. ». La chanson célèbre également l’air pur des montagnes, la senteur de pins, le tintement des cloches dans la brise du soir et déclare avec flamme à Jérusalem : ton nom brûle sur nos lèvres telle l’ardeur d’un baiser. Comme souvent dans les chansons de Naomi Shemer, on trouve ici plusieurs références bibliques : dans le premier couplet, l’expression « la ville qui est assise solitaire » provient de Lamentations 1,1 et dans le troisième couplet, le verset Psaume 137,5 Si je t’oublie Jérusalem.

La chanson fut écrite à la veille de la guerre des Six Jours et de la conquête par Tsahal de Jérusalem-Est, qui était occupé par la Jordanie depuis la Guerre de 1948. Ce fut ainsi le chant qui motiva les soldats israéliens au cours du conflit. Après la guerre, Naomi Shemer ajoute un couplet à son poème, pour célébrer l’unification de Jérusalem sous contrôle israélien.

34e666735a_116922_mur-lamentations_300px_larg.jpgCette chanson apparaît comme un phénomène culturel exceptionnel en Israël, au croisement de la politique, de l’identité nationale et la culture populaire. Depuis sa création, elle a été élevée de fait au rang de symbole et hymne national officieux, très fréquemment jouée lors de cérémonies officielles. Les paroles initiales de la chanson déploraient une Jérusalem aux « marchés déserts », dans laquelle « personne ne visite le Mont du Temple ; personne ne descend à la mer Morte par la route de Jericho ».

Peu avant sa mort, Naomi Shemer révéla qu’elle s’était inspirée de la vieille berceuse basque Pello Joxepe qu’elle avait entendue lors d’un concert donné par le chanteur espagnol Paco Ibáñez en Israël en 1962. Je ne considère pas qu’il s’agissait de plagiat, a toutefois déclaré Ibáñez peu après cette annonce, ajoutant : je suis heureux que cela l’ait aidée d’une certaine façon.

Sources : Wikipedia

Visionner 12 interprétations historiques de la chanson Yeroushalayim shel zahav, dans l’article « 12 versions de la chanson Jérusalem d’or », Kef Israël, 17 mai 2012.

partition_originale_de_la_chanson_petit_format.jpg
Partition originale de la chanson Yeroushalayim shel zahav

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…