Zrihan, Emile

The Moroccan Nightingale

Born in Rabat, Morocco in 1952, Emile Zrihan (sometimes written “Zrihen”) was introduced to Jewish liturgical chant and Moroccan folk music at an early age. He emigrated to Israel with his family in 1963, and continued his studies of Chazanut (synagogal singing), learning, among other things, the music of the piyutim from Rabbi Shlomo Ouanounou.  He showed a precocious talent for singing, and performed for the first time in concert at the age of 13. From then on, he was regularly featured for several years in the television programme “Folklore de l’Orient”.

With a remarkably powerful counter-tenor voice, he stirs the audience intensely during religious services, especially in the great synagogue of Ashkelon, where he is the resident cantor. A connoisseur of Arab-Andalusian and Oriental music, he sings in several musical registers, both sacred and secular, and performs the Arab, Arab-Andalusian and Judeo-Arabic repertoires. He excels in the art of the Mawwâl (sung improvisations, generally on the theme of love).

His talent was revealed to the world at the 1997 World Music Expo in Berlin.

Emile Zrihan is a soloist with the Andalusian Orchestra of Israel and has performed extensively in Europe, North America and Israel.

Among the many albums on which he appears, let us highlight “Ashkelon” released in 1998 on the German label Piranha, “Andalousiya” on the Koliphone label, or the three volumes of his “Judeo-Moroccan Songs” on the NMC label.

Listen to the playlist dedicated to Emile Zrihan

 

Share:

You may also like

Yerushalayim shel zahav (Jerusalem of Gold)

This playlist features 12 versions of Naomi Shemer's famous song, Jerusalem of Gold (ירושלים של זהב - Yerushalayim shel zahav),…

Shemer, Naomi (1930 – 2004)

Considered a leading Israeli singer-songwriter and poet, Naomi Shemer was born on July 13, 1930 in Kvutzat Kinneret, a kibbutz…

Release of 4 new choral and instrumental scores by Itai Daniel

Itaï Daniel's compositions are deeply inspired by Judaism and its music. Discover four new scores by this composer: a medley…

THE PASSOVER SEDER IN THE  MOROCCAN RITE

In this article, we present the main songs and prayers of the Passover Seder evening, in the Moroccan rite

Zrihan, Emile

Le rossignol marocain

Né à Rabat au Maroc en 1952, Emile Zrihan (parfois écrit “Zrihen”) s’est initié très jeune au chant liturgique juif et à la musique populaire marocaine. Il émigre en Israël avec sa famille en 1963, et continue ses études de hazanout (chant synagogal), en apprenant entre autres la musique des piyoutim auprès du rabbin Shlomo Ouanounou.  Il montre des talents précoces pour le chant, et se produit pour la première fois en concert à l’âge de 13 ans. Dès lors, il sera programmé régulièrement pendant plusieurs années dans l’émission télévisée « Folklore de l’Orient ».

Doté d’une voix de contre-ténor d’une remarquable puissance, il remue intensément le public lors d’offices religieux, en particulier dans la grande synagogue d’Ashkelon, dont il est le chantre attitré. Fin connaisseur de la musique arabo-andalouse et orientale, il chante dans plusieurs registres musicaux, qu’ils soient sacrés ou profanes, et interprète les répertoires arabes, arabo-andalous et judéo-arabes. Il excelle notamment dans l’art du Mawwâl (improvisations chantées, et portant généralement sur la thématique amoureuse).

Son talent a été révélé au monde entier lors de la World Music Expo en 1997 à Berlin.

Chanteur soliste au sein de l’Orchestre Andalou d’Israël, Emile Zrihan, a fait de nombreux concerts en Europe, en Amérique du Nord et en Israël.

Parmi les nombreux albums sur lesquels il figure, mettons en lumière « Ashkelon » sorti en 1998 sous le label allemand Piranha, « Andalousiya » sous le label Koliphone, ou les trois volumes de ses « Chants Judéo-Marocains » sous le label NMC.

Ecouter la playlist dédiée à Emile Zrihan

Vous aimerez aussi

La playlist orientale de l’été…

Au cours de ce voyage, nous vous invitons à chanter et danser au gré des plus belles voix de ce…

La playlist israélienne de l’été…

Pour vous accompagner tout au long de l’été, voici une sélection des tubes les plus entraînants de la musique israélienne

La Musique Juive en Espagne

Article sur la situation historique de la Musique Juive en Espagne, par Jorge Rozemblum, directeur de Radio Sefarad et correspondant…