The 78 RPM picture discs by Ben Baruch

From Kol Nidre to Oyfn Pripetshik, rare records

Among all our 78 RPM discs (almost 500 discs in September 2017), a few of them stand out from the rest. Such is the case for Ben Baruch’s picture discs. Published by the record label Saturne, these big 78 RPM discs 30cm in width were recorded between 1946 and 1950.

The first discs that weren’t « simply » black appeared around 1918. But the real commercial success came much later: for a long time these objects were expensive and mainly intended for rich collectors.

The record label Saturne would publish around 150 picture discs until the middle of the 1950s. Other countries would follow, and we will also start to see picture discs in Great-Britain, in Japan, in Australia…

In October 1950, the record label Saturne publishes a serie of picture discs of Jewish music. In total, 18 discs were published with the singers Berland and Ben Baruch. Ben Baruch recorded 11 discs from these 18.

doc_ben_baruch3_500_200.jpg

On one side of one of these discs, we can hear the Kol Nidre ; on the other side, a Kaddish. Let’s mention that these two songs performed by Jacques Zaludowski, aka Ben Baruch, are directed by Léon Algazi (1890-1971), who will be director of the music of the consistorial temples in Paris from 1961 on.

Purchase the 6 disc boxset “Jewish Music in Paris in the aftermath of WW II – Elesdisc 1948-1953, coll Archives, vol. 1 à 6.

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

This remarkable boxset, comprising a CD with 12 songs, a booklet and a DVD, results from the collaboration between the…

Klezmer Attitude : the band “The Klezmorim”

Hosted by Edmond Ghrenassia, broadcasted on RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, on MONDAY MARCH 3, 2008. Presentation of the oldest band of…

Balagan Box : the album Shabbat Night Fever

Hosted by Laurence Haziza, broadcasted on Radio Shalom on JULY 5, 2008. Laurence Haziza presents the album the album Shabbat…

Les disques 78 tours peints de Ben Baruch

Du Kol Nidre à Oyfn Pripetshik, des disques rares

Parmi tous nos 78 tours (nous en avions près de 700 en 2020), quelques-uns sortent du lot. Tel est le cas des disques peints de Ben Baruch. Édités sous le label Saturne, ces grands 78 tours au format 30 cm ont été enregistrés entre 1946 et 1950.

Les premiers disques qui n’étaient plus « bêtement » noirs apparurent vers 1918. Mais le véritable succès commercial ne fut au rendez-vous que beaucoup plus tard : pendant longtemps ces objets étaient coûteux et restaient destinés aux collectionneurs argentés.

La société des disques Saturne sortira environ 150 disques illustrés jusqu’au milieu des années 50. D’autres pays suivent la voie tracée par Saturne, avec cependant moins d’acharnement. C’est ainsi que, sporadiquement, l’on voit apparaître des disques illustrés, en Allemagne, en Grande-Bretagne, au Japon, en Australie…

En octobre 1950, la société des disques Saturne édita une série de disques illustrés de musique juive. Au total, 18 disques furent produits avec les chanteurs Berland et Ben Baruch dont 11 de ce dernier.

doc_ben_baruch3_500_200.jpg

Sur une face d’un des disques, nous pouvons entendre le Kol Nidre ; sur l’autre, un Kaddish. Notons que ces deux morceaux interprétés par Jacques Zaludowski, alias Ben Baruch, sont dirigés par Léon Algazi (1890-1971), qui sera directeur de la musique des temples consistoriaux de Paris à partir de 1961.

Acheter le coffret « Musiques juives dans le Paris de l’après-guerre- Elesdisc 1948-1953, coll Archives, vol. 1 à 6.

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Viniciu Moroianu joue Georges Enesco

CD regroupant des travaux du compositeur roumain Georges Enesco pour piano et orchestre de musique de chambre. Il y figure…

Kantikas i Dichas Infantiles Sefardis

Ce remarquable coffret, contenant un CD de 12 chansons, un livret et un DVD, résulte de la collaboration fructueuse entre…

Klezmer Attitude : le groupe “Klezmorim”

ÉMISSION DE RADIO présentée par Edmond Ghrenassia, diffusée sur RADIO JUDAÏCA Lyon, le LUNDI 3 MARS 2008. Présentation du plus…