Release of 3 new works by the composer Serge Kaufmann

Release of three new music scores by the EIJM's publishing house

The EIJM’s publishing house is happy to announce the release of 3 new music scores by Serge Kaufmann:

Ima ou la Mère dépossédée, Cantata for mezzo-soprano solo, narrator, mixed choir, piano, clarinet, cello and percussion

Dix duos pour deux violons

Dix duos pour deux violoncelles


As described by Alain Duault[1]Alain Duault is a French writer, poet, radio and television host specialized in classical music and opera born on January 11, 1949 in Paris, Serge Kaufmann is not only “a composer, but a Jewish composer who offers us ( . . ) shreds of a fragmented memory of which he feels himself as one of the bearers – as though these pages of score rolled up and became another Torah, a symbolic one, one in which a nameless God speaks in a luminous way, which allows him precisely to be heard during the night…”.

The Cantata Ima ou la mère dépossédée, created in 2003, is one of Serge Kaufmann’s major compositions. It reflects the author’s strong attachment to his own mother, and a feeling of brotherhood with the Jewish people that was revealed to him when he discovered, in 1950, upon his arrival in Paris, the extent of what really happened during the Second World War.

This terrifying work was commissioned by Patrick de Chirée, Director of the Festival Éclat de voix in Auch, who wanted Serge Kaufmann to write a Stabat Mater. In response to this request, the composer made this revealing remark:  “Instead of writing a Stabat Mater for you, I would prefer to write a Shabat Mater”, a proposal that was granted by Patrick de Chirée. Ima is that Jewish mother who, until the very end of her strength, wants to save her child from death, an innocent being who is taken from her to be led to the gas chambers.

As expressed by Serge Kaufmann himself, born of a Jewish father who had left the family home, and a mother who was the Temple’s guardian, Jewish at heart and Protestant in her flesh, “Ima, (…), this is what could have happened to me”.

Listen to an excerpt from Ima ou la Mère dépossédée (CD Coll. PMJF n° 8 – The EIJM’s publishing house, 2009), Ensemble vocal Unité, dir. C. Nadalet

Quant aux Dix duos pour deux violons et Dix duos pour deux violoncelles, dont la consonnance (ou résonnance) juive est indéniable, ils ont été composés en 1997 et ne font pas exception à la recherche identitaire du compositeur et à son rapport/apport au judaïsme.

Listen to an excerpt of the Duo n°7 (CD Coll. Classiques n°3, The EIJM’s publishing house, 2017) performed by V. Constant et K. Alemany

Listen to the Duo n°10 (CD Coll. Classiques n°3, Les Editions de l’IEMJ, 2017) performed by V. Constant et K. Alemany

Purchase the sheet music online :


Browse the list of Serge Kaufmann’s works on the EIJM’s online shop


Excerpt of Ima ou la Mère dépossédée, during the tribute concert to Serge Kaufmann (2010)

References
1 Alain Duault is a French writer, poet, radio and television host specialized in classical music and opera born on January 11, 1949 in Paris

0:00
0:00

You may also like

Tsuzamen – Sirba Octet

This album is a formidable testimony of hope: the hope of the Jews, the Armenians, the gypsies whose repertoires the…

Jacinta Collection

Deposited at the EIJM in May 2022 by the artist, Jacinta's collection includes some forty photographies, from her youth in…

Jacinta, between Yiddish, Judeo-Spanish songs and tango

In the series " Life courses ", discover the attaching personality of Jacinta, an artist of Argentinian origin who also…

Jacinta, a life in song

Discover a selection of Yiddish, Judeo-Spanish, Argentinean and French songs by Jacinta, an artist with a golden voice

Publication de 3 nouvelles œuvres du compositeur Serge Kaufmann

Publication de trois nouvelles partitions aux éditions de l’IEMJ

Les Éditions de l’IEMJ ont le plaisir de vous annoncer la publication de 3 nouvelles partitions de Serge Kaufmann :

Ima ou la Mère dépossédée, Cantate pour mezzo-soprano solo, récitant, chœur mixte, piano, clarinette, violoncelle et percussion

Dix duos pour deux violons

Dix duos pour deux violoncelles


Ainsi que le décrit Alain Duault[1]Alain Duault est un écrivain, poète, animateur de radio et de télévision français spécialisé dans la musique classique et l’opéra né le 11 janvier 1949 à Paris, Serge Kaufmann n’est pas seulement “un compositeur, mais un compositeur juif qui nous offre des ( … ) lambeaux d’une mémoire éclatée dont il se sent l’un des porteurs – comme si ces pages de partition s’enroulaient et devenaient une autre Torah, symbolique, celle où un Dieu sans nom parle d’une manière lumineuse, qui lui permet précisément d’être entendu dans la nuit…”.

La Cantate Ima ou la mère dépossédée, réalisée en 2003, est l’une des œuvres majeures de Serge Kaufmann. Elle témoignage de l’attachement considérable de l’auteur pour sa propre mère, et d’un sentiment de fraternité avec le peuple juif qui lui a notamment été révélé lorsqu’il découvre, en 1950, à son arrivée à Paris l’ampleur de ce qui s’est réellement passé pendant la seconde guerre mondiale.

Cette œuvre terrifiante résulte d’une commande de Patrick de Chirée, Directeur du Festival Éclat de voix à Auch, qui souhaitait voir Serge Kaufmann écrire un Stabat Mater. À cette demande, le compositeur fit cette boutade révélatrice : “Plutôt que de t’écrire un Stabat Mater, je préférerais faire un Shabat Mater !”, proposition qui fut agréée par Patrick de Chirée. Ima, c’est cette mère juive qui jusqu’au bout de ses forces veut sauver son enfant de la mort, être innocent, qui lui est arraché pour être conduit vers les chambres à gaz.

Comme l’exprime Serge Kaufmann lui-même, né d’un père juif ayant déserté le foyer familial, et d’une mère qui fait office de gardienne du Temple, juive dans l’âme et protestante dans sa chair, “Ima, (…), c’est ce qui aurait pu me survenir”.

Ecouter un extrait de Ima ou la Mère dépossédée (CD Coll. PMJF n° 8 – Les Editions de l’IEMJ, 2009), Ensemble vocal Unité, dir. C. Nadalet

Quant aux Dix duos pour deux violons et Dix duos pour deux violoncelles, dont la consonnance (ou résonnance) juive est indéniable, ils ont été composés en 1997 et ne font pas exception à la recherche identitaire du compositeur et à son rapport/apport au judaïsme.

Ecouter un extrait du Duo n°7 (CD Coll. Classiques n°3, Les Editions de l’IEMJ, 2017) interprété par V. Constant et K. Alemany

Ecouter le Duo n°10 (CD Coll. Classiques n°3, Les Editions de l’IEMJ, 2017) interprété par V. Constant et K. Alemany

Commander les partitions en ligne :


Consulter la liste des œuvres de Serge Kaufmann sur la boutique de l’IEMJ


Extrait de Ima ou la Mère dépossédée, lors du concert hommage à Serge Kaufmann (2010)

References
1 Alain Duault est un écrivain, poète, animateur de radio et de télévision français spécialisé dans la musique classique et l’opéra né le 11 janvier 1949 à Paris

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Tsuzamen – Sirba Octet

Cet album est un formidable témoignage d’espoir : celui des juifs, des Arméniens, des tziganes dont le Sirba Octet a…

Fonds Jacinta

Déposé à l’IEMJ en mai 2022 par l’artiste, le fonds d’archives de Jacinta comporte une quarantaine de photographies, de sa…

Jacinta, entre chansons yiddish, judéo-espagnole et tango

Dans la série « Parcours de vie », découvrez la personnalité attachante de Jacinta, une interprète d’origine argentine qui chante…

Jacinta, une vie en chanson

Découvrez une sélection de chansons yiddish, judéo-espagnoles, argentines et française de Jacinta, une artiste à la voix d’or