Waltzes

The waltz comes from the German word “Walzer” which means “to turn in circle”. This dance became famous in Vienna in 1780 and spread throughout Western Europe.Its music is generally written in ¾ with a strong first beat followed by two weak beats, on which the embracing couple moves on the dance floor turning on itself.

In France, with the 1789’s Revolution, court dances became less popular, and people danced more waltzes. The first use of the parquet floor and leather shoes allowed going from jumped footsteps to slipped footsteps.
From 1840 on, the salon dances are clearly separated from ballet dances, and start to be taught by masters of salon dances.

 

The waltz: a musical genre appreciated by Jewish composers

During the Second Empire, Emile Waldteufel became famous by writing several music pieces for dancing (waltz, mazurka…). In 1865, notably appreciated by Eugénie, he became director of dance music at the imperial court of Napoleon III and the chosen pianist of the empress. He is asked to enliven the famous dancing evenings of Biarritz and Compiegne. From 1867 on, Waldteufel’s orchestra accompanied the balls in the Tuileries garden, following what Isaac Strauss had done, whom Berlioz called “the Strauss of Paris” in his memoirs.

During the second half of the 19th century, many composers – such as Johann Strauss son, Jacques Offenbach and Reynaldo Hahn – wrote many waltzes just for its music, while at the same time as thousands are written for the dancing.

The 20th century perpetuates the tradition of the waltz in a much freer style: slow waltz, movement of an instrumental piece, easy-listening song, etc.

This playlist presents several waltzes written by Isaac Strauss, Emile WaldteufelJacques Offenbach, Johann Strauss son, Albert Cahan d’AnversFernand Halphen, Norbert Glanzberg and Denis Cuniot.

Share:
0:00
0:00

You may also like

Shemer, Naomi (1930 – 2004)

Considered a leading Israeli singer-songwriter and poet, Naomi Shemer was born on July 13, 1930 in Kvutzat Kinneret, a kibbutz…

Release of 4 new choral and instrumental scores by Itai Daniel

Itaï Daniel's compositions are deeply inspired by Judaism and its music. Discover four new scores by this composer: a medley…

THE PASSOVER SEDER IN THE  MOROCCAN RITE

In this article, we present the main songs and prayers of the Passover Seder evening, in the Moroccan rite

MAURICE EL MÉDIONI COLLECTION

In 2010, Maurice El Médioni donated several audio documents, concert videos, programmes, press articles and other archives retracing his career…

Sur un air de valse

La valse vient de l’allemand « Walzer » qui signifie « tourner en cercle ». Cette danse a gagné ses lettres de noblesse dans les années 1780 à Vienne et s’est ensuite répandue dans tout l’Occident.Il s’agit d’une danse dont la musique est généralement écrite sur une mesure à ¾, avec un premier temps fort suivi de deux temps faibles, sur laquelle le couple enlacé se déplace sur la piste en tournant sur lui-même.

En France, la Révolution de 1789 a assuré le déclin des danses de cour et la pratique courante de la valse. Les premières utilisations du parquet et des chaussures de cuir ont permis de passer des pas sautés aux pas glissés.
À compter de 1840, les danses de salon se séparent nettement des danses de ballet et commencent à être enseignées par des maître de danse de salon.

La valse : un genre musical prisé des compositeurs juifs

Durant le Second Empire, Emile Waldteufel écrit de nombreuses danses (valses, mazurkas…) qui le font connaître. En 1865, particulièrement apprécié par Eugénie, il devient directeur de la musique de danse de la cour impériale de Napoléon III et pianiste attitré de l’impératrice. Il est chargé d’animer les fameuses soirées dansantes de Biarritz et de Compiègne. À partir de 1867, l’orchestre de Waldteufel accompagne les bals aux Tuileries, prenant ainsi la suite d’Isaac Strauss que Berlioz appelait « le Strauss de Paris » dans ses mémoires.
Dans la seconde moitié du 19e siècle, de nombreux compositeurs – tels notamment Johan Strauss fils, Jacques Offenbach et Reynaldo Hahn – écrivent des morceaux de valse relevant de la musique pure, en parallèle à des milliers de valses écrites pour être dansés.

Le 20e siècle perpétue la tradition de la valse dans un style beaucoup plus libre : valse lente, mouvement d’une pièce instrumentale, chanson de variété, etc.

La playlist ci-dessous nous propose des valses écrites par des compositeurs tels Isaac Strauss, Emile Waldteufel, Jacques Offenbach, Johan Strauss fils, Albert Cahen d’Anvers, Fernand Halphen, Norbert Glanzberg et Denis Cuniot.

0:00
0:00

Vous aimerez aussi

Sephardic Pizmonim Project

Archives musicales numériques de la communauté séfarade d'Alep

Léon Algazi (1890-1971), un pionnier des musiques juives en France

Dans la série « Parcours de vie », Jacques Algazi (1934-2021) nous dévoile la vie de son père, Léon Algazi…

Heichal Menachem

(New York, Etats-Unis) Site Loubavitch donnant accès à plus de 500 nigounim traditionnels écoutables en ligne !

Sefarad in the piano – Toni Costa

Inspiré par la poésie populaire judéo-espagnole, le jazz, la musique ancienne et les rythmes populaires du flamenco, le pianiste Toni…